
blahpers |

If it maintains a grapple the only attacks it gets are the rakes.
I believe this is false:
A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks under certain conditions, typically when it grapples its foe. In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe. The bonus and damage caused by these attacks is included in the creature’s description. A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn already grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.
If you had to give up your normal attack option, the attacks wouldn't be free. You should be able to use your bite for a normal attack.

BigNorseWolf |

1. How many attacks does he get for a full attack?
He gets 3: Claw claw bite.
2. In a round where he successfully maintains a grapple?
3. The Bite damage that comes with a succesful grapple check and the rake for two claws. It can't use the other two claws because maintaining a grapple is a standard action so it can't maintain and full attack.
3. After he pounces?
5. Claw claw bite rake rake.

![]() |

LazarX wrote:If it maintains a grapple the only attacks it gets are the rakes.I believe this is false:
Rake (Ex) wrote:A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks under certain conditions, typically when it grapples its foe. In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe. The bonus and damage caused by these attacks is included in the creature’s description. A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn already grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.If you had to give up your normal attack option, the attacks wouldn't be free. You should be able to use your bite for a normal attack.
It's just the 2 rake attacks.
"In addition" means "another option", not "on top of", in this case.
The cat is essentially getting double the number of attacks by raking.

blahpers |

blahpers wrote:LazarX wrote:If it maintains a grapple the only attacks it gets are the rakes.I believe this is false:
Rake (Ex) wrote:A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks under certain conditions, typically when it grapples its foe. In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe. The bonus and damage caused by these attacks is included in the creature’s description. A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn already grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.If you had to give up your normal attack option, the attacks wouldn't be free. You should be able to use your bite for a normal attack.It's just the 2 rake attacks.
"In addition" means "another option", not "on top of", in this case.
The cat is essentially getting double the number of attacks by raking.
Then the attacks aren't free. They would have stated "a monster with the rake ability can instead attack with two claws".

![]() |
But that would not be the same statement.
"Instead" replaces options.
"In addition to" gives you more options.
Gives more options or augments existing options. For it to be what you say, it would say something like "In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability may choose to attack with two claw attacks that can only be used against the creature it is grappling."
Normally when maintaining a grapple, the number of attacks you can make equals ZERO. Rake allows you to make 2.
When you maintain you may choose to do damage equal to your unarmed strike, a natural attack, or an attack made with armor spikes or a light or one-handed weapon. The rake attacks are in addition to that.

![]() |

Rathendar wrote:Normally when maintaining a grapple, the number of attacks you can make equals ZERO. Rake allows you to make 2.When you maintain you may choose to do damage equal to your unarmed strike, a natural attack, or an attack made with armor spikes or a light or one-handed weapon.The rake attacks are in addition to that.
The option to make a rake attack is in addition to those.

![]() |
Jeff Merola wrote:The option to make a rake attack is in addition to that.Rathendar wrote:Normally when maintaining a grapple, the number of attacks you can make equals ZERO. Rake allows you to make 2.When you maintain you may choose to do damage equal to your unarmed strike, a natural attack, or an attack made with armor spikes or a light or one-handed weapon.The rake attacks are in addition to that.
You simply repeating your opinion with no extra argument behind it is not going to convince anyone.

![]() |
I... Just... Did.
We're reading the same sentence and coming to different conclusions.
It's actually a common occurrence here on the forums, hence why I responded with "where do we go from here?"
Apologies, I missed that you had responded to it. And there really isn't anywhere we can go from here. You're insisting that the fact that the attacks are listed as free means nothing, and I (and everyone else in this thread that answered) feels that that means they're, y'know, free.
Edit: Wait, no, you didn't. My assertion was that it would be worded differently if it worked the way you say it does. You in no way responded to that.

Jayder22 |

I have always read it as they get the 2 rake attacks in addition to whichever option they choose when maintaining the grapple. If "in addition to" was giving the option to take the 2 rake attacks instead of one of the previously available options, they wouldn't be "free". They would be their own choice with the cost of not getting to choose what was available before.
My 2 cents anyways.

blahpers |

I... Just... Did.
We're reading the same sentence and coming to different conclusions.
It's actually a common occurrence here on the forums, hence why I responded with "where do we go from here?"
I guess we're just going to wait it out.
(My 2 cents is the same as Jeff's; we're in the usual "English is ambiguous" situation.)

Tarantula |

I have always read it that if a creature with rake begins its turn grappling, succeeds at a grapple check, and chooses to do damage, it gets to make its free rake attacks. I can see the reasoning behind saying that "rake" is an additional option to choose from instead of the normal grapple options however.
Going back to 3.5 text for rake gives us:
A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks when it grapples its foe. Normally, a monster can attack with only one of its natural weapons while grappling, but a monster with the rake ability usually gains two additional claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe. Rake attacks are not subject to the usual -4 penalty for attacking with a natural weapon in a grapple.
A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.
These are clearly in addition to the normal 1 natural attack the creature would get.

voideternal |
Hrm... I've always ruled that the free claw attacks generated by Rake are performed for 'free', like, a free action. So in my games, the Tiger would:
Round 1: Pounce, Claw Claw Bite Rake Rake (Establish Grapple)
Round 2: Rake Rake, Release Grapple, Claw Claw Bite (Reestablish Grapple)
Round 3: See Round 2
But that's just my table. I found that it's easy to execute because the Tiger just attacks 5 times all the time.

ShoulderPatch |

I'm going with
1) Bite, Claw, Claw
2) Qualifying normal attack (Bite in this case), Rake, Rake*
3) Bite, Claw, Claw, Rake, Rake
*Looking at the rules quoted so far, "In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks", seems straight forward to me.
It does not say "in place of" or "as another option", it says "gains".
So, Step 1) Look at what they can normally do. Step 2) Add two free claw attacks. Step 3) Profit.

ShoulderPatch |

ShoulderPatch: Rake does state that they do not get the attacks in the round that they establish the grapple. So no Bite (establish grapple) rake rake.
Op's #2 read "maintain" not "establish". Referenced below.
2. In a round where he successfully maintains a grapple?

DarkPhoenixx |

The real confusing part is when the big cat gets multiattack. Since npc codex and unofficial developer comments indicate it should get an extra attack at -5, but the RAW state it does not.
Doesn't it just lowers penalty on its secondary attacks? Wolfs and other thigns with only 1 natural attack get additional 1.

Rikkan |
That is the strict RAW reading yes. But in the NPC codex all companions that don't benefit from the penalty reduction have an extra attack. And SKR explains that that is intentional.Rikkan wrote:The real confusing part is when the big cat gets multiattack. Since npc codex and unofficial developer comments indicate it should get an extra attack at -5, but the RAW state it does not.Doesn't it just lowers penalty on its secondary attacks? Wolfs and other thigns with only 1 natural attack get additional 1.
For example, the level 12 small cat in the preview has bite/claw/claw... but those are all primary attacks, so all of them are at +0/+0/+0 (plus BAB and Strength and Weapon Focus), so Multiattack does absolutely nothing for the animal. Instead, it uses the "gain an iterative attack for one of those weapons" option, which is why its bite attack has a slash and a second attack bonus.
Like I said, it is confusing.

Umbranus |

Multiattack does not add attacks to an animal companion who already has three natural attacks; it merely reduces the secondary attack penalties. (If the companion's attacks are all primary, the ability is useless.) NPC code has screwed up more than once.
What would be possible with a big cat companion with multiattack (if the GM allows it) to give it armor spikes. That way it could make normal weapon attacks including iteratives plus all natural attacks at -2.
This option is not always a good one but it exists and could help with DR.
BigNorseWolf |

Nefreet, how are you getting 5?
If you use a standard action to maintain a grapple (effectively giving you a bite) then you get 2 additional attacks (rake rake). You can't use a full attack action you'd need to get 5 attacks unless they pouncecharge.
The critter chosing to bite or not bite wouldn't change that a standard action has been spent (in the case of not biting, cue the standard "with jaws that could crush a zebra bone, the mother lioness gently takes the kobold by the scruff of the neck....")