wujenta's page

** Pathfinder Society GM. 63 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 11 Organized Play characters.




I am now DM´íng the first book, only a few sessions so far and read only book 1 and 2 of this AP, but I dont see any character stats for the fellow students in book one... I dont mind that there are no stats per se in the first book, only good skills, hobbies, a general description and little perks, that helps a lot to put a personality in every one, my players love it so far, but at least I would like to know the classes every one is, so perhaps one will go with the party in the future as a npc or be upgraded to full PC if one of the characters meet a tragic end and cannot be brought back...

One of my players characters have started a relationship with Mariama even that I think they are nothing alike, he is a champion of Irez (LG) and she seems to be a witch (CN) as his special spell is a Hex ...

Are any stats or anything similar in future books, or should I make them and roll with it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I´m going to GM this AP, and from what I am hearing from my players, there will be not be any Druid or Wizard, because of the free archtype rule... Im hearing a fighter/druid, a Bard/wizard a rogue/wizard a ranger/druid and perhaps a sorcerer/druid... but it seems off for me... would you allow a wizard or druid character to get the free archtype for things like loremaster, elementalist and so on... because I find it curious that in a Magical academy for wizards and druids, no one will be playing one


I'm going to try this optional rule and I'm wondering what is the difficulty for medicine to treat wounds at higher levels, because with these rules it would be nearly impossible to get a 30 if you are master in medicine... Should I use the standard difficulty for expert/master/legendary as shown or do you use something different?


We just finished part 1 of the book 6 of age of ashes, and my cloistered cleric of Apsu reached lvl 19 and got his 10th lvl spell, but i cannot find what special attacks and specifics wuold i gain if Ii choose to cast the Avatar spell… any1 has any idea if there are rules for that or i will have to houserule about it


Can someone affected by Freedom of movement (casted at lvl 4)ignore the field generated by a Repulsion spell (casted at lvl 6)?


There are very few magic items for animal companios, and we just recieved this magic item, but our druid animal companion is a wolf... would you let the wolf use the magic item or would you restrict it to only horses?


If you encounter multiple Calikang, can they heal each other with his chain lighting spell... In the description it says that they cannot heal with his own spells, but it's OK to heal from other Calikang casting it and healing the other?

And can they then, recharge his Breath weapon each time... Seems a bit strange and overpowered

First round, all 4 uses breath weapon, second round, one cast chain lighting to his colleagues and if they pass their saving throw, they heal 24 hit points and gain another use of the breath weapon, so they use it in this round, rinse and repeat for
4 more rounds for 13d8x4 hit points in the first round (basic reflex save) and 13d8x3 and 8d12 in rounds 2-5


Hi, we are going to start a campaign and we are going to use the free archtype variant. Í´ m going to play a fighter with the monk dedication (going to use bo staff as my primary weapon) My first lvl fighter feat will be power attack, my second will be lunge, to be able to strike 15 feet away and for my dedication feats I will take monastic weaponry at lvl 4, and ki strke at 6... so, can I use ki strike to make flurry of blows even when I dont have this ability yet? I will take it at lvl 10, but im wondering if i could use ki strike to make a flurry of blows once per battle... or perhaps twice if at lvl 8 take ki rush and got my second ki focus point...

Thanks


I wanna check if this actions are ruleswise ok...

Lets suppose that I´m adjacent to the enemy at the start of my turn

If I cast ki strike, and the use flurry of blows (I have the flurry of maneuvers too) to first grab a baddie and then strike him with an unarmed strike, I get +1 status bonus to the Athletic roll to grab (as it is an attack) and to the strike after grabbing, right? so my second attack will be at -4 (im using wolf style) but the target will be flatfooted and I will get the +1 status bonus to the attack as well.

Then with my second action will attack again with -8 and with my third action I will try to throw the enemy away with whirling throw with no penalty, as its not an attack

If thats right the enemy in his next turn, will have to stand up (1 action) move to get to me(1 action) and attack me with his last action and all this monsters with 2 action activities will not be able to use them freely.


Hi every1

we are playing AoA, we are at the end of book 4 and we have a druid with animal companion and a Monk with beastmaster dedication so he has another animal companion... our wizard have haste memorized at lvl 7 and we are wondering what happens to animal companios if they are one of the targets of the haste... if their master orders them and gives them 2 actions, can they gain the extra action of the Haste effect, so they will have 3 actions or are not affected at all

Thanks


Hi all

last sesion my cleric (who is playing Age of Ashes) cast repulsion with maximum range (40 feet) to prevent some nasty creature (the creatures in the lake in the dwarven city... i dont want to spoil more) to come closer to me and kill me... the creature in question was 30 feet away, but it had a reach attack that could hit me... I argued with my DM that the creature could not hit me with that attack as it was clearly aprroaching me to hit me , not moving toward me, but obviosly getting closer with part of his body but as it failed the saving throw it cannot do it, the rest of the table and my DM agreed and intead used a ranged attack... but i´m wondering what other people should have ruled, because i will use this spell in the future again and i would love to know what the people think about it

Thanks


Hi, we are starting this adventure path and this is one of the characters I´ve created for the adventure, I have done other types of clerics more "traditional" or combat capable, but I would love to try this, but if every1 thinks this character is doomed, I´ll rethink about it.

The other party members are: 2 Human monks, one with the mountain style and the other with the wolf style, they are from the same temple and know each other, a Druid with animal companion (i dont know the which one) and a Wizard.

And here is my character, an elf cleric of Eritrice with the background Dragon Scholar from the AoA player guide

Nilia Algarath
Female elf (ancient elf) cleric 1
CG, Medium, Elf, Humanoid
Perception +7; low-light vision
Languages Common, Draconic, Elven
Skills Acrobatics +5, Arcana +4, Crafting +4, Diplomacy +5, Dragon Lore +4, Intimidation +5, Medicine +7, Nature +7, Religion +7
Str 10 (+0), Dex 14 (+2), Con 10 (+0), Int 12 (+1), Wis 18 (+4), Cha 14 (+2)
Other Items dagger, backpack, bandolier, basic crafter's book, belt pouch, fine clothing, healer's tools, scroll case, silver religious symbol, writing set, purse (43 sp; 6 cp)
--------------------
AC 15; Fort +3; Ref +5; Will +9
HP 14 Focus Points 1 Hero Points 1
--------------------
Speed 30 feet
Melee [1] dagger +5 (versatile S, thrown 10 ft., agile, finesse), Damage 1d4 piercing/slashing
Ranged [1] dagger +5 (versatile S, thrown 10 ft., agile, finesse), Damage 1d4 piercing/slashing

Divine Cleric Spells DC 17, attack +7; 1st bless, magic weapon Cantrips (1st) daze, detect magic, divine lance, shield, stabilize

Arcane Sorcerer Spellcasting DC 15, attack +5; Cantrips (1st) light, mage hand

Feats Domain Initiate, Elemental Wrath[LOCG], Intimidating Glare, Sorcerer Dedication

Other Abilities anathema, cloistered cleric, component substitution, deity, divine font, divine spellcasting, doctrine, draconic, first doctrine, knowledge

Out of combat I plan to be the face of the party, as the other characters are more combat focused and charisma dont enter his plans and in combat to stay behind (obviously) and heal and cast as aproppiate, got elemental wrath as my main typical attack, as I will tend to use a lot of utility and support spells with my cleric and sorcerer slots

Any suggestion and/or advice?

Thanks


As the title says, I´m not sure if I could use the rod, as it is a level 3 spell, but cast in a level 5 slot (I´m a sorcerer)


Hi all, Im game mastering Rise of the runelords, and my group is about to begin book 5, so SPOILERS ahead.

several of the evil casters in the Runeforge have magic items with a great value as arcane bonds, Staff of hungry shadows for example (102500 gp).

I´m wondering if the PC´s defeat the baddies can they keep them and use it or sell it or as it is the arcane bond item of the wizard in question will stop working as he is killed. I know that the bonded item could be a "normal" magic item that has been taken by the wizard, but it can also has been made using the rules for bonded item, and then it will be useless to everyone but the wizard.

Which one of the options seems more "right" for you?

Thanks


I was wondering if witches can select racial spells like Touch of combustion without being of the actual race... i found a lot of these spells "witchery" and i would love to add some to my 1t level witch that is starting kingmaker in a few weeks


Hi every1,

last saturady in a PFS game I casted Atavism (druid 4 spell) on my animal companion (A lion by the way, I´m playing a lion shaman) and aplied the advanced creature template, but reading the spell I noticed that the animal loses all tricks except attack because it turns into a savage verion of itself...

Usually there is no problem, but my animal companion charged, full attacked and grappled the villain in the story, and surprise... the BBEG surrendered. But as I like to play with some logic, i didnt know if I can order my companion to release the evil guy, as now is a wild animal knowing only to kill and told so to the DM

I tried a handle animal check to make my animal companion to release him as he surrendered, but rolled poorly (getting a 18 in total) and my dm ruled that the animal in the next round will do his routine attack (bite plus 4 claws). The bad guy was killed of course, but I would like to know if there is any rule or directive to control my animal companion under the effect of Atavism and what the DC for the animal handle skill will be if this happens again.

I think personally I would have ruled the same, but as its a character in PFS play and I will like to know if there is a rule somewhere that covers this.

Atavism: By bringing forth the primeval ancestry of the target animal, you awaken a savage engine of destruction. The animal immediately gains the advanced creature simple template. It gains a +2 bonus on all rolls, including damage rolls and special ability DCs, a +4 bonus to AC and CMD, and +2 hit points per HD. The animal's primal instincts take hold for the duration of this spell—if the animal knows tricks granted by the Handle Animal skill, it loses access to all of those tricks save for “attack.” This spell has no effect on animals that already have the advanced creature template.

Thanks


One of my players is playing a cleric with animal domain, so he has a companion (with boon companion, his buddy is the same lvl as a druid companion), and he hasnt done it yet... but Im sure he will, so I´m asking in advance... can he cast Divine Favor, Rightious Might and other personal spells to his companion ?


Hi, one of my players is playing a cleric with the animal domain and have an animal companion, after looking to the rules for handling the beast, I noticed that only Druid and Rangers can handle animals as a free action and told him that he will need a move action (or full round) to do it.

Action: Varies. Handling an animal is a move action, while “pushing” an animal is a full-round action. (A druid or ranger can handle an animal companion as a free action or push it as a move action.)

he is telling me that he have the animal companion as a Druid of his lvl -3 , so he should be able to order his animal around as a druid too, but I think that the "druid-3" is only refering to the abilities, HD, etc of the animal, it does not give him the same abilities as a druid, so... what do you think RAW is


Hi, one of my players wants to play with a cleric and has chosen animal as one of his domains... and chosen a T-Rex as his animal companion (I think he has seen Jurassic World too many times...)

He wants to make his pet (Smiley is his name by the way) wear armor and he wants to put the Adhesive enhancement in it, so when Smiley grabs someone that someone stays grappled.

I told him that as the enhancement can be used only 10 rounds x day it needed to be activated and his companion cant do that because he cant talk to use the command word (he put one of his stats advancements in INT and have taken one rank in linguistic so he know a language)

He then told me that as he will do the armor, he can make the activation method that he wants, and wants to make a spot in the armor that when touched it gets activated and deactivated but i think that this should not be valid as I think this can be abused.

For example in an area of Silence, no one can activate his weapons abilities (flaming, shock...) or armor abilities but he will be able to do that with this metod...

What do you think, would the rules allow something like he wants or the command word is there for things like that


Hi, I have one player who is creating a lvl 9 cleric to play in an ongoing campaign and he wants to play a Dwarf cleric with saurial and strenght domains and has chosen green faith (as I think is the only one that gives access to this 2 domains)and wants to select Dwarven waraxe as his free weapon proficiency as Green Faith dont tell anything about favored weapon.

What do you think, can he choose dwarven Waraxe or I should tell him to choose one of the weapons of the associated religions with Green Faith (Erastil or Gozreh)

Thanks


I have a Wizard/fighter/eldritch knight using a Greatsword, and was wondering if I can use Vital Strke when I throw my weapon using Hand of the aprentice... I know there are better things to do, but its a cool thing to do from time to time...


One of the powers in this magic items is an enhancement bonus to Intelligence and I´m wondering if it works the same as a Headband of vast intelligence and if thats right, to which 2 skills should I apply the Skill points extra i got for the increased INT (this item is for a character recieving the sheet chronicle for playing rise of the runelord)

Thanks

Full Name

Jigger

Race

Dwarf

Classes/Levels

Ranger 5 / Rogue 2

Gender

Male

Size

M

Age

56

Alignment

CG

Deity

Cayden Cailean

Languages

Common, Dwarven

Occupation

tanner

Strength 17
Dexterity 14
Constitution 16
Intelligence 10
Wisdom 14
Charisma 6

About Jigger

Items made from deceased Animal companions:

Outfit made of Tiger hide.
Boots made of Crocodile hide.