The Original Jonais
|
While this is a bit of a necro. I think it's still relevant...
Familiars could easily be considered an extension of the caster. How else could they deliver spells for their master and have spells cast on them with a target of Personal?
That being said, they are also their own individual creature and are capable of acting independently of their master, or at their master's direction.
So while the master is *in possession* of their familiar (ie on them and not acting independently of their master) they should be allowed to travel with them through a dimensional slide. While the familiar is on it's own and acting independently, the familiar should not travel through the rift with their master, even if they are sharing the same space.
For game rules terms you could look at it like this: If the familiar is sharing a space at the beginning of the master's initiative and took no actions except movement (not move equivalent actions) on the previous turn then it may travel through a dimensional slide with the master, otherwise it can be considered to have been acting independent of the master and unable to accompany them.
