|
Longshot11's page
1,313 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|
Hey all,
"Who Rules Hell Harbor" states that when you would encounter a *non-villain* monster - you replace it and encounter a ship instead. Two of the locations however are closed by summon and defeat Henchmen Grindilow and Hammerhead Shark. So, by RAW - your only way to close these is to chase the Villain there and defeat him, in an already annoying and frustrating scenario. Hence, I'm pretty sure that wasn't the intent, but I can see two possible ways the intent might have been:
- You replace the summoned henchman with a ship, but defeating the ship allows you to close
- You do NOT replace Henchman monsters - the much more logical option, more consistent with similar conditions in other scenarios.
I don't expect anyone official still frequents this forum, but if anyone has played this one in OP and is aware of the official stance - please let me know.
(search doesn't seem to find any previous discussion of this scenario)
Specifically:
"When you defeat a monster, you may move or put the bottom card of your deck on top of your deck, then end your turn."
Q: Can you use the above power off-turn?
My reading is "yes" (with "then end your turn" then being an impossible instruction that you promptly ignore)
Another player however argues that "end your turn" implies that you can only play it on your turn. (Even if that's the intent, I'd argue it's not supported by the current wording).
Thoughts and input appreciated :)

Ok, so the *entire* point of the KoK is to help you against those nasty Undead/Demon armies - it adds 1d6 to your checks with a skill marked on the KoK.
In 1-2B, however - the first scenario in SotR that makes you fight Armies- KoK is displayed by the scenario power *without any further instruction*. The reward for the scenario allows you to check off a Medal on KoK - but that doesn't make them of any use whatsoever during the scenario itself (which, thematically wouldn't make sense to me). Now, displaying KoK at all probably was NOT done just so you know where to check off you medal at the end - as WotR scenario 2-4, Into the Citadel, does not use KoK either - but it just makes you draw it from the box to mark the reward medal (and this seems to be a moot point, since in OP each character marks off medals on their Character sheets anyway, as opposed to on the KoK itself).
That leaves us with the question, why would 1-2B make you display KoK if they don't want you to use it? In Wrath of the Righteous set, 2-1 awards you a medal *before* the first scenario you would actually use KoK; 6-1 on the other hand gives you a medal in its *Scenario power* - as it makes you display the Troop Champions of Mendev - and it obviously wants you get some use out of it. That last thing however was identified as a "bug" - as it would allow you to "grind" 6-1 to fill in all the CoM medals (start 6-1, gain a medal, wait out the blessings deck, "attempt" 6-1 again...). So I', left wandering if the current setup of 1-2B is a "bug" resulting from some last minute change in response to WotR 6-1 - where perhaps 1-2B would intially let you check off a medal on KoK *before* you have to fight all the armies during the scenario - but then was moved to Rewards without accounting that this leaves KoK pointless?
So, I guess my question is - were we supposed to be able to use KoK during the scenario (which would make sense thematically -the story bits alone make it clear that KoK will be fighting alongside you- and without it the Army banes are much more horrific, to the point of possibly insurmountable for 6 character party) - without "double-dipping" into the Rewards medal of course (essentially, your Reward is to *keep* the medal given in advance).
And, if not - what is the point at all to display the KoK at the start ?!?
Its power says:
"When you encounter a non-villain, non-henchman monster from a location deck, bury this card to defeat the monster."
Does the above replace the entire monster encounter (what would make sense thematically, as you then put an ally on top of the location - presumingly representing the "converted" enemy), or do you still take any BYA, AYA and other nastiness? The "when you encounter" timing leads me to believe intent is that the encounter is replaced in its totality, but I seem to remember consensus was (on Potion of the Ocean et al.) that "auto-defeat" cards are *generally* just played during "Attempt the Check" and have no relevance on the rest of the encounter (i.e. all BYA/AYA monster powers still happen).

1) AD1: Scenarios can be played out of order, and several of them feature the Cohort "Herald of Iomedae". However, the Heralds powers include:
"Display this card.... Banish it at the end of the scenario."
Of course, banished Cohorts are removed from the game, so we were wondering if this is a mistake, or if you're in fact supposed to chose for which scenario you want to use the Herald - and play that one first (thereby forfeiting the use of the Herald in the rest of the scenarios)
2) 1-1B Scenario power:
"When a character would play an ally, roll 1d6. On a 1 or 2, she instead buries the ally and, after resolving any check she is attempting, summons and encounters the henchman Demonling"
This wording leaves us unclear on several things:
- is it supposed to only work when allies are played on checks, or also when discarded for exploration?
- if the later, how does it work, timing-wise - do you first explore, or do you first summon Demonling and then explore?
- do you in fact explore *at all* - as "when...*would* play an ally" suggests that on a 1-2 , the ally is NOT played at all?
I noticed the following discrepancy while scouring the PACG wiki, so apologies if I have been mislead (I dont have my card on hand). Apparently:
- The SPIDER trait is present on Leng Spider (RotR), Blink Spider (SS), Paeta (SS Villain) and Mistress Anemor (WotR Villain)
- Meanwhile, the ALLIES Spider (both pre- and post-Core), Dream Spider and Stancrush, as well as the monsters Monstrous Spider and Spider Swarm have as a trait VERMIN.
So, should the cards in the first category be FAQd to say Vermin as well, so they can interact with the numerous powers that care for the Vermin trait?
I feel stupid, blind or possibly crazy - but where in heck are those Level 1 Story Banes used in the Curse campaign?
The card in my box has printed Level 4; the downloadable list of Curse cards (and the card's own positioning in the package wrap) however seem to indicate it should be Level 3. So, which is it?
Ill Tidings:
"Encounter the top card of the hourglass. If you fail a check against it, banish it... Otherwise, this barrier is defeated."
What would happen if the top Hourglass in NOT in fact a Blessing? What if it's, say, a scenario bane - do you just get to banish the nasty card from your hourglass?
Also, what if I DO succeed in my encounter? Do I get to draw the Blessing or do I have to return it back to the Hourglass? When I encounter a boon - RAW logic dictates I should draw it; on the other hand - I'm *specifically* instructed that I should banish it if I fail the CtA - which should be implicit in the failed boon encounter anyway, so it makes me think there's something fishy going on here...
"On your combat check, reveal to add 1 and the Melee and Piercing traits; you may additionally reload to add 1d4. You may not play weapons or Attack spells on this check."
The above limitation makes no sense, as by the time I play SG (during Modify Your Check step), I already can HAVE played Weapon or Spell during Determine Your Skill step, and potentially even in the Modify Your Check step, just before the Gauntlet...
.., which is a completely fine omission to me, as it makes zero sense for Spiked Gauntlet to block me (does the YOU there also block other characters??) from playing FREELY weapons and spells.
In my head-cannon, the wording here should be something like "You may not play this card if you have played a weapon or Attack spell on the check." (which would block these during Determine Your Skill step, but allow Freely weapons and Attack spells to be played *after* the Gauntlet) - but I seek confirmation of intent here.

Tall Knife said wrote: Instead of your first exploration of your turn, discard to examine the top # cards of your location. Encounter 1 non-villain monster you find; it is defeated. If you do not find a non-villain monster, reload this card instead. Then shuffle all remaining examined cards into the location and end your turn. Rulebook said wrote: If the scenario lists a henchman with the word “closing,” you may attempt to close your location after defeating that henchman from that location. So, I pull out a closing Henchman with tall knife and defeat it. I believe attempting to close because of that was part of the encounter in pre-Core (with the closing opportunity specifically spelled out on the henchman card) but seems much less clear post-Core, where nothing in the quote above indicates timing. Both the "closing henchman" closing opportunity and the Tall Knife's "end your turn" use only "then" as any timing indicator.
Also, note this quote in conjunction with Tall Knife's "it's defeated" power:
Rulebook said wrote: During the encounter, effects might cause the card you’re encountering to be acquired, defeated, or undefeated. This does not end the encounter unless the effect specifically says it does. This specifically indicates that Tall Knife doesn't end the encounter by itself, which leaves several possibilities:
- A) the closing attempt is NOT a part of the encounter (WHY?) but the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS part of the encounter (WHY?) - then Tall Knife seems a bit at odds with itself due to:
Rulebook said wrote: If you are forced to end your turn before an encounter ends, shuffle the encountered card back into its location, or if it was summoned, it is neither defeated nor undefeated, and the encounter is over. So either that's an indication that "end your turn" is NOT part of the encounter, or else the Tall Knife is supposed to "trump" the Rulebook and ignore the "not defeated" instruction. HOWEVER, the latter would also mean that you lose you Henchman closing - note that the post-Core text (quoted above) does NOT instruct you that you can "immediately attempt to close" upon Henchman defeat; so by the time you get this opportunity (after the encounter), it is too late as you have already ended your turn (during the encounter)
- B) the closing attempt is NOT a part of the encounter (WHY?) AND the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS NOT part of the encounter (WHY?): this would mean you can chose the order of these effects (or would it? Why not?) so you close, then move (under the new closing rules), then end your turn (due to Tall Knife).
- C) the closing attempt IS part of the encounter (WHY?) but the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS NOT part of the encounter (WHY?) - this reading would seem to fall afoul of:
Rulebook said wrote: If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after the encounter do not happen So you would close, move and then ignore Tall Knife's end your turn. Or would the *card* Tall Knife TRUMP the *Rulebook* rule? - but that would seem to render the quoted rule pretty much useless in all occurrences...
Also, given both effects are only timed with a "Then..." - what makes the one trigger IN the encounter and the other - AFTER the encounter?!?
- D) the closing attempt IS part of the encounter (WHY?) AND the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS ALSO part of the encounter (WHY?). - this runs into the same issue as A)
So, basically, what's the timing, encounter-wise, of Tall Knife's "then end your turn" (and I supposed, the closing henchmen's "attempt to close"). And why would they be different (if so)?
I feel a bit silly as I'm sure I should have the answer for this one, but my mind is currently drawing a blank.
Thanks for your input in advance.
See title.
Arguments for having Craft CtA are:
- item is Alchemical Liquid
- item has in fact a Craft check to recharge
"When a local character fails to defeat a story bane or an Aberration, Dragon, or Giant monster, you may reload it into its location instead of shuffling it "
How would the above power interact with undefeated villains and escaping? Would Harsk's power override escaping and just put the villain on top of his location? Why?
Would it matter if this happens in the last location remaining (so the villain is *technically* escaping, but for practical purposes he is just being shuffled in a pre-determined location)? Why?
How does Giant Fly ("After acting, shuffle this monster into a random other location" ) interact with being in a siege pile? Does it really get shuffled into a location (which removes it as a menace and in essence gives you an extra "siege hit point"), or does "other location" implies that this power only triggers if the Fly Comes from a location in the first place?
See title. All other banes' non-combat CtDs appear to be single-veteran.
(bonus question: I'm not playing Quick-Start scenario personally, but in case the Villain is *undefeated* with two un-Guarded locations - wouldn't players need TWO Blessings in the Vault?!?)
I got my Core box, but it was missing two markers (they were punched out of their cards and nowhere to find in the box). I was wandering if anyone else has encountered this issue or did I just draw the single short stick of the lot?
On the practical side, did anyone play a big party and found they needed all 7 tokens from a single design? I'm really loath to bother support over this, but the completionist in me has difficult time reconciling paying that much for an "incomplete product" and it's definitely not something I'll want to have to consider during gameplay :(
|
4 people marked this as a favorite.
|
I couldn't find the common PSA thread, so there you have it - all the old PACG Seasons are on sale right here!.
... or are they? For a second year in a row, only the first TWO scenarios of Season of Plundered Tombs have been discounted - while, oddly enough, the NEWER SoFactions Favor is discounted in its entirety! Is that intentional, or a "bug"? I'd really appreciate if someone official weighs in on the matter, so I don't have to ask the same question same time next year :)
Also, could any community member let me know what the "deal" is with Adventure in Absalom (in the Plundered Tombs Season) and the upcoming The Hao Jin Cataclysm (the Tapestry's Tides Season)?

Oooh, I get it! She's a ninja, and so she's invisible and I never see her coming! Hahah. Hilarious, really. Seriously, though - where's my ninja?
I got my Ultimate Equipment deck, and wouldn't you know it - no Ninja in sight! So I counted my cards, and it turned out - in the "first" (Weapons, Spells, Armors, Items) of the two plastic wraps there were only 50 cards!
Since I don't believe I'm a unique snowflake, you guys might wanna look into that. If it's of any relevance:
- the last(?) 4 items in the wrap were wrapped *at the front* of the deck, before the weapons
- the last 4 or 5 cards in the wrap (2-3 armors and the *first* 2 items - Alchemist's Kit and Blue Star) were stuck together and required effort separating (incurring very minor damage to the surface/back of corresponding cards)
So, before I can get to Customer Support - I would have to ask the community for assistance. While 3 of my missing cards are Token, Character and Role for Reiko, there's no deck list to confirm the other missing 2. Since Items were spread both in front and back of the wrap, I'd assume they're the missing entries. Here's what I got:
- Alchemist's Kit
- Blue Star
- Compass
- Fireworks
- Noxious Bomb
- Pheromones
Which 2 cards am I missing?
As a bonus question - can anyone confirm if they also got a Straitjacket armor in their deck? I already have 2 of this (arguably crappy) armor from the Occult Decks, so I'm almost hoping for a misprint here...
This is the 2-1 scenario from the We Be Goblins campaign.
This scenario doesn't have any Henchmen/Villain. Looking at it, it seems that we (a 6-player party) are expected to grind through 63 cards (assuming no failures!) in 7 very punishing (monster/barrier heavy) locations, all the while being bombarded with nasty Summoned Barrier+Henchmen combos when we encounter a location barrier.
I just wanted to ask - are we missing some crucial "catch" here? Can anyone who has played through this scenario give us any clever tip, or is this exactly the obnoxious chore it appears to be?!?
PS: Also, is it just me or the PACG Society forum isn't working? I would post this question there, but the link only opens Paizo's main page...
Single location scenario, all random AD5 & 6 Henchmen. Theoretically, it's possible -and even likely- that *both* HH and IM are shuffled in, AND that HH is above IM. Then, HH says:
"BYA, summon and defeat Inger- Maggor, or Herald's Heart is undefeated."
In the above setup - does that mean I CANNOT defeat HH until the deck is shuffled an Inger is on top, defeat and sent to the box - so he can finally be summoned when HH comes around again?
It would seem so by the rules, but we hope someone can come up with a reason otherwise...
Pillar of Light allows characters to heal "instead of your first exploration for the turn". OTOH, Minotaurs have nasty "If it is your first exploration of the turn" powers. So, if a player heals with PoL, and THEN runs into a Minotaur - would that be his "first" exploration?
I seem to remember a similar case with Kyra and face-up barriers, where it was ruled that even after she heals - she still has to encounter the barrier. Still, I'm not sure if there were any differences in language (maybe "encounter this barrier AS your first exploration.."?) that *could* make a difference.
The Sawtooth Sabre says:
"If you succeed at your first check to defeat a bane that requires sequential checks to defeat, the difficulty of checks to defeat during this encounter is decreased by 5"
Now, checks against armies are by their very nature "sequential" and they're most definitely NOT "alternative".
Still would you say beating a Combat 40 with Allain's Sawtooth Sabre will drop Adowyin's Acrobatic 23 check down to 18? Rules support pro and con?
Shapechange wrote: Display this card and choose one: ...; or your hand size is 3, 7 or 10. So, if I chose this effect, do I need to select one of the 3 numbers (effective for the rest of the scenario), or do I treat it as if it gives me the equivalent of my Powers section saying "Hand Size: 3, 7 or 10" (i.e. - I chose the number every turn) - I believe there was a similar precedent with one of the Goblin heroes.
I believe it's the later, but the player who carries the card argues the former, and I feel she is short-changing herself.
Thanks in advance.
Adelita Dolruso wrote: After you act, Adelita deals 1d4 Force damage to a random character at your location. If the check to defeat included the Swashbuckling trait, YOU take the damage instead 1) Now, Adelita has TWO checks to defeat, so:
1.1 Is the correct wording "if either of the checks to defeat had the Swashbuckling trait..."
OR
1.2 "if any of YOUR checks to defeat had the Swashbuckling trait..."
2) In conjunction with the above, I am still unclear at who that YOU (that is forced to take the damage) is though?
2.1 is it the character who encounters the card?
2.2 is it the character who made a check with the Swashbuckling trait?
2.3 (IF 2.2. is true) - what happens if both checks were made by different characters, and both had the Swashbuckling trait?
Also, the standard follow-up question to the above two entries: WHY?
Thanks in advance for the insight.
I thought it odd, but I couldn't find a FAQ or even a thread:
The Scenario has 1 Villain, 1 Shipwreck henchman, and the rest - 6 in 6-p game- are henchmen Vrykolakas.
It also has the Jaws of Dagon location, which is closed by "summon and defeat Vrykolakas". There are, however, only 6 Vrykolakas in the box - and they are all mixed in the location decks.
So, if you happen to have the Shipwreck in the Jaws, and that's your first Henchman - which happened to us last night - you can't summon a Vrykolakas to close the location!
I know the rulebook covers this and we were basically screwed. But I don't believe this was intentional design, so I thought I'd put it out here for a potential FAQ.
"If undefeated... add a random monster to a random open location deck".
Is that "shuffle" or "put on top"?
Tears of Death wrote: After the check, succeed at a Disable/Craft 12 check, or Tears of Death deals 1d4 Poison damage to you then bury your discard pile Does that mean:
1) Your roll Craft/Disable; then, regardless of the result, you bury your discard pile
OR
2) Only if you fail Disable/Craft - you take damage and bury your discard pile
More importantly: WHY? (why is your reading what it is?) How would you word this power for the effect opposite of your reading?
Thanks in advance.

1) I play BoHorus to "move, then may explore" and another BoHorus is the blessing discard ("When you play this card, if the top card matches you may move".
So what exactly happens here, and what would the timing be?
- Do I do the "matching" move first (which would be mostly inconsequencial except maybe for locations with beneficial 'when you move here' effects), THEN the "move, may explore"?
- do I do "move then may explore" first, and
- if I do - do I have the other move 'banked' for after the exploration?
- do the two moves happen simultaneously and I may chose?
2) I examine 'encounter Trigger' with BoBastet ("examine; if you encounter a bane - encounter it"). To me, for all intents and purposes - except the lack of the word Trigger itself- Bastet's power is a 'trigger' in essense, in that it immediately provokes an effect when you examine a bane.
- Is that what really happens? (so I can chose if I encounter because of Bastet, or the bane's own trigger - it matters)
- If not - do I have to encounter from the Bastet's or the bane's effect first (thereby discarding the other effect, as I cannot encounter the same card multiple times from several effects)
3)Blessing of Anubis - lets me add 2dice to a check VS Undead AND ignore their immunities. This seems intended to allow, say, playing Poison weapons VS the Undead. And we DID play it so for a dozen scenarios, but last night a player noted:
"Hey, I MUST play the Scorpion Whip in Determine Your Skill phase; if the monster's immune to Poison - I'm not allowed to do it. I *then* may play BoAnubis in Modify Your Check step - but even if I do, I cannot retroactively play the Whip to Determine My Skill... So, how hard do you say I'll have to bare-fist that Mummy Lord...?"
Well, d'oh!
So, RAW here seems pretty unambiguous, but we were left wondering if maybe we're missing something timing-wise as else the "ignore immunities" on BoAnubis is pretty useless...
Thatks in advance for the insight.
When discarded to add 1d4+1 to another location - shouldn't it also add the Fire trait?

In regards to the the following cards:
Blessing of Moloch wrote: When any character plays a weapon on a check, discard this card to add 2 dice; if this card has the Corrupted trait, that character discards a card. Blessing of Mephistopheles wrote: Discard this card to add 2 dice to any check by a character at another location; if this card has the Corrupted trait, that character shuffles 1d4 monsters from the box into that location deck. On one hand, the rule about ignoring is along the lines of "if you ignore something, it never has any effect on YOU". This leads me to believe the character doing the check has to ignore the Corrupted blessings.
OTOH, it seem more intuitive that the character playing the Blessing should ignore the trait, and -carrying blessings like those- seem more likely that he/she will have prepared for ignoring the Corrupted trait (given that blessings can't be redeemed - it can't really be expected that another character will be prepared to counter *your* cards)
Furthermore, BoM shuffles monsters in a location - it can be argued which player is really *affected* by this, if any at all. Is the fact that player X must perform the shuffling enough to designate him the "affected player"?
Bonus questions:
- if I play such Blessings on a check - is a player then allowed to play Redeemer Blacksmith (for example) to ignore the Corrupted trait? It doesn't require any further action to be a valid play (so it 'pertains to the check" technically) but then again - its effect doesn't really have to do with the check at all (it doesn't even modify the check's traits - it only modifies a single card's traits, that have no bearing on the situation)?
- if the above is allowed - would the Redeemer actually count against my '1 ally per check' limit, i.e. is he 'played on the check"?
What bothers me is, while some of the questions above have seemingly apparent answers by RAW, those answers don't really coincide with what my 'intuitive' call would be, so I thought I'd probe the public opinion on them.

- Asmodean High Priest: has Human trait, definitely not human-looking (similar to the MM FAQ'd 'Widow and Dearly Departed'); also, looking so dope it should be illegal.
- also, when does AHP's first power come into effect?
"When you would recharge...spell...do X to put the spell in your hand instead".
Basically, you DON'T actually play AHP (so his first paragraph's not even a power?)- I seem to recall a discussion on a similar subject, but can't find the thread, and I don't remember how it was resolved.
- Petty Thief - checking for intent:
"If you fail THE CHECK to acquire, discard armor or item"
...-dissimilar to Burglar and similar, that penalize you for failing to *acquire* them. I.e., you can 'pass' on attempting to acquire the Petty Thief without penalty - which I'm definitely OK with.
- Tower Shield:
Power 1: "At the start of any turn, display this card. While displayed (damage dealt to you is reduced; difficulty of you checks to defeat is +1dX)"
...So, once I display TS it stays displayed until the end of the game ?!? Of course, there's TS's Power 2:
"At the end of any turn, you may recharge this card. If you do not, succeed at ...check or discard this card"
This *seems* to me like it's intended to work "while displayed", but since it doesn't say so - it's supposed to default to "must be played from your hand", right? Which would make this card very funky, indeed...
-BoMazmezz: "Discard this card to add...or 3 dice, if each character at your location discards 1d4 cards."
I wan't to confirm if -similar to the WotR FAQ'd Corruption Demon- I can roll d4 first and *then* decide if I want to discard that number of cards. Whatever the answer - WHY? Is there a rule I'm overlooking that would have spared me this question, and that is the basis for a default resolution (the Corruption Demon FAQ is not helpful in that regard), or are these clauses determined on case by case basis?
- BoBelial: "Discard to add 2 dice to ANY check to acquire a boon; if this card is Corrupted and YOU acquire the boon, discard the boon"
Soo, the Corrupted BoBelieal has no ill effect if I play it on *another* player's check, correct? Or is this one of those annoying "applies to everyone" YOU's, for some reason? (I'm not sure why I see it as a dissimilar case)
- Lazerro Diabolist: "When you defeat Demon, Devil, Fiend...you may display it. For each card displayed that way, damage dealt to you is reduced by 1 (2)"
... ... ... So, I display it for, like, FOREVER? Basically, I can become pretty much impervious to damage within a couple of turns in WotR? Don't mind if I do...
- Ugraz Tyrant: "When a character ... would banish or bury a card FROM HER HAND for its power..."
Ok, so I know that if I discard a spell, but then I lack, say, Arcane and I banish it - then I'm "banishing the spell for its power". However, would that count as "banishing from my hand"?? (since the spell was 'set aside' at the time it was banished)
Thanks in advance for the help!
I just read the bonus scenario for Season of the Righteous, where it says:
"For this scenario, include only cards with set indicators of B, C, P, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7"
Can someone tell me what's that all about?

Inspired by Brother Tylor, I decided to share for feedback one of my homebrew heroes. It was brought about by some talk a few months back about what new the Class Decks could offer, so I latched onto the idea of a hypothetical “Defenders of Sandpoint” deck – which would include the 'named' Allies from RotR making a stint as player characters for a change. Prospective candidates were Ameiko Kaijitsu, Ilsoari Gandetus, and -the subject of the current thread- Shalelu Andosana.
Main Concept: Being the resident town ranger, Shalelu retains and expands on her Ally abilities to scout out danger. Conceptually, I was going for a 'fleet on her feet' forest runner feel, where Shalelu's player would want her to go all over the place, as opposed to tanking any single location. To get the most mileage out of this elusive ranger, you'll want to stock up on all those 'move in the middle of the turn' card (which are usually the next most useless in my group's games, after Potions, so there – I did something about it)
Shalelu also prefers to alert the town at large of incoming danger, rather than to play 'first line of defense' herself, so she'd rather avoid danger when the odds are not in her favor (though, obviously, she's not as good at it as a Rogue).
Of course, it wouldn't do for Shalelu to 'discard herself', should the Shalelu Ally be in her deck – so she gets to recharge all cards with those Scout and Ranger traits that went unused for so long (and that also inexplicably and for no good reason seem to shift, without any indication to consistency and purpose: the original Shalelu ally had 'scout' which never found a use, even though she is a Ranger herself – so I thought 'Scout' replaces a card's 'class trait', while instead indicating some sort of examine capability (see also S&S Lookout); however, in the newest Class Deck there is Ranger card that examines, while not having the Scout trait!? Go figure...). Thematically, this reflects Shalelu's great ranging savvy, which allows her to sometimes act the reluctant 'commander' of sorts, giving useful tips and hints to her less experienced colleagues.
Quote: Shalelu Andosana
Female Elf Ranger
SKILLS
Strength d8 □+1 □+2
Dexterity d10 □+1 □+2 □+3 □+4
-Ranged: Dexterity +2
Constitution d6 □+1 □+2 □+3
Intelligence d4
Wisdom d8 □+1 □+2 □+3 □+4
-Survival: Wisdom +2
-Perception: Wisdom +2
-Stealth: Wisdom +2
Charisma d6 □+1 □+2
Powers
Hand Size 5 □6 □7
Proficient with Light Armors, Weapons
After you move, you may examine the top card of your new (□or old) location deck.
If you're alone at your location, you may succeed a Stealth or Survival check with difficulty 6 plus the bane's adventure deck number to evade a monster.
□ When you would discard a card with the Ranger or Scout trait for its power, you may recharge it instead.
Cards List
Favored Card Type: Weapon
Weapon 5 □6 □7
Spell - □1 □2
Armor 1 □2
Item 3 □4 □5
Ally 2 □3 □4
Blessing 4 □5
Her first role is based on the archetypal 'here and gone again, I'm better off on my own' behavior. Yes, she'll pop up with an useful warning for the party, but don't expect her to stick around the campfire before departing for yet another excursion in the wild – it's not her fault other humans/elves/whatever are only cramping her style. Meet the Lone Wolf.
Much like her namesake, the Lone Wolf is extremely skilled in tracking down wildlife quarry. More often this means taking down dangerous predators, but in a pinch she's able to turn inoffensive or even friendly animals into sustenance.
Lone Wolf's survivalist instincts and knowledge enable her to circumvent or overcome any obstacle; often with the help of improvised tools, fashioned from sticks and stones, bone or sinew, or whatever else she can scavenge in the wilds.
The above talent comes in especially useful, given that remaining unnoticed can be the difference between life and death, between fresh meat and starvation. When situation demands it, the Lone Wolf ranger can use her improvised tools to fashion a ghillie suit that guarantees she'll remain virtually invisible.
Finally, her knowledge and mastery over Nature's gifts enable her to exploit them with almost supernatural efficiency – be it a concocting a herbal salve to cure herself, finding the perfect spot to build a sheltered sanctuary, or using her acute senses to track quarry at great speed through the land. She never knows what advantage her surroundings will offer her but she'll recognize it when she sees it and she won't let it go to waste.
Quote: Shalelu Andosana (Lone Wolf)
When the going gets tough, the lone wolf gets going.
Powers
Hand Size 5 □6 □7
Proficient with Light Armors, Weapons
After you move, you may examine the top card of your new (□or old) location deck. (□ If it has the Animal trait, you may encounter it and add 1d8 to your checks against it.)
If you're alone at your location, you may succeed a Stealth or Survival check with difficulty 6 plus the bane's adventure deck number to evade a monster. (□ Then you may move.)
□ When you would discard a card with the Ranger or Scout trait for its power, you may recharge it instead.
□ You may use Survival instead of any skill to defeat a barrier (□ or to acquire an item).
□ You may recharge an item to add your Survival skill to your Stealth check.
□ After you banish a Divine spell for its power, draw a non-Attack Divine spell from the box, then discard it (□ or recharge it).
□ You may bury a card with the Animal trait to shuffle 1d4 cards from you discard pile into your deck.
Her second role is quite the opposite to the Lone Wolf. The Ambusher Shalelu embraces her role as Sandpoint's protector, and realizes she'll serve it best by playing nice with others.
Becoming Sandpoint's 'commander' of woodland skirmishes, she's able to forge the town militia into efficient guerrilla unit, staging deadly ambushes for any who would threaten her home. She has eyes, ears, and bows all over the forest.
Ever the consummate hunter, Shalelu knows that a good trap requires a tempting bait. She recognizes this sometimes means her own party members, but she'll swing in in the nick of time on an rope-arrow, getting the proverbial jump on an otherwise occupied enemy. She's also not above luring enemies herself – she'll often engage and then feign retreat, just so she can get her would-be pursuers right where she wants them!
Quote: Shalelu Andosana (Ambusher)
Worry not about the archer that blocks the forest path; worry about the ones that don't.
Powers
Hand Size 5 □6 □7
Proficient with Light Armors, Weapons
After you move, you may examine the top card of your new (□or old)(□or both) location deck.
If you're alone at your location, you may succeed a Stealth or Survival check with difficulty 6 plus the bane's adventure deck number to evade a monster.
□ When you would discard a card with the Ranger or Scout trait for its power, you may recharge it (□or put it on top of your deck) instead.
□ You may discard a weapon to add your Stealth skill to a combat check at your location.
□ You may recharge an ally to add 1d4 to any combat, Stealth or Survival check.
□ When another character flips over a monster, you may discard a weapon with the Bow trait to move.
□ When you would shuffle a non-villain monster into a location deck, you may put it under the top card of that deck instead.
So that's about my Shalelu. Any sort of feedback is welcome, paticularly in regards to balance, but also about how the different character flavors are handled (especially with the early PACG characters, I sometimes felt their role powers were just thrown in haphazardly, seldom corresponding to the supposed flavor of the character role; surprisingly enough, I found that this does affect my enjoyment and attachment to the character)

This just occurred to me while browsing the Obsidian forum, and I though there could potentially be a similar legal combination in the boardgame, so I'd ask:
Stride wrote: During your turn, discard this card to move another character Skulking Vampire wrote: Before you act, succeed at Wisdom Perception 16 or the difficulty to defeat is increased by 2, or by 4 if you're the only character at your location At what point does Stride become 'relevant' (i.e 'legal to play') in this encounter?
- Before you act? This is when the difficulty increase power is resolved, and when the potential increase 'happens' (if so - do I need to move another character before I roll Wisdom/Perception *without knowing* if I succeed/fail, or *after* - even though the BYA power has 'resolved')
- During your check? This where the potential difficulty increase is 'applied'
I find the second option more likely, as I feel like the failed BYA check doesn't 'set in stone' either a +2 or +4 penalty, but rather the increase is only calculated in the "Determine the difficulty" step. I can see the opposite argument however. (This is mainly important for combat casters, who won't be able to cast Stride if they used a spell to Determine Their Skill)
The MM AD6 henchman Shendakut has the power:
"BYA, attempt a... check. If you succeed, Shendakut is defeat"
So, if I succeed and have already defeat the monster - should I *still* go through its Divine/Combat check to defeat?
My RAW intuition is that I should (nothing tells me to skip them after all), but it doesn't really make much sense.
I think I've seen contradicting opinions, but can't find any definitive official ruling.
I'm asking in relation to monsters with "During the encounter, you may only play 1 card" (i.e. if I play weapon/spell for combat, am I allowed to also use character powers?)
In light of some recent FAQs designed to prevent funky stuff in the middle of an encounter, should perhaps Sirocco get on of those?
Currently, the timing of this effect (worded as part of the usual "For your combat check..." stuff) is very unclear:
"...Each other character at your location is dealt 1 Fire damage, and you may examine the top 2 cards of your location deck."
I would usually assume the Fire damage is dealt immeadiately, as part of the 'price' for playing the Sirocco. However, given Triggers, you may actually start another encounter in the middle of Attempting A Check...

At the time of RotR, which introduced the 4 original "cloud" spells (Toxic Cloud, Incendiary CLoud, Blizzard, Corrosive STorm), my understanding was that:
A) You could circumvent monsters' "Immune to Attack trait", if you displayed the Cloud on a previous encounter
B) You could benefit from the extra Cloud dice, even if you played a spell for your combat check
Then, with S&S we got the following FAQ:
Rulebook wrote: "Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it." So now, it would seem each time I want to add the "Cloud" dice to my check - I'm actually playing the Cloud spell itsef. The obvious repercussions are that:
- I can't add Cloud dice against "Immune to Attack" monster
- I can't add Cloud dice when playing spell on my check (as I'd violate the "1 card per type per check" rule)
Obviously, this fundamentally changes how the Clouds work (or I've been reading them wrong all along?!?), as well as their value for particular characters and builds (clouds become near-useless a casters)
Am I missing something? Is that how the CLouds work now, or they always (were supposed to) worked like that? Was this change intended when the FAQ was created, or is just an unfortunate consequence?

The card say:
"For your combat check, display this card ... While displayed, you may use the result of this check for any combat check you attempt..."
So, I've already displayed this card, and I encounter a new monster. What exactly happens?
- at what step of Attempting the Check do I use the Chain Lightning power?
- given the rule "Choosing to activate a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it." - I assume the counts as if I'm playing a spell on the check?
- I am NOT determining the skill for the check through the Chain Lightning - does that mean I don't add it's traits to the check? (thereby bypassing Attack/Electricity immunities)
- for that matter, I suppose I *must* determine my skill for the check - so am I in fact making a Strength/Melee check (or maybe even something else, if I play a card, and don't fight bare-handed), and therefore triggering any possible effects ("If the check has the Melee trait..."), while my Strength (or whatever) die gets overruled by the CL power
My current reading of the situation, counter-intuitive as it may be, is that, if I fight bare-handed:
- I'm making a Strength/Melee check, without rolling the Strength die, while playing a spell (and bypassing any spell-resistance) in my Modify the Check step of Attempt the Check
Does that sound about right, RAW? And is that what was the intent of it?
...or more specifically, the one that says:
"When you would discard a blessing the has the Abadar trait to add dice to a check, you may recharge it instead"
This power, on one of his Roles, suddenly changes to:
"...to add 1 or more dice to a check..."
Is this to imply that the original power only works if you add *multiple* dice through the blessing (i.e. if you don't play Abadar on a check to defeat a barrier - the power doesn't work) and the Keymaster role essentially gains a free "upgrade"?
...says:
"Bury this card to allow a character at your location to banish a displayed card with the Curse trait"
Should this be "a card with the Curse displayed next to her deck" ?
As is, you "allow a character" to banish *any displayed Curse at all* - at which point - what is the purpose of "allowing a character" instead of simply "Bury this card to banish a displayed card with the Curse trait." ??

...says:
Blessing of Khepri wrote: When you *would die*, banish this card to *instead* shuffle 1d4+1 random cards from your discard pile into your deck. Let's say I need to draw 6 cards to reset my hand, but I only have 3 in my deck. Do I:
- 1) draw in turn my last cards 1, 2 and 3; then I *should* draw card 4, i.e. I would die, but *instead* I heal with BoKhepri, so then I only draw cards 5 and 6 (so my "hand reset' yields 1 card less than usual)
- 2) draw together my last 3 cards; then I *should* draw the rest of the cards, i.e. I would die, but *instead* I heal with BoKhepri, so then I don't really draw any more cards ("hand reset' yields 3 card less than usual)
- 3) draw in turn my last cards 1, 2 and 3; then I *should* draw card 4, i.e. I would die, but *instead* I heal with BoKhepri, disregarding the 'die' condition; after I (would die/heal), I resume the "reset your hand" instruction, so I again try do draw card 4, 5, 6 etc. (so the "hand reset" yields the expected hand size number of cards)
Now, would your answer be different if you had to remove cards for reasons other than hand reset?
What wasn't immediately obvious to us, but seem kinda funky - if the right option is 1) or 3) - that means we can die 'twice' from the same condition (hand reset, forced deck examine, discard from top of your deck...), even if we sacrificed the BoKhepri to survive death; and the prevalent thinking in our group is that's not intended (i.e. Kherpi saves you from one condition, and one condition only, but it saves you *guaranteed*!).
A player insisted on second/third/etc. opinions because they disagreed with my reading of the situation, so:
One of LT Simoun's powers is:
"You may evade your encounter. If you do, move and end your turn."
Another power is:
"When you move, you may examine the top card of your location deck. If it is a monster, you may encounter it"
My questions are:
- if you evade - are you allowed to examine the top of your location after you move and before you end your turn?
- if YES to the above - are you then allowed to encounter an examined monster before you end your turn?
Can it be prevented? I'm asking for intent here, as RAW is pretty unambiguous.
I have a player that argues that there's no much point in the Trigger power's damage to be Electricity, unless it can be 'interacted' with (i.e. prevented in some shape and form), and that maybe QB's second power ("Damage dealt by QB may not be prevented") is probably a case of the RotR Giants, which had to be FAQ'd to "Damage dealt during the encounter..."
Thanks for the assist.

The Cultist Charioteers say (to the effect of):
"...when you encounter a card with a check to defeat or acquire, roll d6+d8 ... If the Charioteers' result is greater than your result, put the card into the Charioteers' stack. Otherwise, put it in your stack..."
The following questions were raised on our table;
1) How does the Charioteers power interact with Obsidian Golem, Fiery Glare, Key of the Second Vault? All of these cards let you banish the card you encounter.
- do you chose which power to apply first - so you chose to banish the encountered card, and you never get to roll for the Cultists or to put the banished card into a stack?
- if you chose/rule to apply the Cultists first (so you roll for their result), then you banish the encountered card - does no one get the card (because the remainder of the Cultists power becomes "impossible instruction"), or should the Cultists get it because you didn't generate a result (mind you, the banishing happens in When You Encounter, and before Attempt the Check - which step can ostensibly be seen as the trigger for the "If the Cultists' result is greater than the player's..." part of the Cultists power)?
2) How does the Charioteers power interact with auto-defeat/auto-acquire powers? We know those count as "succeeding at your check", however - does the player get the card, because there's no "player result" that the Charioteers can beat; OR do the Charioteers get the card, because the player didn't generate a result, so it's assumed the Charioteers beat it?
3) What happens with cards without checks to defeat/acquire? Do we treat them normally (i.e. they get banished/displayed/added to player hands), OR does the "...When you encounter card with a check to defeat or acquire ... Otherwise, put the card in your stack..." condition means that you automatically get into your stack cards without check?
|