|
Tanis's page
1,365 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.
|
k, so if you're a 9th lvl samurai each morning you start with 5 Resolve points. You can regain up to 3 points a day through Challenge ability. So you've actually got potentially 8 Resolve points a day.
Is that right?
Don't get me wrong, i love the concept, just want to make sure i'm not missing anything with the mechanics.
If you can only recharge your Resolve points 3 times a day, then effectively you can only spend 3 Resolve points a day. Regardless of if you have a maximum of 5 per day.
One thing i don't get is if the only way you can get Resolve points is through the Challenge ability, why aren't they the same amount?
At 9th lvl the samurai is allowed 5 Resolve points - but can only Challenge 3/day.
Is this right?
Yeah, mostly what you'd expect from a Paladin. But #6 is a bit much. A tithe of 10% is adequate, IMO.
Orville Flibblegribble wrote: Mojorat wrote: in our lvl 9 game the halfling cavalier feeds potions of fly to his wolf. pretty sure flying is actually the dumbest thing a wizard can do when cavalier are Bout. you really desperately want walls between you and if there is a clear line the wizard has a good chance of being introduced to the lance as a save or die effectvassuming the few hundred damage of the charge doesn't kill you.
I'm pretty sure a lvl 20 mount likely has a permeably item. Hilarious, Now all I can think of is the uber Arch Mage flying around yelling "Bad Doggy, BAD!" as he's chase by a flying wolf with a pissed off halfling on the back. or Greater Dispel Magic.
Bertious wrote: Not sure where the d6 claws are coming from either half orcs don't have claws and the style does not grant them.
You can get them at level 2 with aspect of the beast but they only do a d4 damage.
Still 3 attacks at 1d4 +str mod isn't bad especially with power attack and as you have 3 natural attacks you can qualify for multiattack so at higher levels can use a 1 handed weapon with a claw and bite secondary attack.
For instance a level 6 ranger with an 18 strength power attack, and no magic would be able to with multi attack
Melee longsword +8/+3 (1d8+8), a claw +6 (1d4+4)and bite +6(1d4+4
or with improved natural attack
2 claws +8 (1d6+8), bite +8 (1d4+8).
Wouldn't it be:
Melee longsword +8/+3 (1d8+8), claw +3 (1d4+4), bite +3 (1d4+4); or
2 claws +10, bite +10.
Once you attack with a manufactured weapon, all natural attacks are considered secondary.
No. You have to actually throw a bead at the point of origin. You could throw it over however.
*edit* In other words you have line of sight, but not line of effect.
Marc Radle wrote: I'll proudly go on record - I have no problem with Kender at all! As others have said, some people playing one in a D&D game might have been annoying but as written in the original Dragonlance trilogy, they are fine.
In fact, Tasslehoff Burrfoot is a wonderful character
He's a character alright, nearly got us killed umpteen times!
And i swear he still has my flint and steel :/
Kamelguru wrote: Tanis wrote: Like Kyrt said, in 3.5 it specifically (Complete Arcane, IIRC) stated that volleys deal sneak attack once, but there's no mention so far from Paizo on this one. Indeed. I remember there being a couple of potential exploits in 3.5 which would have allowed an arcane trickster to deal somewhere like 90d6 damage with force orb on lv15 or so (if he hits on all 15 attack rolls).
Refresh my memory, is it restricted to 1 sneak attack per spell, or one per target? (As spreading the Scorching Ray out will reduce the damage to the relative level of an AoE, using ranged touch instead of save) Per spell. It essentially said that in a volley of attacks only apply precision damage once.
Like Kyrt said, in 3.5 it specifically (Complete Arcane, IIRC) stated that volleys deal sneak attack once, but there's no mention so far from Paizo on this one.
To work out how high you jump, consult the high jump table.
Say you move 10' then roll a 20 for your Acrobatics check. You'd jump 20' long and 5' high.
azhrei_fje wrote: Skylancer4 wrote: As for the question of if they can stay up and do watch, Sorcerers and Bards (AKA Spontaneous casters) still need 8 hours of rest +1 hour for every interruption as well. Technically they could sleep 4 hours, wake up for a watch shift and then sleep 5 (4+4+1=8) while the next watches are done, and spend the 15 minutes of concentration later in the day to get the spells back. And while elves only need to trance and not sleep (is that still in PF?), Elves sleep in Golarion.
Erevis Cale wrote: What if there are multiple rays? Say, an Arcane Trickster who's under the effects of Greater Invisibility or acts in surprise round etc, does he add SA damage on every ray, or just once? Like Manyshot you only apply the precision damage once for that attack.
NorseWolf i think you meant Greater Grapple which allows you to grapple as a move action. But everything else i agree with.

BobChuck wrote: Tanis, just so you know, the term "mob" is used in World of Warcraft (and most MMOs) to refer to "monster", "bad guy", "NPC", etc. I suspect that the OP (Original Poster) was using the term in that fashion, instead the significantly more obscure "swarm of small or medium size humanoids" definition.
It's entirely possible that you didn't know this, which is fine, but just in case it was an attempt to "gently nudge" the new player to use the "correct" terminology, I feel the need to point out that such behavior does not exactly help grow both this game in particular and the hobby in general. MMOs owe a great deal to tabletop gaming, and they are paying it back in large part simply by being what they've always been - very similar to tabletop gaming in loads and loads of ways.
Growing the game in this day and age means accepting and embracing the terminology of MMOs. Not the play-style, as WotC has successfully demonstrated the failure of doing, but some of the concepts and structures and ideas, including terminology. We gave them "tank", they give us "mob", and the cycle continues.
Of course, it's entirely possible that you weren't intending any of what I've read into your post, and if that's the case, I apologize.
Err, my bad. Got nothing against MMO's.
OP, my mistake, but still, now you know you can get swarms of humans ;D
Blave wrote: Since the AoO is performed before he leaves the square, he is still flanked and the rogue gets +2 to his attack and his sneak attack damage.
While we're at it, there's one thing I'm still trying to figure out with flanking:
Is the enemy (E) flanked by the PCs (P) in the following situation? (X is an empty square)
X P X
X E X
P X X
No. He would need to be here:
X X P
X E X
P X X
or here with reach:
X X X P P
X X X X P
X X E X X
X P X X X
X X X X X
Mob Anatomy (Ex): A mob has no clear front or back and no discernible anatomy, so it is not subject to critical hits or sneak attacks. A mob cannot be flanked, tripped, grappled, or bull rushed.
*edit* pretty much a swarm of humans.
Here's a question: if you have a touch spell held do you threaten and can you take AoO's?
Morikyri wrote: i've never heard that rule before. if you go by that. then the table is completely useless and anything made of adamantine would always have a hardness of 20 and 40 hit points. there has to be a cohesion between the text and tables somewhere. i guess i'll just hope that a designer looks at it and comments. Wolf's right. Table over text.
And i agree on slashing vs whip for sunder attempts.
*edit* there is cohesion. Like Wolf said: Table 7-13 regards walls and other material where the thickness is quantifiable, ie. 2' wall etc.
In all other cases, like Wolf said, Weapons and armor normally made of steel that are made of adamantine have Hardness 20 and one-third more hit points than normal.
1) Filth Fever's gone when you're raised.
2) The desc. of ability damage says 'the phrase equals or exceeds the ability score'.
Which implies that you can take damage past 0.
But there's no specific ruling for this unfortunately.

Skylancer4 wrote: Tanis wrote:
I'm pretty sure he said feral ppl not creatures.
And it's broken. Badly. It's not broken badly, it's really conditional. We always thought it was pretty powerful until we ended up at the higher levels and realized just how iffy it was. It's nice then too, but not even close to being broken. When looking at the ECL cost you can't just consider the sweet spot, you have to look at the entire effectiveness over the length of the game 1st-20th. It isn't worth a caster level at 20th (where you lose a 9th level spell slot) and at the appropriate gear it isn't even worth more than 2 levels to a fighter at 20th level. It might be better for some, than others, but that is the game in general so it is to be expected.
It's actually balanced, but front loaded, which is why people always complain it is "broken." Man, that's the first time you've said something i don't agree with. We're talking about the Feral template, yeah? The one that for a +1 lvl adjustment gave you: Pounce; 2 claw attacks at 1d8!!; Rend; Darkvision; Damage Reduction AND fast healing that scaled with your lvl!!!
For +1 LA? That's balanced...
Really?
Dispel Magic: '...Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.
SpaceChomp wrote: I'm speaking in Pathfinder terms, not janky "3.5 is broken" terms for making rogues useful. Just to clarify.
3 attacks at 1st level will be worthless as they will be at -75 to attack, who cares if the damage does 700 damage if it never hits.
Just flank - that's +2. You're only suffering -2 for TWF. Breaks even.
Re: 3.5: Yeah, fair enough, the rest of my post stands tho.
reefwood wrote: Lanathar wrote: The description talks about dispelling against a check of 11 + opponent caster level.
Now if an opponent has multiple spells of different level is the check the same for all or different for all?
For example against a level 12 caster with Stoneskin, Fly, Mirror Image and Sheild up are they all cast at caster level 12 and all have a dispelling DC of 23? We know the answer to this is that the DC is the same for all the spells by a specific caster, but if there are 3 spells with DC 23 and the dispel check is 24, which spell gets dispelled? The lowest level spell? The spell with the lowest DC? I can't seem to find this answer in the dispel magic description. The spell dispels the highest level spell, as per the desc.
SpaceChomp wrote: Tanis - how do rogues get pounce without massive multi-classing? 3.5 Complete Champion - 1st lvl Barbarian Lion Totem Variant. Or Claws of the Leopard from MiC.
SpaceChomp wrote: Also, as I said everyone can get UMD in class with one feat (and they get other things to go along with it).
Two-handed fighters do much more damage and have a better chance of hitting. From my experience at least.
And though you can turn off a wizards spells, there is nothing from preventing them from still having a decent stealth bonus.
More attacks = more sneak attack. Add the toothy 1/2 orc racial trait and you've got 3 attacks at 1st lvl. That's potentially 6d6 + whatever.
Wizards will *never* beat Rogues at Stealth.
Agreed Lyrax.
1. Invisibility is moot when you get past lvl 10 and every random encounter and his dog has either: See Invisibility; Blindsight; Tremorsense; True Seeing etc.
2. UMD is more than just using a wand. You can emulate a class. So the Rogue can use a Holy Avenger or Monk's Robe for example. Think about the implications there.
3. Swords don't kill people Rogues w/TWF flanking with Sneak Attack kill people. There's a reason TWF Rogues w/Pounce are known as blenders.
4. including magic traps that protect that Wizard while s/he's sleeping.
Lokie wrote: Tanis wrote: DR does nothing against falling damage or structural collapse. Only attacks. Damage Reduction would be silly if it worked that way.
It does work that way.
First sentence of Damage Reduction says 'A creature with this special quality ignores damage from most weapons and natural attacks'.

Shizzle69 wrote: considering that there is a hefty feat investment I also took it to mean that you can start and maintain in one round. I mean it requires that you start within 5 feet of the target. Fighters can full attack in that case doing way more damage. Sure I've got the guy pinned, but i'm giving myself 3 chances to fail. You only need to succeed once to keep them grappled.
Shizzle69 wrote: Once when i grapple, once when i pin, and once when the pinned guy gets to try and escape. I don't think it's wrong this way, as there are a lot of thing you can do with a full attack that would be much more debilitating. such as flurry with stunning fist, trip atempt, into medusa's wrath, or as stated a simple full attack from a fighter, or even worse a two-weapon rouge. These full attacks do not remove the attackers dex or give them the grappled condition like pinning someone does. this means the attacker is in a much better defensive position than my monk(fighter, whatever) who just grabbed and pinned the mage while his rouge buddy is right next to him.
Reading a bit more has made me realize that this combo can become broken if you are facing someone with very poor cmd.
With the +5 bns for grappling for 1 rnd, the +4 for the 2 feats, it's not just the creatures with low CMD that have to worry.
Lokie wrote: The Improved Unarmed Strike feat is indeed a good suggestion and something I might consider.
Nah, he was talking about a 3.5 feat Superior US that is freakin insane btw.
*edit* and ask your DM if you can have the Monk's Robe back in the form of Monk's Belt as a Mawashi
DR does nothing against falling damage or structural collapse. Only attacks.
YuenglingDragon wrote: Wasn't there a ruling from Jason or James that the Rend damage would apply to one of the attacks for the purposes of DR? So basically if the hit already took DR into account, the Rend was just extra damage. Yes. Yes there was.
Yes they stack. They're untyped penalties.
azhrei_fje wrote: I doubt we'll get Jason to stop by and specify one way or the other, but the ability to use regular grapples as move actions is a killer with one of the PCs in my party. Once a creature is grappled there is very little they can do. Even demons and devils cannot escape (their teleport is spell-like, meaning a concentration check is needed). I threw a hezrou against a grappling build that should've slowed down the PC a little more, but he was able to grapple/pin in a single round. :( Examples of overpoweredness (is that a word?) like this are probably the most eloquent demonstration of why this shouldn't work.
Well, i think the phrasing impliedly does say that you can only maintain in subsequent rounds. RAI, my take.
It doesn't actually say you have to wait, i agree. It was more the sequence of grappling and maintaining that gives me that impression.
FAQ i guess, it is a little vague.
Here's why:
"If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold".

Bertious wrote: This may not be too relevant but if these are feral creatures have you considered
Pounce (Ex) When a creature with this special attack
makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake
attacks if the creature also has the rake ability).
Format: pounce; Location: Special Attacks.
Rake (Ex) A creature with this special attack gains
extra natural attacks under certain conditions, typically
when it grapples its foe. In addition to the options
available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability
gains two additional claw attacks that it can use only
against a grappled foe. The bonus and damage caused by
these attacks is included in the creature’s description. A
monster with the rake ability must begin its turn already
grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and
rake in the same turn.
Format: rake (2 claws +8, 1d4+2); Location: Special
Attacks
Rend (Ex) If it hits with two or more natural attacks in
1 round, a creature with the rend special attack can cause
tremendous damage by latching onto the opponent’s body
and tearing f lesh. This attack deals an additional amount
of damage, but no more than once per round. The type
of attacks that must hit and the additional damage are
included in the creature’s description. The additional
damage is usually equal to the damage caused by one of
the attacks plus 1-1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus.
Format: rend (2 claws, 1d8+9); Location: Special Attacks.
I know these are not feats (may be in apg but not sure) but you are talking about monsters. :)
I'm pretty sure he said feral ppl not creatures.
And it's broken. Badly.
Tursic wrote: I would get the animal at 8, but the shadow would be stronger when it comes the hp and being able to hit. But you would be weaker, but i suppose you can hide much better.
I say stick with your base class - but if we were talking 3.5 my answer would be different.
A creature with natural attacks can instead attack with unarmed strikes or weapons, either solely or in conjunction with natural attacks.
- if they don't possess Imp. Unarmed Strike unarmed strikes will provoke AoO's.
- TWF penalties will usually apply, unless you only attack once in a round.
- these attacks will go off your BAB and you can apply iterative attacks.
1) Monster races should be based off CR, not HD. Also, unless you guys are really experienced, i'd suggest you all start off with equal CR. And beware of 'progressive' templates (Half-Fiend/Celestial).
2) As it's a bonus it overlaps (does not stack).
3) The attributes do stack however. If you're a Half-Dragon/Human you get the normal attribute bonuses for 1/2dragon and the +2 to one attribute for being human.
Gallard Stormeye wrote: Tanis wrote: You don't need to maintain the grapple in the round that you initiate the grapple. If, in the round after you grapple em you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold.
You maintain it the next round (as a move action), so you may pin *and* move them, for example. Or damage them twice with your unarmed damage.
Or you can use your move action to pin essentially letting you grapple and pin a creature in one turn.
Greater Grapple is really good. I don't think this is right. GG allows you to maintain the grapple as a move action - not to initiate or improve the grapple to a pin.
It's quite clear in its terminology - and maintain is only used in regards to once you are already grappling.
You don't need to maintain the grapple in the round that you initiate the grapple. If, in the round after you grapple em you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold.
You maintain it the next round (as a move action), so you may pin *and* move them, for example. Or damage them twice with your unarmed damage.
Yes, the Eidolon can 'ferry' other creatures, and even objects.
It says it functions as per DD, which states:
Target: you and touched objects or other touched willing creatures;
and in the description:
You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels. A Large creature counts as two Medium creatures, a Huge creature counts as two Large creatures, and so forth. All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another, and at least one of those creatures must be in contact with you.
Skylancer4 wrote: Tanis wrote: No, the line is interrupted because it borders with the grid intersection of the wall.
This is not getting us far without proper diagrams tho :/
That depends, are you considering squares to be over lapping or are grid squares separate entities that happen to be sharing a particular line at any one point.
If they share then any 2 points on adjacent squares are the same, they over lap.
If they happen to be sharing a mutual plane then going from one point to the square of the character doesn't actually intersect the wall's square as they are sharing a plane. Looks like Pathfinder considers it to be sharing a common plane but having separate points on each square. Squares don't overlap, they intersect. It is the line that intersects them that i'm talking about.
I don't get this bolded sentence, in the first para you seperated the two (overlap and sharing) then in the next you use them interchangeably. I'm not attacking, i genuinely don't understand.
No, the line is interrupted because it borders with the grid intersection of the wall.
This is not getting us far without proper diagrams tho :/
The point is it's the border that provides cover.
lol

Pathos wrote: Tanis wrote: Pathos wrote: Skylancer4 wrote: Pathos wrote: Well, it should be at least partial cover then, because his line would have to follow along a cover producing wall. No? To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).
Her square ends at the wall, as the wall is not an issue from that particular point (the one the ogre can choose) to the 4 points of her square (which end before the wall) he does not have to worry about cover. If the square she was in was less than 5x5 (meaning the wall took some part of the square up, lets say the "bottom" 1' of it), she would be "squeezing" into the square but it would provide cover. Back to my original question then... would the ranger then, assuming he was an Arcane Archer, have line of effect to cast for example a Scorching Ray on said fighter on the other side of the corner? Yes he would have line of effect. The Fighter would benefit from cover, +4 AC, and the AA/Ranger would not provoke an AoO. How? Since the ranged cover rules state that:
"If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect"
If line of effect isn't blocked here? Yeah, you need to finish the sentence. The quote is: "If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover".

Pathos wrote: Skylancer4 wrote: Pathos wrote: Well, it should be at least partial cover then, because his line would have to follow along a cover producing wall. No? To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).
Her square ends at the wall, as the wall is not an issue from that particular point (the one the ogre can choose) to the 4 points of her square (which end before the wall) he does not have to worry about cover. If the square she was in was less than 5x5 (meaning the wall took some part of the square up, lets say the "bottom" 1' of it), she would be "squeezing" into the square but it would provide cover. Back to my original question then... would the ranger then, assuming he was an Arcane Archer, have line of effect to cast for example a Scorching Ray on said fighter on the other side of the corner? Yes he would have line of effect. The Fighter would benefit from cover, +4 AC, and the AA/Ranger would not provoke an AoO.
The sidebar text overlaps with the text on p.196. This states that Merisiel doesn't have cover relative to the ogre because the ogre is considered to have a reach weapon and uses the ranged cover rules.
But that's confusing because the ranged cover rule IIRC is that if you're closer than your target they don't recieve the cover bonus. But Merisiel and the ogre are the same distance - 5'.
hrmm.
needs thought.
If you're talking about the front right square of the ogre (from Valeros's perspective), yes. Because he also occupies the front left square - which has less than 50% cover - Merisiel has no cover relative to him.
You choose one corner. Now draw a line to every corner of the occupied square. If the ranger's above the fighter in the (poor) diagram then his square's corner behind him and to the left would touch on the wall.
| Full Name |
PreGen Iseph |
| Race |
Android Ace Pilot |
| Classes/Levels |
Operative 4 | SP 24/24 HP 28/28 RP 6/6 | EAC 19 KAC 19 | F+1 R+8 W+2 | Init +6 Perc +9 darkvision 60 |
| Gender |
Genderless |
| Size |
Medium |
| Alignment |
NG |
|