Can the benefits of the Shield Gauntlet Attack feat be applied to a pair of gauntlets simultaneously? Here's the text I'm focused on.
Shield Gauntlet Style
Shield Gauntlet Attack
I had originally thought the "Attack" feat could theoretically allow you to apply the damage bonus to a gauntlet on each hand, and then you could employ two-weapon fighting. However, with the specification of "off hand" in the "Style" feat and the use of the singular in the "Attack" feat, I'm wondering if this is all restricted to only one hand. That would be a bummer, but I thought I'd see how others read this all the same.
Hey, quick question on Riving Strike: if I understand correctly, effects that last one round resolve before the character's following initiative. So Riving Strike wouldn't be useful for a single character (barring a quickened spell cast on the same turn or something), and would really only come up as something of a teamwork effect (one character uses Riving Strike, another character capitalizes on it before the first character's next turn). Am I interpreting that correctly?
Ah. I knew about choosing a higher CL at the original time of creation, but I didn't catch that it could be further enchanted like that thereafter (I mean, I knew about it for weapons and armor, but not wondrous items). Thanks, that's useful. I don't suppose there's also a feat, spell, or ability for enacting such an enhancement on the fly, or temporarily?
Is there a way to increase the caster level of a magic item, either temporarily or permanently?
I was looking at the Shawl of Shadowy Disguise from Blood of Shadows, which states, "While worn, the wearer can hide her appearance as if with a penumbral disguise spell." The spell Penumbral Disguise reads, "You mask your features with shadowy illumination, gaining a competence bonus equal to your caster level on Disguise checks and Stealth checks attempted while in normal light, dim light, or darkness."
Now, I gather that the primary point of the cloak is the spell's OTHER benefit (obscuring your features when not in bright or normal light), and not the skill bonuses I listed above. But so far as I can tell, those bonuses would still be applied, albeit at a relatively low bonus since the cloak's caster level is only 5. So, that got me wondering if there was a way to pump up the cloak's CL.
Thoughts? Even if I've read the cloak's rules incorrectly I'd still be interested in learning whether a magic item's CL can be increased after creation.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Intriguing... (pun intended) Looking forward to reading the full version. :) Thanks Mark!
Mark Seifter wrote:
I don't suppose you can also spill the beans on whether the magic-themed archetypes still have talent-based spellcasting? O:)
Mark Seifter wrote:
Ah, thanks for clearing that up! I'd only heard second-hand about Jason's comments, and wasn't having any luck tracking them down myself. I'm sure there's someplace obvious I should've looked. ^_^;
Milo v3 wrote:
Does anyone have a link to this podcast/con comment? I'd love to check that out. I really dig the potential and flavor of the Vigilante class and I like a lot of the talents I saw for the Warlock, but like others here I had a lot of reservations about the playtest. I'm very curious about the final product (I maaaaaaaay be playing a city-based game after this comes out).
Quick couple of thoughts on the Warlock:
- Requiring 8 hours of rest to regain spells makes it very difficult to maintain two identities. It's an issue of time. I was playing around with a build because my GM will eventually be running a city-based campaign, and I love the idea of this class. But I'll have a heck of a time managing the "Bruce Wayne by day, Batman by night" sort of flavor if I have to rest for 8 unbroken hours. The playtest has already offered a mix of spontaneous and prepared casting as a boon; perhaps removing the resting period would sweeten this particular specialization further?
- Making spells into a tiered progression of talents intrigues me because of how different it is, but it doesn't seem like the sort of thing one dabbles in. Because you have to take the spell talents in order and because many low-level spells will eventually become obsolete, it's hard to mix n' match it with other talents. It seems to be the sort of thing you either commit to or avoid 100%. This seems to be a bit contrary to the idea of a talent pool.
Philip Pickard wrote:
To followup and elaborate, I'm basically hoping there'll be some wiggle room to tinker with this. I'd like to be able to customize and flavor my Dragonball Z unarmed fighter with a variety of blast-punch options. ;)
Hi Mark! Kinetic Fist says, "This extra damage ignores spell resistance and does not apply any modifiers to your kinetic blast’s damage, such as your Constitution modifier."
1) Does this include a composite blast's extra dice (like from Plasma) and/or bonus damage (like from Aetheric Blast)?
2) How would you feel about a character being able to accept additional burn in order to apply damage modifiers?
3) How would you feel about an archetype that specializes in Kinetic Fist and unarmed combat in general?
Hrm, if that's the case, that seems awfully expensive, point-wise. I'm not sure it's worth it. I interpreted the text as restating the mechanic; that is, I took "see below" to mean a more in-depth explanation rather than a listing of related rules.
A couple of questions regarding the Eldritch Scion archetype:
1) Do you have to spend a point from the Eldritch Pool to enter a mystic state, and then another point per use of bloodrage ability? Or do you spend a point, enter the mystic state, and for the duration of the state have free access to bloodrage abilities?
2) How does "Abyssal Bloodrage" (Abyssal bloodline, level 12 ability) work, since you don't gain the benefits of bloodrage? Does it not function at all because you're not bloodraging, or do you gain only the modifying benefits of the ability (+2 Str, -4 AC)?
W. John Hare wrote:
Okay, that was weird, did my post just 'eat' someone else post?
Heh, no; I actually deleted my post after re-reading the entry; I came to the same conclusion you did. Apparently the post stuck around long enough to be responded to.
I must say, though, that it seems an odd decision. After skimming the weapon special ability entries, it seems that the vast majority of them specify a wielder. I wonder if that was an intentional aspect of this spell, as there aren't a lot of options left by that ruling. I might house rule to allow them to be wielded so that players have more options (but only for that purpose; they couldn't make attacks of opportunity and whatnot).
Distant Scholar wrote:
Right, the qualifier is what got me too. I feel like such notes are recalled in the description, and I didn't see that here.
The spell details for "Wreath of Blades" (Ultimate Combat, pg 249) states "Saving Throw: Reflex half (special, see below)," but the description doesn't make any mention of a saving throw. The damage the spell deals (1d4/2 caster levels) is only described as being given to a target adjacent to the caster. I assume that this is where the Reflex save would come in, but the description makes no note of it. I can't find any FAQ or errata on this. Is there any saving throw associated with this spell?