![]() ![]()
![]() I'm GM-ing a game, I'm relatively new, and I got a guy with this setup in a new-to-be character. He will already be quite powerful but I'm worried this will put him "over-the-top" and potentially cast a shadow on our other party spell-caster. I was hoping not to kaibosh his great idea solely on mechanics, I'd rather find a rule stating he can't than me deciding he can't based on flavor/RAI. Wondering what the rules are regarding trait/feat effect stacking. Is there anything to prevent it legitimately? Magical Lineage (Trait):
Magical Lineage: One of your parents was a gifted spellcaster who not only used metamagic often, but also developed many magical items and perhaps even a new spell or two—and you have inherited a fragment of this greatness. Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell's final adjusted level. Spell Specialization (Feat):
Select one spell. You cast that spell with greater than normal power.
Effectively, one lowers caster level, the other raises it for a combination of a +3 caster level for a particular metamagic-adjusted spell. Not sure I like the idea of a quickened fireball functioning at near full damage at level 8. Throw haste into the mix and this will get nasty in a hurry. Thoughts? ![]()
![]() Hi there,
context:
rules:
Thank you, your suggestions are appreciated. ![]()
![]() Grick wrote:
Grick thank you for this detailed response, it resolves the choice to attack swarm or square. However, I want to know if I can attack a square, with a ranged touch, that a swarm is occupying. Does the square have cover or concealment for example? This is the kind of thing I would like to figure out a RAW ruling for. ![]()
![]() rkraus2 wrote:
Thanks for linking this, great article!! ![]()
![]() Humphrey Boggard wrote:
The fact that this thread is still not locked is a testament to the high calibre that is Paizo. They could have locked the gates to this cesspool and thrown away the keys, yet here it remains, open to freedom of expression and opinion. You are awesome Paizo, and continue to set the bar for quality and company conduct, day-in and day-out. ![]()
![]() Rynjin wrote:
You don't have to move with them. You can move with the target if you wish but you must have the available movement to do so. If your attack fails, your movement ends in front of the target. http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#bull-rush ![]()
![]() Pope William T Wodium wrote: Doesn't the attacker normally have to travel with the target on a bullrush? At most, the target falls a distance equal to the elemental's height (or the elemental's height + reach if you're generous) and lands prone in an adjacent square (random or chosen by the target). You can elect to move with the target if successful. |