Alchemist Explosive Bombs conflict solved?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

After some research and deep thought, I've come to possibly figure out what in the world the text of the Alchemist Explosive Bombs discovery means. For reference, here is the exact text of the discovery:

Quote:
The alchemist’s bombs now have a splash radius of 10 feet rather than 5 feet. Creatures that take a direct hit from an explosive bomb catch fire, taking 1d6 points of fire damage each round until the fire is extinguished. Extinguishing the flames is a full-round action that requires a Reflex save. Rolling on the ground provides the target with a +2 to the save. Dousing the target with at least 2 gallons of water automatically extinguishes the flames.

What people keep fighting about is the first sentence, specifically, what does "bombs" mean. I believe that what this means is the alchemist's bombs. Some people would refer to these as fire bombs but they would be wrong; nowhere does the rules refer to fire bombs. In short, the term bomb refers to only the type of bomb that the alchemist starts with -- the bomb. Let me see if I can illustrate this:

Quote:

Before Taking Explosive Bombs

Bomb
Damage Type: Fire
Splash Radius: 5 ft

Explosive Bomb
Alchemist can't throw these

After Taking Explosive Bombs

Bomb
Damage Type: Fire
Splash Radius: 10 ft

Explosive Bomb
Damage Type: Fire
Splash Radius: 10 ft
Special: The single creature target catches fire per the description.

So, the way I'm now reading it, unless you don't want the creature targeted on fire (for some strange reason), there's no reason to throw a Bomb rather than an Explosive Bomb.

What do you think?

Silver Crusade

The Explosive Bomb has an asterisk, so you can't combine it with any other asterisk effects.

Personally, I'd rather have Damage + Stinking Cloud or Confusion or Entanglement and a 5ft splash.

EDIT: Also, look at Immolation Bomb from UC: If your bomb does 6d6 + Int, instead it does 1d6 + Int each round for 6 rounds unless the monster extinguishes the flames with a reflex save. It also deals splash damage to every monster adjacent to it for 6 rounds.


If a bomb discovery is marked with an asterisk, I'd say it's safe to assume its benefits only apply when creating a bomb of that particular type. That seems to be the intent with explosive bombs. If that particular discovery had a more universal application, such as enlarging the splash radius of all types of bombs, then I would expect that to be explicit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist Explosive Bombs conflict solved? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions