Franc Crosses's page

21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


The rules for grapple say that starting a grapple provokes an AoO. Does this still apply if the attacking creature is invisible (invisibility spell)?


Lifat wrote:
Are wrote:

Swallow whole would be a horrible ability if the swallowed creature could simply full attack the creature itself from within (as the stomach's AC would virtually always be lower than the creature's normal AC).

IMO, it's those two things, only.

Swallow whole on the big tank should hurt imo. Swallow whole on the wizard? Sucks to be that wizard.

Besides. You still get all the negative stuff of being grappled and you get automatic damage on the victim AND if the victim doesn't have a light weapon on him, then even the tank could be in trouble.

Swallow all if it doesn't allow to do damage the inside not only with light slashing or pircing weapons, is OVERKILLING!

Take only this example(played yesterday):
Rise of the Runelords - Spires of Xin-Shalast - Pinnacle of Avarice
Encounter with Viorian and 3 Wardens of Thunder.
Druid summons a T-Rex; T-Rex attacks a giant; oooopps giant gone; the next one; ooops gone too. (Not to mention that instead of the giants could have been Viorian itself).
Mmm if a CR9 that can easily kills 3 CR14 and 1 CR18 is not overkilling, I can't imagine what could it be...

Swallow all, if it is really not possible to damage the inside other than with a light slashing or pircing weapon, can practically kill every enemy that doen't have a dagger listed in their equipment, from the weakest to the adventure boss!


In the incorporeal description it is said "... Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source..."

What is/isn't a corporeal source?

Do for ex. fireball, call lightning, cone of cold, lightning bolt and generally spells with an energy descriptor, half or full damage?


Is it possible to cast banishment/dismissal on a druid when he is wild-shaped into an elemental?


Ascalaphus wrote:

"Opponent: You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless."

Seems pretty clear to me.

If you think the opponent may be inclined to let you past, you could try an Overrun maneuver, and see if he'll let you.

The opponent in question is invisible and won't let you step into him (see last sentence in the question)...


Zaister wrote:
The movement itself does not provoke attacks of opportunity – because it's not actually movement, but teleportation. Concentrating to activate the spell-like ability does.

Ok, but what is the need to specify that? In all other teleportation spells/effects it is not specify that "teleportating away" doesn't provoke an AoO...


Can you move through squares occupied by an opponent if he allows you?

The rules only says:

Moving Through a Square

You can move through an unoccupied square without difficulty in most circumstances. ...

Opponent: You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares. ...

But if he voluntarily allows you, why couldn't you be allowed?

The trigger for this question is the following situation:

A player is going from A to B where between A and B there is a large invisible creature with reach 5. The approaching wouldn't let the creature do an AoO, but if he allows the player to pass by, than he would be able to do it, or not?


Does a dimensional step provoke any attack of opportunity?

From the rules:

Dimensional Steps (Sp)

At 8th level, you can use this ability to teleport up to 30 feet per wizard level per day as a standard action. This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity. You can bring other willing creatures with you, but you must expend an equal amount of distance for each additional creature brought with you.

However using a SP does provoke an AoO...

What is the movement that doesn't provoke an AoO referred in the description?


Oladon wrote:

No. This is a rule that's specific to combat maneuvers. Please see the PRD here.

Combat Maneuvers: Performing a Combat Maneuver wrote:
When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver.

Ok. Thank you!


Hello,
In the SORD - System Operational Reference Digest (http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kxj5?SORD-PF-10-Released) under Combat maneuvres I can read for ex.

Bull Rush standard action one size category larger or less or part of a charge
1 - Resolve AoO - Resolve AoO from the target. The Improved Bull Rush feat (or similar ability) avoids drawing AoO.
2 - Roll - Subtract any target’s AoO damage on the roll.
3 - Effect - Success: Push the target back 5 feet plus 5 more feet for each 5 by which the roll exceeds the CMD. You can move with the target if you have movement left. Fail: Your move ends in front of the target. ØØ You cannot bull rush a target into a solid square or obstacle.

Now, my question is:

if you take an action that causes an AoO, do you have to subtract the eventually taken damage from the subsequent roll for that action(see point 2.)?

If yes, does this apply too to the case where I move away from a threatened square, causing an AoO, to attack a creature? Do I have to subtract the damage from the AoO from my next attack roll?

I searched the Core Manual, but didn't find anything about that...

Franc


No one has an hint?


When an air elemental goes whirlwind and trap someone inside it, how do ranged attacks to the trapped creature work?
Can the creature be targetted with ranged attacks/rays?
Does it have total concealment (the air elemental is all around it...).

Than you
Franc


How does it work when someone is blinded and makes ranged attacks? Is it possible? Is it somewhere described?

Thanx
Juza


Reading "wildshape" and "elemental body", it seam to me that the druid doesn't gain the tremorsense ability at all. Darkvision yes, but tremorsense is not listetd in the list of abilities a wildshaped druid gains wildshaping into an earth elemental(or am I wrong?).

If that's true, now the question:

what/where can he see with darkvision, but not tremorsense?


Dennis Baker wrote:


... Obviously there is no line of sight, you similarly have no line of sight when you step into another room. It is a defensive aspect to the ability, not offensive.

But if you even don't have line of sight, that is not a big problem. There are only a couple of spells you can't cast without line of sight...


Lincoln Hills wrote:

Here's my understanding of the rules, Franc:

If [an earthgliding elemental] is inside of a wall, can he see/hear what's happening in an adjacent room? The character wouldn't be able to see anything (not even with echolocation, blindsight or true seeing: there's dirt directly in line of sight). Tremorsense would function normally. Hearing might be slightly impeded (GM's call), but fairly loud noises like combat are liable to be audible as long as the character was adjacent to an air-filled space. Stone's actually a pretty good conductor of sound.

Although if he's in an adjacent square of the room?

______
|..........|
|..........|X
|..........|
|..........|
| __ __|

Can [an earthgliding elemental] cast... into an adjacent room? No. Line of effect and line of sight are both blocked. It's entirely a GM's call whether you can even speak while encased in stone: Silent Spell might be necessary. But it's an equally valid interpretation to say that elementals, who don't have vocal cords anyway, don't have that limitation.

Again although if he's in an adjacent square of the room?

Besides, the driud has the feat "Natural spell" (avoid speaking, gesturing while casting in wildshape).

Can [an earthgliding elemental] emerge... cast a spell and then go back into the wall? Not ordinarily: moving (even a 5-foot shift) uses up the move action, and casting is a standard action. Anything that grants the character an extra move or standard action would make the tactic possible, as would a Quickened spell.

In the "incorporeal" description is mentioned "the creature must emerge", but I don't find what this does exatly mean and (if it is an action) what kind of action it is...


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

A druid which is wild-shaped (elemental body) into an earth elemental has the ability "earth glide". I have a couple of questions regarding this:

- If he's inside of a wall, can he see/hear what's happening in an adjacent room?
- Can he cast (while he's inside of the wall) into an adjacent room?
- Can he emerge(what exactly that means?), cast a spell and then go back inside the wall?

Thank you
Franc


Ambrus wrote:

Do you mean ready-to-draw or simply carried?

If you mean the former, then an archer could likely carry one quiver on each hip and two more quivers across his back with a proper harness. Doesn't leave much room for backpacks or belt pouches though.

Mmm, I don't really see an archer moving around in a battle with so many quivers on him and fire arrows with a dexterity of a gazelle...

Quote:


As for the efficient quiver, I contend that there's no reason the other two compartments couldn't be crammed with additional arrows rather than the spears, javelins and bows mentioned in the item's description. If it has nothing besides arrows, I'd say that an efficient quiver could likely hold as many as 180 arrows.

The description says "The second slightly longer compartment ... The third and longest portion of the case..."

If before retrieving an arrow you have to search/reach for it, it' not very useful...


What would be a realistic number of arrows an archer can have/carry/bring with him? Dozens or hundreds?

Thank you
Franc


in the spell description is said that "the surface of the sphere has a spongy, yielding consistency".

So the sphere has some "consistency". Can she be moved/kicked away?

Thank you
Franc


It is possible to do a deadly aim attack if you don't have line of sight with the target (let's say he's under a curtain)?

And more generelly if he has cover?

Thank you
Franc