
RP. |
If a person has acted in a surprise round (i.e. no longer flat footed), do they get a reaction? The situation is, the PC has moved right up to an enemy, and the enemy is about to cast a spell. If the PC has a reaction, the spell would trigger an AoO.
The rule says, "combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents can each take either a standard or move action during the surprise round. Characters can also take swift actions during the surprise round."
A reaction is described as a "special action."
I read together, I read the surprise rule as being exhaustive of all possible actions that may be taken, and the reaction rule classifying a reaction as a "special" action, but an "action" nonetheless.
It just seems excessive to me for someone to be able to be able to take two actions in a surprise round in the normal course.