Dexinis

Timothy Ferdinand's page

Goblinworks Executive Founder. 145 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Fantastic - more monsters to inflict on my players!! Can't wait to see whats in volume 2.


Ceobarn Zeizerer is the interface between the Starfinder Society in Starfinder Society adventure 01-06 "A Night in Nightarch". The portrait of this character on page 6 shows him with a face tattoo which is the symbol of the demon lord Socothbenoth. But the adventure makes clear that the demon lord which acts as patron of House Zeizerer is Abraxas. It seems odd that a senior representative of the House would openly sport a tattoo on his cheek of another demon lord. Does anyone have a sensible explanation which I could use if the issue comes up at the table?


Maybe I am being really dumb, but pg 240 of the Core Rule Book states that EAC and KAC are calculated as 10 + relevant armor bonus + Dex modifier.

The Space Pirate Crew Member on pg 15 of First Contact is listed with second skin armor and a Dex modifier of +4 - so by my calculation its EAC should be 15 (10 plus 1 for second skin and 4 for Dex) and KAC should be 16 (10 plus 2 for second skin and 4 for Dex).

However, the stat block lists the EAC as 11 and KAC as 13 - why?

The same question arises with many of the NPCs in Incident at Absalom Station. Just trying to work out how these NPC armor classes are being calculated.

Anyone out there able to help me - I'm sure I'm just being really obtuse.


Is there an evil equivalent of the Angelic Aspect spells? If so, what is it called and where can the rules be found?


6 people marked this as a favorite.

This sounds like a really useful system and one which could well be transferable to other hierarchical societies - I am thinking drow cities for example. A really useful addition to the rule set for those who enjoy roleplaying and sociela intrigue. Thanks so much.


1. Do NPC classes grant the character a favoured class bonus - for example would a ratfolk expert be able to take expert as his/her favoured class and either add one skill rank or one hit point?
2. Do NPC classes give the right to take full hit points for the first hit dice or is that just player classes?


If, for example, a drow in Sekamina casts "Mount" what animal would appear? The spell specifies a horse or pony, but as neither has darkvision that seems wrong underground, however, it seems equally wrong that the spell is useless underground. Any thoughts? Is there an "undeground" version of the spell?


I am sure I recall seeing rules in a Paizo product for a magic item which is a covered wagon or cart or varisian caravan that is Larger on the inside, etc ( as in tiny hut or secure shelter) but after a fairly extensive search trhough my pdf library i cannot seem to locate it, can someone point me to the relevant publication?


Hi there, i have received email notification of shipment of my three subscription products this month : hells bright shadow, occult bestiary and dirty tactics tool box. The last two have appeared in pdf form in my downloads, but mysteriously, hells bright shadow has NOT appeared........could you check this out please? Thanks. Tim


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The new "unchained" summoner (which is the only vfersion permitted in PFS) now has an eidolon which has a specific creature sub-type and specific alignment sub-types. For example the summoner might have an eidolon with the following type and subtype - "outsider (archon, good, lawful, extraplanar)". Now I may have misunderstood the pathfinder rules in a serious way, but as I understand it, any creature with the "good" sub-type deals damage which overcomes DR/good (and likewise for chaotic, evil and lawful subtypes). So my question is: was it the intention of the authors that under the new "unchained" rules, for example, an archon eidolon would be able to overcome DR/good and DR/lawful at 1st level? That seems to be a very big change in the context of a summoner's ability to take on outsiders of the opposing alignment - and here I'm thinking of the upcoming Hell's Rebels adventure path (or for that matter the Worldwound adventure path). As far as I can recall, at 1st level, only a Paladin would have the ability to overcome DR/good - and then only once per day with his smite evil ability. Most spells which allow weapons to overcome DR are 2nd level or higher (ie only available to characters of 3rd/4th level or higher).


To cut a very long story short, I have a player who is a half-drow first worlder summoner. As such her eidolon has the "Fey" type. She is wanting to deliberately infect the eidolon with the blight in Fangwood (where she operates). Technically, I think the blighted fey template can be added to any Fey. As such, the rules as written would seem to allow this to occur. Of course it will tie her eidolon to the blighted part of Fangwood (I assume) but can anyone see any rules based reason why I should not allow this. The summoner character is a follower of Cyth-V'sug.


Can a summoner use feats such as spider summoner and summon evil monster with his summon monster spell-like ability?


Okay, so the fiendish creature simple template (Bestiary 1 pg 294) is designed for creatures from the outer planes - on that basis, if a half-elf had been born in, for example, the Abyss, could that half-elf have the fiendish template and be wandering the material plane because it was summoned there? I am assuming this is okay as various Paizo products present fiendish dryads (for example) so I assume you could also have a fiendish half elf - or for that matter a fiendish human?


Would I be correct to assume that a creature with spell resistance would have the ability to avoid the damage inflicted on creatures entering the area of a forbiddance spell, but that the creature's spell resistance would NOT allow it to use a planar shift or dimension door spell or spell-like ability whilst inside the area of effect of the forbiddance spell?

I am basing this on the understanding that spell resistance prevents spells affecting the creature with spell resistance, but does not prevent spells which block the creature from using spells or spell-like abilities of its own.

Have I understood the rules correctly?


I'm postng this one as a GM. I have a major villain who is a shadow lord human (ie a human born on the Shadow plane to human parents - see shadow lord template Bestiary 4). He is a summoner and I really think the shadow caller archtype (advanced race guide) is perfect.....but.....its specifically for Fetchlings. I'm always reluctant to "bend" the rules because it gives players at the table the perfect precedent to ask for their own preferred "bending" of the rules - leading to painful pleading and disappointment. Any thoughts - it does seem to me that an character with the shadow creature or shadow lord template which is a summoner would logically have access to the shadow caller archetype.


I have a player playing a 7th level summoner. He has Craft Wondrous Item and knows Alter Self and Tongues. He therefore has the prerequisites to create a robe of blending, but he'd be limited to creating one with CL 7 rather than the CL 10 for the "standard" robe of blending listed in CRB. So my first question is how would the reduced caster level impact the item? There seems to be no relation at all between the 1 hour usage time of the CRB robe of blending and and the caster level (at CL 10, Alter Self should last 10 minutes and Tongues should last for 1 hour and 40 minutes!). So what should i do? Separately, i simply cannot understand how the price of 8,400 gp for the CRB robe of blending was calculated based on the magic item cost system set out on page 550 of the CRB. Any help would be appreciated


Its not clear to me whether this magic item is a single use item or whether you can re-use the sleeves - ie each time you put them on you can alter your garments to a new form. Any thoughts?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

+
This is an interpretation question. The channel evil section of the tiefling archetype "Fiendish Vessel" states:

At 1st level, a fiendish vessel, rather than channeling positive or negative energy, instead channels the pure evil power of her fiendish patron. This ability is similar to channeling negative energy, but instead of healing undead and dealing damage to living creatures, this blast of evil energy automatically heals evil creatures and debilitates good creatures within its burst.

Channeling this evil causes a burst that affects all creatures in a 30-foot radius centered on the fiendish vessel. In the case of evil creatures, the amount of damage healed is equal to 1d4 points of damage and increases by 1d4 at every two levels beyond 1st (to a maximum of 10d4 at 19th level). Good creatures in the burst receive a Will saving throw to negate this damage. Good creatures that fail their saving throws are sickened for 1d4 rounds.

The first paragraph seems to make clear that this power allows the fiendish vessel to heal evil creates, but only to "debilitate" good creates (as opposed to "damage" them - the previous sentence specifically uses the term "damage" when refering to channeling positive and negative energy - I assume this difference is deliberate.

The second paragraph confuses the issue by stating good creatures receive a saving throw to "negate this damage" but then goes on to state that failing the saving throw results in being sickened for 1d4 rounds.

I think the words "negate this damage" refer to the sickening given the use of the term "debilitate" in the first paragraph, but its confusing as it could mean that good creatures take 1d4 damage per two levels AND suffer 1d4 rounds of sickening. However, if that were the case why didn't the first paragraph refer to "damage and debilitate" instead of just "debilitate".

any help/advice would be welcome.


This is an interpretation question. The channel evil section of the tiefling archetype "Fiendish Vessel" states:

At 1st level, a fiendish vessel, rather than channeling positive or negative energy, instead channels the pure evil power of her fiendish patron. This ability is similar to channeling negative energy, but instead of healing undead and dealing damage to living creatures, this blast of evil energy automatically heals evil creatures and debilitates good creatures within its burst.

Channeling this evil causes a burst that affects all creatures in a 30-foot radius centered on the fiendish vessel. In the case of evil creatures, the amount of damage healed is equal to 1d4 points of damage and increases by 1d4 at every two levels beyond 1st (to a maximum of 10d4 at 19th level). Good creatures in the burst receive a Will saving throw to negate this damage. Good creatures that fail their saving throws are sickened for 1d4 rounds.

The first paragraph seems to make clear that this power allows the fiendish vessel to heal evil creates, but only to "debilitate" good creates (as opposed to "damage" them - the previous sentence specifically uses the term "damage" when refering to channeling positive and negative energy - I assume this difference is deliberate.

The second paragraph confuses the issue by stating good creatures receive a saving throw to "negate this damage" but then goes on to state that failing the saving throw results in being sickened for 1d4 rounds.

I think the words "negate this damage" refer to the sickening given the use of the term "debilitate" in the first paragraph, but its confusing as it could mean that good creatures take 1d4 damage per two levels AND suffer 1d4 rounds of sickening. However, if that were the case why didn't the first paragraph refer to "damage and debilitate" instead of just "debilitate".

any help/advice would be welcome.


Question relates to the Balefire revelation for an Oracle of the Outer Rifts (Inner Sea Magic page 31). It states that a target of Balefire takes half damage if the target succeeds in a Reflex Save - how do you calculate the DC for that Reflex Save - I assume its based on the Oracle's level plus charisma modifier in some way?


Where would I find rules covering the construction costs for buildings, fortifications, etc and where would I find rules for the costs of running a small town?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Do any of the existing rule books contain details of the age ranges for non-core races (for example, do tieflings live longer than humans?). If not, with the new Advanced Race Guide contain this information?


It seems odd, but the way I read the demonhide revelation entry in the Inner Sea Magic guide, although this results in the flesh becoming as "tough as a demon's hide", it seems to grant an armour bonus, rather than a natural armour bonus. Have I understood correctly?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

....I'm relatively new to the game and my group has a question: cure spells specifically (description of cure light wounds in the Core Rule Book) state that they involve the use of positive energy. Evil clerics seem barred from the use of positive energy (is this correct? - certainly is for channeling powers), so does that mean that an evil cleric cannot cast cure light wounds, for example?


running a campaign which includes a series of large skirmishes and I wondered if there were any rules published for Pathfinder to cover such large scale combat situations?


in the table on page 59 of the Advanced Players Guide, there is a reference to an Eidolon gaining a bonus feat at 9th level. this is referred to as "Multiattack". now this question may have been asked before and/or I may simply be dumb, but I cannot find "Multiattack" amongst the feats in the Core Rulebook or in the Advanced Players Guide.

Can someone please tell me where to find details of this feat?