Search Posts
Hi all, So for Sajan’s Power:
So we had this scenario happen: We encountered an Ancient Skeleton Story Bane and before acting, each of us had to suffer one combat damage. Sanjan reduced it by 1 with her Power. Then the monk fought the skeleton and took 2 more combat damage and wanted to use its power again to reduce that new combat damage by 1. Thus she used its power twice to reduce 2 damage overall. The question here: is that allowed (using the power each time in that sequence)? To me, it seemed a little OP to be able to use that combat damage reduction power twice. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben
Hi all, Just got the 2nd Edition PAC game and we’re trying it tonight. I’m giving Lini 2.0 a whirl. Her combat power says: “For your combat check, you may bury or recharge an Animal ally to use survival +1d4 Plus the card’s level and add the animal and melee traits.” My question is when I go to recharge an animal ally, do I get the power off that animal card that I’m recharging (say the Porcupine which gives me 1d8 to the check) or do I just recharge it without getting any of that animal ally’s card stats? I think it works like so: I recharge the Porcupine for the 1d8 which also then let’s me use my survival 1d4 for melee. Thus, my roll would be a d10, survival wisdom +3 and 1d8 for the combat roll to beat the monster I just drew. Thanks in advance, Ben
Hi guys, Drew the Ring of the Godless which says, “recharge this card to gain the skill Divine: Wisdom +2.” So the question at the table is do we just add the +2 or do we ALSO add the wisdom die (in this case a d8 for our cleric) to the roll? So +2 or d8+2 to use the ring? Thanks in advance for the friendly knowledgeable share, Ben and the gang
Hi All, So we encountered the pesky Collapsing Scaffolding trap in Mummy’s Mask. It has two checks: a four and then a seven check. Our question here is, let’s say we fail the first check (rolled a 1) so we missed it by three...so do we then take 3 damage? She made the second check. https://paizo.com/image/content/PathfinderACG/PZO6030-CollapsingScaffolding .jpg Or do we only take damage on per the text on the bottom of the card. I have this memory in my head that traps are like combat monsters, if you miss the check, you take the difference in damage. But maybe we have that wrong. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +1, Ben and the gang
Hi guys, For Ahmotep's ability:
My question is: let's say she misses a check by 3, can she discard two cards in order to get +4 so that she would then succeed at the check? Or, is she limited to just discarding a single card and getting a max of +2? We've been playing it where she has been able to discard multiple cards. Thanks in advance for the help, Ben
Hi all, Good grief! The Evening at the Canny Jackal scenario in Mummy's Mask was silly hard for our five-character group. You have to have 21 cards between your deck, hand and discard pile. Tough just with that but that Zombie Henchman also makes u bury a card if u don't kill it with electricity! We didn't even get close on the first try. And almost none of us can invoke the electricity trait:( Did any of you have trouble with this one? Got any tips? Ben and the gang
Hi all, We're trying to understand a Simoun Power Feat... The feat says: "add your percecption skill to your check to defeat a barrier that has the Obstacle or Trap trait." Her Dexterrity is a D12 and has a Disable: Dex +1.
So let's say she encounters a trap and needs to use the disable skill... She would roll a d12, +1 for her disable skill and then add what?????? Our guess is: d12, +1 disable/dex, d8, +2. We're seeing this sort of power feat as a thing in the Mummy's Mask game a lot and we're getting tripped up. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben
Hey guys, That Dry Quick Sand elite barrier is pretty wacky. It reads... "If undefeated, display this card next to your location and shuffle your token card into your location deck. When your token is returned to the location, banish this card." We think this means that the trap sticks around in the deck around until the character token card is encountered or somone defeats it next time the barrier is drawn. Are we interpreting it right? Thanks for the wisdom +2, Ben and the gang
Hi guys, Santa brought Mummy's Mask for us and we're picking characters. I want to pick Ahmotep because of her weapon/arcane combo but I am really puzzled on how this one particular power works. "When you would discard a spell for a power that has the Staff trait, you may recharge it instead." When on earth would I ever discard a spell for a power that the staff trait. We looked at a bunch of staff cards and couldn't really find any examples of where this comes into play. Huge thanks in advance for providing any clarity here, Ben
Hi all, We're fighting the Heart of the Fane Villain. We're doing the part where you have to encounter Vulture Demon Henchman (a tricky fight as it can prevent weapons if fail it's Con check). But here's the question: Adowyn's power says:
Can Adowyn discard four cards and allow the other four characters in the party to each evade the Vulture Demon? Or, can she only use that feat for one character? Note: we played it where she discarded four and all four of us evaded that darn buzzard. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +3, Ben (and Abby)
Hi guys, We just beat henchman Ursathella at a location...it has this text: "If defeated, you may discard a card from the blessings deck to immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from." But why is this text here? We beat the Henchman so don't we automatically get to attempt to close it? No need to discard a blessings card, right? Thanks in advance for the wisdom +3. Ben (and Abby)
Hi all, I'm a bit stumped on the Knight's Pennon card. So someone in the party encountered a monster and I displayed it. That character beat the monster. His turn is then over. Now what the heck do I do with this custume jewelry item?:) The card reads: "When any character encounters a monster, display this card. While displayed, when any character attempts a combat check, add 1; add an additional 1 if any character reveals an ally that has the Capatin, Hierling or solider trait. If any character fails a check to defeat a bane, bury this card; if proficient with heavy armors, recharge this card instead of burying it." So to me it sounds like, this item goes back in my hand at the end of the turn but I'm honestly unsure. Thanks in advance for the help, Ben and Abby
Hi guys, We just finished the Fallen Fane scenario. The reward is "one character may redeem a card." Our question is d we have to be holding the chosen card t redeem? Or can we pick a corrupted card on the list that none of us have yet? Right now our group only has one corrupted card: a monkey's paw. We're not super jazzed about redeeming it. Would rather pick something we might get later like the Stalker's Crossbow. Thanks in advance for the assist. Ben
Good grief, you guys!!! It's insanely hard:( Why? Well...(for our party of five characters and seven locations) All the monsters start at the top of each location deck.
Vescavor Swarm Henchman: if you play a weapon banish it (ugh). And you have to defeat the henchman by 6 [4 + 2 (adventure deck #)]. So that makes it a 17 to close a location! Right? And there are a ton of barriers in the scenario. And the Abysal Rift keeps flipping to open. And the Villian is a difficulty 20. We're on our third try and the first two games weren't even close. What are we missing?
Hi all, We noticed that The Worldwind Incursion has a lot of Scale loot as the reward for each scenario. Two of the four scales are pretty good but the other two are kinda blah. Once one of the scales is taken, is that scale gone for good? Or, can someone take that same scale again even though there's not a second card for it? A shot in the dark and assuming a scale loot can't be repeated but asking for kicks:) Thanks, Ben
Hi guys, Trying to understand how this card card combo works... Lance weapon: on this check, you may reveal a card has the mount trait to ignore the 2-handed trait on this card; if you do and this is your first combat check of the turn, add another d8 to your check. Donahan cohort: put this card on top of your deck to add 1d8 plus the scenario's adventure deck number to your combat check that has the Meier trait. So my question is can I combine these cards and get both d8 effects? I think I can. So I first put the card on the top of my deck which reveals it, right? So then my combat roll would be; The usual Melee skill d10+1d8, +1d8 from the Lance AND 1d8+1 from the cohort. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +3, Ben
Hi all, My daughter acquired the Temptation of Big Die promo card during our game tonight. What happens after this current adventure is over? Does she get to keep it as part of her 15-card deck? We kinda don't think she gets to because it's not a typical card type (like a weapon, spell, etc). Her character is Enora and she already has a cohort (in case this falls under the cohort rule). Thanks in advance for the Wisdom +2. Ben and Lil' Abby
"At the end of your turn, you may recharge any number of weapons." So Alain uses a longs word to fight the Worm Demon. He discards to add an additional d6. Does that feat allow him to recharge th long sword instead of discarding it? Guessing no but wanted to doubl check Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben and lil' Abby
Hi all, We have a party of four playing The Elven Entanglement. We just encountered the Demonic Horde barrier. The card says: "each character randomly chooses a character to summon and encounter this adventure's servitor demon. To defeat this barrier, all of the summoned demons must be defeated," Our question is: is it possible that a single character in the group will have to defeat multiple summoned demons? Example: player 1 randomly chose player 3 and then player 2 randomly chose player 3. Or, do you think each character only fights one? We're rather certain that poor player 2 has to fight two demons but thought it wouldn't hurt to double check. Thanks, Ben and lil' Abby
Hi All, We're getting ready to do our first Wrath of the Righteous game and was looking for some character selection suggestions. Obviously we're a little partial to trying the new ones but here's what we're thinkin': - Imrijka
We like the mix in terms of arcane and divine. Curious to hear what others have thought are a nice complements to one another. if anyone has any starting equipment thoughts, would love to hear those too. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben (and lil' Abby)
Hi all, So my daughter has the Merchantman ship at Shark Island. My character is at the Floating Shipyard. So is she on the ship right now during her turn at her location and on my turn I am not on the ship at my location? Trying to understand pg 17 ("commanding and moving ships") in the rule book. Thanks, Third Base
Hi All, Merisiel just encountered the nasty Teraktinus villain. The giant's card reads: "Before the encounter, Teraktinus deals 1d4-1 ranged combat damage to you." Our question is because Merisiel evaded the encounter, does this mean she does not take that 1d4-1 ranged combat damage? I've read a few long threads on evasion in the forum and it's been sorta confusing. Thus, I was just wondering how others have/would handle this situation. Many thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben and Lil' Abby
Hi All, For the Under Jorgenfist Adventure, do the characters even need to bother closing the location on the first villain they encounter? I only ask as it can take valuable cards to close a location. I suppose temporarily closing a location is optional but some clarity here would still be helpful. Here's what the scenario card says: "You muse defeat both villains to win this scenario. After you defeat the first villain, do not check to see if it escapes; instead, place it next to the scenario card. When the second villain is defeated and would not escape, banish it, then put the first villain on the top of the current location deck and choose a character at the location to immediately encounter it." Thanks in advance for the thoughts, Ben (and Lil' Abby)
Hi All, The new Stone Giant Monster Card says, "Damage dealt by the Stone Giant is dealt to each "creature" at this location. We're used to that saying "character." Is there a difference here or special significance of this saying creature over character? Thanks in advance for the Wisdom +2, Ben and Lil' Abby
Hi All, Just wanted to do a quick rules verification (as it involved us getting the nifty new Mass Cure spell). It's Lini's turn. She just encountered the Mass Cure spell at a location. She currently is holding the Badger ally and Crow ally in her hand. Our question is this: Can she reveal the Badger to get her 1d4 AND play the Crow to get the additional 1d6? We're sensitive to the never play two cards of the same type on a single check rule. We feel that revealing the ally is not the same as playing it so it seems like we're not in conflict here. Still, better safe than sorrow. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben and Lil' Abby
Hi All, Seoni just lost the check to defeat Iesha Floxglove (needed a 13 against Charisma and rolled a pesky 11). Our question is does Seoni take 2 damage here? We're assuming so as it's a villain/monster/bane? The reason we ask is that it doesn't have the check to defeat as combat. Thanks in advance for the assist. Ben and lil' Abby
Hi Guys, In our ending battle of Hook Mountain Massacre, we had to fight the villain Barl Breakbones. So Amiri did the fighting on each check. Seoni decided to assist by casting some spell(s). On the first combat check of 17, Seoni played Incendiary Cloud spell. That gave Amiri an additional 2d4 until the end of the turn. On the second combat check of 21, Seoni played Strength spell. That gave Amiri an additional +3 until the end of the turn. The big question is: can Amiri use both those spells in the second combat check? We were a little concerned about the "No more than one card type can be added by the assisting player per check." However, each of those spells were cast on different checks. Thus, it sounds like Amiri can indeed use that Incendiary Cloud 2d4 benefit on her second check to go along with that Strength spell for the final combat check. Hope this post doesn't sound too silly, Ben (and lil' Abby)
Hi All, We just had a great ending to The Hook Mountain Massacre campaign. The reward says the following:
A question came up... Do you pick a role card and THEN gain a power feat on that new role card? Or, do you first take the power feat on your original player card and then select a role card? It seems like you pick the role card first and then select the newly gained power feat on that new character. This is kinda new territory with the role cards so we're hoping someone can clarify for us. Some of those remaining power feats on the original character cards are rather blah so it would be great to pick on the new roles cards instead:) Thanks in advance for the Wisdom +2, Ben and lil' Abby
Hi All, We just successfully finished Here Comes the Flood scenario and had a question about how to handle any basic cards in its "deck." Skinsaw Murders is the first time we discard Banes and optionally discard Boons. Do the Black Maga ending cards get put back into the box or do they potentially get banished? We're assuming they don't go through that banish routine but wanted to double check. Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2, Ben (and lil' Abby)
Hi all, Merisiel has the Belt of Incredible Dexterity and Snakeskin Tunic (each on says, "reveal to add 1 to your Dexterity check."). My silly question is if Merisiel is doing a combat check (to beat Mammy Graul), she gets to add +2 to her combat check because she's using her Dexterity die, right? Thanks for the clarification and Merry Christmas, Ben (and lil' Abby)
Hi Guys, The current preorder schedule on the site (http://paizo.com/pathfinder/adventureCardGame) makes it looks like Paizo has changed its every other month release for the Rise of the Runelords adventure decks. Fortress of the Stone Giants March 2014
Just curious on why the change in plan. Thanks, Ben
Hello, I just got the ol' about-to-ship e-mail for order 2933640 and was wondering two quick questions: Q1: Is it possible to still update the shipping? Q2: What would the cost for UPS 2-day be for my order? If I missed the boat to make this change, no worries. We were just seeing if there was a chance to get this item under our tree for our daughter (from Santa of course). Thanks in advance for the assist, Ben (and Abby)
Hi Guys, So this q came up in our lunch hour game. Sajan's ability reads: "When you attempt a check without playing a weapon, you may use your Dexterity die instead of your Strength die." The Blessing of Gorum reads: "Discard this card to add 2 dice to a Strength-based combat check." Our question is: Is Sajan's check still Strength based (which would allow him to use the 2 dice for the Strength-based Blessing of Gorum? Or, because he swapped to Dex, is the combat check no longer Strength based? Thanks in advance for the Wisdom +2, Ben |