Kamiizumi Nobutsuna's page
36 posts. Organized Play character for woody357.
|


Here is Aid another Rule
CRB wrote: You can help someone achieve success on a skill check by making the same kind of skill check in a cooperative effort. If you roll a 10 or higher on your check, the character you’re helping gets a +2 bonus on his or her check. (You can’t take 10 on a skill check to aid another.) In many cases, a character’s help won’t be beneficial, or only a limited number of characters can help at once.
In cases where the skill restricts who can achieve certain results, such as trying to open a lock using Disable Device, you can’t aid another to grant a bonus to a task that your character couldn’t achieve alone. The GM might impose further restrictions to aiding another on a case-by-case basis as well.
My confusion is "you can’t aid another to grant a bonus to a task that your character couldn’t achieve alone."
As I talk to other player, we got some argumentation.
(The skill is Disable Device)
Player A said :In Aid another, it's mean you need to trained in Disable Device, because this skill must trained so that you can use it, and so that you can Aid Another.
Player B said :No, it's just mean you can't Aid Another on a task that already requires multiple people to work together.
My point of view are : Ummm...I think it's more restricted, any situation that "couldn’t achieve alone" are included.
If you roll N20 and add your bonus but you still can't achieve the task DC by yourself, it's "couldn’t achieve alone", so you can't Aid Another on this task。
If you want to Aid Another a rouge Disable Device a magic trap, because you don't have a [trapfinding class feature], you couldn’t achieve alone, so you can't Aid Another on this task。
And, of course, it's includes Player A & B's situation.
-------------------
Is there something wrong with our interpretation?
Or can someone give us more specific examples about this rule?
Have any FAQ or offical resource can refer?
Thanks!

As a GM, what do you think about "get benefit from background story" beyond the game mechanics?
This story from my community's GM
A few weeks ago, he ran a session 0 and said every players should write 150 words background story so that he can use these story to layout some flavor to each player, he also said each player can choose a magic item freely according their background story.
Recently, one of his player gave the character sheet, a level 2 wizard, have a
Ancient archmage teacher and gave he a "ROBE OF THE ARCHMAGI(75000gp)"
Needless to say, this item is too powerful, so the GM let the player choose another one and give a limit.
I also experienced similar situation, some of players wants to write a gorgeous backstory not just to rich their character,but also want to get benefit on game mechanics or gameplay course, like "I have done many different jobs, so even I can't make knowledge check, according rule, but I certainly know who can help us in this town, right? No Diplomacy or other check."
What do you think of it and what do you deal with it?

Ability link:
Universalist Wizard
https://2e.aonprd.com/ArcaneSchools.aspx?ID=9
DRAIN BONDED ITEM
https://2e.aonprd.com/Actions.aspx?ID=13
BOND CONSERVATION
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=648
HAND OF THE APPRENTICE
http://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=530
Potency Crystal
https://2e.aonprd.com/Equipment.aspx?ID=231
[hr]
Question 1: If I am a Lv5 wizard, I had used 1st spell slot to cast a Magic Missile spell, can I use DRAIN BONDED ITEM action cast Magic Missile Heightened version? (spell level 3rd)
Question 2: If I am a Lv 9 Universalist wizard and have BOND CONSERVATION class feat.
Today I prepare Magic Missile on 1st spell slot and I had already cast it, so next enconter can I
Round one:
[F]DRAIN BONDED ITEM
[A]BOND CONSERVATION
[AA]Magic Missile (5th version)
Round two:
[F]DRAIN BONDED ITEM
[A]BOND CONSERVATION
[AA]Magic Missile (3rd version)
Round three:
[F]DRAIN BONDED ITEM
[A]BOND CONSERVATION
[AA]Magic Missile (1st version)
Like a chain?
Question 3: Hand of the Apprentice said
"On a success, you deal the weapon's damage as if you had hit with a melee Strike..."
So can I affixing a POTENCY CRYSTAL to my staff than Activate it when I use HAND OF THE APPRENTICE? (this focus spell have attack trait and said as if you had hit with a melee Strike)
further, any ability need melee Strike be a Trigger or Prerequisites, does Hand of the Apprentice satisfy?
But the MAS write
"so long as the feat or ability doesn't require a single, specific Strike."
ONE-INCH PUNCH need "Make an[a single] unarmed[specific] Strike[Strike]."
Does MONASTIC ARCHER STANCE can use the ONE-INCH PUNCH feat?
MONASTIC ARCHER STANCE
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=1734
It's said "...You can use your other monk feats or monk abilities that normally require unarmed attacks with these bows when attacking within half the first range increment (normally 50 feet for a longbow and 30 feet for a shortbow), so long as the feat or ability doesn't require a single, specific Strike."
Some people say that the meaning "a single, specific Strike." here is specifically to feats like "Crane Flutter:make a crane wing Strike" (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=450)
But the ONE-INCH PUNCH said "You put all your force into a single mighty, carefully controlled blow.
ONE-INCH PUNCH
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=1742
So, does MONASTIC ARCHER STANCE can use ONE-INCH PUNCH feat?
Blindness
https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=26
Source Core Rulebook pg. 321 1.1
Traditions arcane, divine, occult, primal
Bloodline hag
Cast Two Actions somatic, verbal
Range 30 feet; Targets 1 creature
Saving Throw Fortitude
You blind the target. The effect is determined by the target's Fortitude save. The target then becomes temporarily immune for 1 minute.
Critical Success The target is unaffected.
Success The target is blinded until its next turn begins.
Failure The target is blinded for 1 minute.
Critical Failure The target is blinded permanently.
--------------------------
If there are 3 creatures and their initiative order are A→B→C. Today, the first round ,A cast Blindness to B, then B's saving throw result are "Success" , then B's turn begin.
My question is: When will Blindness end? In round 1,time to B's turn begin?
Or round 2,time to B's turn begin?
Thanks
Hi ,JJ
One of my player chose a Elf Heritages called"Cavern Elf"
And I never heard this(I think they are not the drows), and I can't found any setting about them in PF1 setting.
So I just assume they are elves living in the Cavern.
Does "Cavern Elf" have any story or setting I haven't find?
Thanks you.

I was confuse a PF2 feat:Courtly Graces
------------------------------------------------------------
You were raised among the nobility or have learned proper etiquette and bearing, allowing you to present yourself as a noble and play games of influence and politics. You can use Society to Make an Impression on a noble, as well as with Impersonate to pretend to be a noble if you aren’t one. If you want to impersonate a specific noble, you still need to use Deception to Impersonate normally, and to Lie when necessary.
------------------------------------------------------------
Does this mean if I don't choose this feat, and you will never use Society to Make an Impression on a noble or use Deception to Impersonate?
Is this skill feat means "If you don't choose me, you can't do this"?
This is weird for me.
For example, a character grow in a noble family, learning lots of noble's knowledge, but for some reason he was framed to be a prisoner.
Three years, almost everyday he wants to revenage, just like Edmond Dantès.
For this character, I choose PRISONER BACKGROUND for him , because noble's life was not so important, but framed and be a prisoner made him now.
And now, in a noble's party, this character wants to use Society to Make an Impression on a noble, I think this is reasonable, for he has such backstory.
And then, GM said:you can't do this, because you don't have the "Courtly Graces" skill feat.
.......???

Hi, JJ
I was confuse a PF2 feat:Courtly Graces
------------------------------------------------------------
You were raised among the nobility or have learned proper etiquette and bearing, allowing you to present yourself as a noble and play games of influence and politics. You can use Society to Make an Impression on a noble, as well as with Impersonate to pretend to be a noble if you aren’t one. If you want to impersonate a specific noble, you still need to use Deception to Impersonate normally, and to Lie when necessary.
------------------------------------------------------------
Does this mean if I don't choose this feat, and I will never use Society to Make an Impression on a noble or use Deception to Impersonate?
Is this skill feat means "If you don't choose me, you can't do this"?
This is weird for me.
For example, a character grow in a noble family, learning lots of noble's knowledge, but for some reason he was framed to be a prisoner.
Three years, almost everyday he wants to revenage, just like Edmond Dantès.
For this character, I choose PRISONER BACKGROUND for him , because noble's life was not so important, but framed and be a prisoner made him now.
And now, in a noble's party, this character wants to use Society to Make an Impression on a noble, I think this is reasonable, for he has such backstory.
And then, GM said:you can't do this, because you don't have the "Courtly Graces" skill feat.
.......???
Hi, JJ
I recently read "Classic Monsters Revisited" and "monster codex" for gnoll's research.
But there's something confused me.
In "Classic Monsters Revisited, p.12." It's said"Gnolls live in small, aggressive bands of raiders and hunters brought together and ruled by a large, powerful male"
In "Monster Codex, p.91." It's said"The gnoll pack is a multilayered structure based on competing for dominance, with one alpha—typically the largest and most powerful female gnoll—at its apex."
So, which one is correct? Gnoll typically ruled by the male or female?
Why there have two different answers? Just a mistake or the author is Volo(haha)?
Thank you so much.

This feat, Covering Fire, appear in Ranged Tactics Toolbox and Villain Codex.
Here is RTT's version
Covering Fire (Combat, Teamwork)
You distract your enemies with ranged attacks to protect
your allies.
Prerequisite: Point-Blank Shot.
Benefit: You can use the aid another action with a
ranged attack against an opponent, regardless of whether
the opponent threatens an ally. Range penalties apply to
this attack roll. Choose one ally when making the attack.
If the attack is successful, that ally gains a +2 bonus to AC
against that opponent’s next attack, as long as the attack
comes before the beginning of your next turn. All allies
with this feat also gain this bonus against that opponent.
Here is VC's version
Your shot can put an enemy off guard, giving your teammates
the opportunity to act.
Prerequisites: Exotic Weapon Proficiency (firearms)UC,
Weapon Focus (at least one firearm).
Benefit: When you hit a foe with a firearm for which
you have Weapon Focus, that creature takes a –2 penalty
on attack rolls for 1 round against any other ally that also has this feat; this changes to a –4 penalty on attacks
of opportunity. The penalty applied by this feat does not
stack with itself. However, if both you and an ally with this
feat attack the same foe, you can cover each other (since a
penalty you impose with this feat doesn’t apply to attacks
against you).
VC's version after RTT so there only one feat and VC is newest?
Or just a mistake that two different feat have a same name?
My player want to play a monk and use the FLURRY OF BLOWS with his
"DICK"
Since DICK is part of your body.......jesus christ.......
Can Paizo change this sentence?

At first, I think this should use "Specific supersedes general" rule,too.
But when I read its example:
Quote:
For example, when attacking a concealed creature you must attempt a flat check against DC 5, and flat checks never have modifiers, bonuses, or penalties, but an ability specifically designed to overcome concealment might still alter your odds.
and I found an ability, it's a "ROGUE FEAT", called "SNIPER’S AIM"
Quote:
Until the end of your turn, you treat creatures within 30 feet
of you as though they weren’t concealed when you make Strikes with ranged weapons against them.
This make me confused. In this case, you can altering flat check because there is a feat give you a "power" so that you can ignore
the general rule.
But in Asleep, it's just said:
"...you can attempt a Perception check as a free action..."
Sure, you can make a Perception check as a free action (like "you can spend a free action to make a Perception check to wake" ), I admit,
but you CAN"T TAKE FREE ACTION, do you?
In page 305
Step 2: Act
「...... If you can’t act, you can’t use actions, activities, reactions, or free actions.」
And in Page 320
「...... If there is loud noise going on around you, at the start of your turn you can attempt a Perception check as a free action......」
emmmm....so, do I have a free action?
Or it's just a Bug?
Hey,JJ
How do you think about "Pay-to-play" in pathfinder?
I started to play the pathfinder TRPG nearly two years, and I usually use the Roll20 be our stage.
Recently, Roll20 have much of "Pay-to-play" game,I felt strange, this doesn't mean all game should be free(although), but this phenomenon let me starts thinking "Does GMing can be a job?"
So, have you ever pay for a game? (Not for book, Rent expense, food & drink , but for GM)
Have you be a GM and claim the charge?
Thank you!
Hi, JJ, I have a question about "Concordance of Elements (faction)"
In PFwiki, it's said "The Concordance is an ancient and diverse organization"
But our chinese translator called it"均衡教派" Which in english, it's means "A religious denomination which dedicated to balance"
"Does The Concordance is/belongs a religion?"
"Using the term 「religious denomination」to this organization, right or fault?"
"Does 「均衡教派」able to convey the organization clearly enough?"
Hi, Mr.Jacobs
In setting, when anyone use Spell-Like Abilities(Sp),Supernatural Abilities(Su) or Extraordinary Abilities (Ex) , Will any special signs show up?
For example, a Cleric use its Luck Domain ability "Good Fortune" on
a Diplomacy check , will the NPC notice that?
thanks you.
Hi Mr.Jacobs
I play PFS rule and a player told me "In PFS, you can also play Modules, but Modules doesn't design for PFS, so Modules are more difficult for PFS character."
So, does these Modules design for? 25buy or more? More gold? just like
my friend said it's "too difficult for PFS chatacter and design for 25buy" or not?
If not, which are these Modules standard?
Thanks.
So , it was a very interesting thing when I was kicked out from a PFS group.
This is just a game and everyone has their own way to play the game.
But when some people think that PFS should be done in my way, should be my way to play after the things began to weird up.
Has nothing to do with official guidelines and FAQ.
If someone doesn't conform to the group's values (for example: drop Ability Score,a game have more than 6 token and so on) they will ridicule you, accuse you and kicked you.
The reason is: They think PFS should not have these things.
I understand :this is your personal values, then I can understand and accept; the group is built by you and you have your rule of course no problem.
But I don't understand: Is this the core purpose of this game? Is this the mainstream style of the game or the mainstream value of it?
They think: Yes.
Can Skald's "War Painter"Archetypes and "Red Tongue" Archetypes use together?
The spell: Entangle
Area : plants in a 40-ft.-radius spread
Can I decrease its affected Area to 15ft or 10 ft?
Kamiizumi Nobutsuna wrote: Gallant Armor wrote: I would consider close spells that list 25 ft. + 5 ft./level to be a mistake and use the core 25 ft. + 5ft/2CL.
The only spell I could find with close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level) is this listing for Sotto Voce, but it is 25+5/2CL here.
Actually, lots.
In "Villain codex" P.212 ,there have a spell call "Hoodwink"
This situation appear lots of time so that I have this problem. And another one.
In Blood of Shadows, a spell call "shadow trap" write
"close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level) "
Are these all error?

Tonya Woldridge wrote: Addressing several points found in the thread...
For PFS games, the rulings of prior management stand unless revoked by newer posts. Current decisions are made by the entire PFS team (John, Linda, and myself) with assistance from others in the office as needed. These rulings are for PFS only. We are in no way setting parameters for the Pathfinder RPG as a whole. Think of PFS as the game and the PFS leadership as the GM. We make rulings based on what is best for our campaign. When running PFS scenarios as part of an organized play campaign, you need to follow the rulings set out in the A/R, Campaign Clarifications, and FAQ.
Which brings me to another point raised in the thread. No, Linda is not the keeper of the Golarion FAQ. Once the PFS team decides in a direction, Linda writes the text to include on the Campaign Clarifications doc. FAQ updaters refer to the PFS Campaign Clarifications and sometimes adopt an answer, since there is no need to re-invent the wheel. But that doesn't put Linda, or anyone on the PFS team, involved in making Golarion wide decisions.
Finally designer versus developer. Both have their spheres of influence and both are important to the Pathfinder RPG. Please don't let a person's job tag take away or add weight to a discussion. Instead, look to the question at hand and take all opinions, weigh them, then make your decision as GM. Designers and developers make the framework on which you hang your story. Don't sweat if your story varies from another GMs. As long as the players know what to expect, proceed to maximum fun. Of course, this is referring to the rules and a home game. For PFS games see paragraph one :P )
Finally, we are working on an update to the PFS FAQ, along with all other tasks. It will get done, but must be juggled with all other PFS related activity. This is a fine balancing act, like an acrobat juggling plates, and gets reassessed on a frequent basis so that we keep everything in motion. Have hope, just look at how much progress we...
Thank you! Again and again!

In "PATHFINDER SOCIETY ROLEPLAYING GUILD GUIDE" (Season 8) P.6
"The player can use the pregenerated character’s funds—including selling her gear at half price—to pay for these spellcasting services. In addition, the player can contribute the associated Roleplaying Guild character’s resources (gp and Prestige Points) to this end.
The Roleplaying Guild character must contribute a minimum amount of gp before spending the pregenerated character’s wealth in this way, depending on her level: 0 gp for a 1st-level pregenerated character, 1,000 gp for 4th-level, and 2,000 gp for 7th-level."
One time, I use a Pregenerated Characters and sold its weapon, wants to bought some scroll and Adventuring Gear ,
but my GM said "You can't sold its equipment to buy new item"
"Why? The PG just said buy「spellcasting services」, not scroll or other gear"
"I remember a PFS's leadship said you can't...but I forgot where......"
My question is : Can I sold Pregenerated Character's equipment and buy scroll or other equipment?
or my GM are right, but where the rule?
Gallant Armor wrote: I would consider close spells that list 25 ft. + 5 ft./level to be a mistake and use the core 25 ft. + 5ft/2CL.
The only spell I could find with close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level) is this listing for Sotto Voce, but it is 25+5/2CL here.
Actually, lots.
In "Villain codex" P.212 ,there have a spell call "Hoodwink"
This situation appear lots of time so that I have this problem.
Some spells, their Range are [close] but the () write "25 ft. + 5 ft./ levels"
In Corebook, [close] is "25+5/2CL", so it's just a mistake of print?
or the spell is just work that book's write?
Terminalmancer wrote: I'll post my list in a little bit. Sounds like a fun lunch project. Happily, it's lunchtime. Just need to acquire said lunch, first.
Perhaps if we combine our lists, our ultimate Pathfinder rules power will be revealed?
(To be honest, I mostly get my bookmarks from links other people post. We might have a lot of duplicates.)
I agree.
So, I still confusd.
I "should" follow SKR, jason...'s word.
OR
I make the rule more "clear" by their word.
Different between them are "Should or not"
If in PF, I can ask my GM.
But in PFS, GM "should" follow the rule, no matter personal will.

Lau Bannenberg wrote: The goal in PFS is that you can take your character, play with lots of different people, and have no bad surprises because everyone plays with the same rules.
When it comes to stuff on the forums, there are three groups of things:
1) The rulebooks, FAQs, the PFS Guide, the Clarifications and the Additional Resources. Those are the rules and you need to follow them.
2) Rulings made by Pathfinder Society leadership,, in the PFS forum. You have to follow those rulings in PFS.
3) Developer comments that aren't published as FAQ. Those aren't rules, those are people having a discussion, perhaps helping to clarify. One exception is that sometimes an FAQ is posted in a forum thread as a response to that thread; follow-up comments in that thread by designers are more important because they help to answer any remaining questions about the FAQ.
So developer answers in general aren't official rulings. They're people too, and sometimes want to have a discussion about the pros and cons of an idea without everyone running away and saying they ruled this or that. They use a special forum avatar to make official pronouncements so there should not be confusion whether they're just discussing.
About 2) Who are leadership?
http://paizo.com/pathfindersociety/coordinators/volunteer
Does this staff are all leadership? If not, who?
About 3)
Qiestion: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ln8z?Can-a-Life-Oracle-with-Channeling-take#30
Should I follow "Sean K Reynolds(Contributor)" word?
He doesn't posted on the PFS forum , so it's just a reference, and I correct?
I casting a Vine Strike for a fighter, and he attacks a creature
who have SR.
My question is: Does the fighter should pass the creature's SR
so that the Vine Strike effect can work?
In my View :the "Vine Strike" have SR:Yes. But it's just I casting for
anyone who can have a chance to resistance.
Thanks Diego Rossi, I will remember that.
And thanks of all.
|
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
Written before my question:
If any word that I used wrong or political correctness
please forgive,I am not good at English.
Hello,Mark.
I have a question,hoping you could describe more clearly.
Vigilante Archetype:Warlock's Mystic Bolts
"Abilities that affect all weapon attacks the warlock makes, such as the arcane striker warlock talent, function with mystic bolts."
Does that means a feat "should" use on all type ,can also use on the Mystic Bolts?
If the answer is "Yes",such as "Rapid Shot" or "Deadly Aim" or "weapon Finesse" CAN'T use on mystic bolts? Because Rapid Shot and Deadly Aim
could just use on Ranged Weapons; weapon Finesse could just use on Melee Weapons.
According to
Logan Bonner (Designer)
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sdkw?Mystic-bolt-and-arcane-strike#1
Mark Seifter (Designer)
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sddd?Warlock-TWF-and-Mystic-Bolt#1
Both of them said "No"
But my friend said: Look at the date,it's a playtest,now we should
follow the UI write, because it was public on 2016.
So,is it correct?
Quote:
Human (25 point buy)
Str 12, Dex 16+2, Con 12, Int 16, Wis 10, Cha 10
Feats:
1: Weapon Finesse, Two-Weapon Fighting (Human Bonus)
2: Lethal Grace talent, retrain WF into Point Blank Shot
3: Rapid Shot
5: Weapon Focus (Starknife)
6: Returning Weapon talent
7: Martial Focus (Starknife)
9: Quick Draw
11: Ricochet Toss, retrain Returning talent for Unexpected Strike talent, retrain redundant Quick Draw for Deadly Aim
12: Arcane Striker talent
13: Ranged Feint
15: ??
17: ??
18: Cunning Feint talent
19: ??
20: ??
You can see those pages
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sdkw?Mystic-bolt-and-arcane-strike#1
Logan Bonner (Designer)
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sddd?Warlock-TWF-and-Mystic-Bolt#1
Mark Seifter (Designer)
Both of them said that feat like "Rapid Shot" can't use on Mystic-bolt;and TWF multiple bolts also.
so...I hope the message would't be too late.
|