I don't know if this goes here or in the rules forum...
Background: One of my players (half-fey oracle of nature 11) wants to rescue a dryad, but he does not know where she is. He knows she is somewhere within a huge forest fire (the player used commune with nature, 11-mile radius), caused by a pyromaniacal wizard.
The other players have tried to persuade him to desist, but he will go alone. The other players will seek help of druids to quench the fire, but will take many hours to get them where the druids are.
Rules: How to find a panicked dryad in the middle of a forest fire and filled with smoke? ¿1d4 hours each roll? ¿Perception or survival? What DC?
How long it would take? It should also apply rules of suffocation and heat.
He has access to create water, endure elements and resist energy, but that did not protect him from the smoke. I guess that aims to create water to make a firewall around the tree, but I'm not sure of his chances of success with that tactic.
What about trying to make non-lethal damage? The paladin is upset because we don't even try to make non-lethal damage to the looters. The oracle of battle is clear about it: If they attack us with lethal, we respond with lethal. If they die, no remorse.
Then again, this also needs to be taken in context to the setting and what was going on at the time.
Context, from the back of the book 1 of Chronicle of the righteous: The Worldwound Incursion (1 of 6)
Spoiler:
When a wardstone falls, the city of Kenabres is assaulted by a demon host. Massive demons smash paths of ruin through the city, while droves of the worst the Worldwound has to offer spread through the streets, offering death, dismemberment, and horror to all they find. The collapse of one of Kenabres's greatest landmarks, the Cathedral of Saint Clydwell, sends the heroes tumbling into forgotten catacombs deep below the city, from which they must find their way out or perish alone in the dark. But when they finally emerge, they find Kenabres transformed into a post-apocalyptic devastation. Can the heroes navigate the dying city and make contact with the ragged remnants of the Silver Crusade in time to aid them in defending the city's refugees until the cavalry arrives?
Your DM has it wrong. ** spoiler omitted ** The fact that you entered via password is proof enough of their allegiance.
The inhabitants of the house chose their fate when they opened fire on you. The fact that you didn't kill them all argues for your restraint.
demontroll wrote:
Just because someone detects as "evil", you are not justified, either legally or morally, to break into their house and kill them.
We entered breaking the door, but it wasn't their house. We knew that that house was a haven of cultists because his address appeared in documents found in another cult house, but they were looters. And we were working for representatives of the martial law in the city.
LazarX wrote:
If you have spoilers the proper thing is to either tag it within your post, or at the very least note it in your your title.
A question regarding the interpretation of the alignments. Possible spoilers for Wrath of the righteous. Sorry for my english! ^_^
The city is at war, full of demons and cultists. Our party is targeting a house that we believe that is a den of demonic cultists. We give the password to enter (obtained before), but doesn’t work. We tell them that we are demonic cultists, but we do not know the new password, if exists. They tell us that we leave. We tell them to open or we will break the door.
We broke the door.
Inside there are six men armed with bows and swords. They told us to go out. The paladin says that we have been sent by the Crusaders, and that we only want to enter to search tracks or documents of demonic cultists; If they let us in, we will heal their wounds (if any), and then we will go home (trying to use diplomacy). They said “no”.
The Inquisitor detects evil and tells us that they are evil. The Oracle of battle intimidated one of them. The others attack us. After 3 rounds of fight, we won. Two of them died, one surrendered, and the rest are unconscious.
The paladin fought using non-lethal damage, the rest of us using lethal damage. The paladin says that all of us should have used non-lethal damage.
DM said us that in this encounter we were neutral or evil, not good. I think that all times we try to do it in a peaceful way, but they did not want to leave, they were evil and they did not surrender until the end. DM said that because we identify ourselves as cultists, there was no way that they will believe us.
Pay an assassin NPC to kill the player (and the character too ;)).Promise the assassin be paid with the character equipment (vow of poverty? oh, sorry pal, we made a deal, I am LE). Help the assassin if necessary (open the window of his house by night, when the monk is sleeping...etc). Deny any involvement in that tragic event.
Well courtesan to me implies something more than just a person that sells their body for sex. Like Companions in Firefly/Serenity or Geshia. While sex may be part of what they do, they also listen, entertain, and get their clients to relax and unburden themselves. In such a case I think wis makes sense.
I´m confused, because in spanish a courtesan (cortesano o cortesana)was originally a person who attends the court of a monarch or noble. All the people around King Robert in Game of Thrones, for example are 'cortesanos'. Or the maidens who follow a queen. I never though in a Courtesan like a whore.
Dingleberry wrote:
One of my gaming group's most memorable NPC encounters ever was with an elven prostitute with the Flurry of Blows feat
And an elven werewolf prostitute with Furry of Blows?
If I shoot at a creature that is in melee, I receive the -4 (probably for having to take care not to hit the wrong chap...)
Let's say I don't care who I hit (enemies fighting one another for instance)... can I circumvent the -4 by stating 'I fire into the general direction, let's see who gets the arrow'?
By RAW I think you can´t circumvent the -4, but you could houserule a 50% of hitting your pal, or if you fail by 4 you´ll hit your ally.
Weird question, but am I alone in wanting to see nudes in pathfinder artwork.
Not at all. In some cases, clothes really make no sense. I'm not saying I want gratuitous nudity (though that would be awesome! ;-)), but if nudity makes sense, I'd like it to be there.
Zombieneighbours wrote:
I am interested to know if I am the only one who feels that nudity along with a slightly more frank dealing with themes of sex, relationships, love,and lust within pathfinder products would be a welcome thing.
The problem really is those prude Americans. A country that has a major crisis when someone accidentally exposes her boob on live TV for a moment is not a country that is very tolerant of nudity.
The whole thing has been discussed to death and back again killions of times, but until stuff like that won't put Paizo at risk we probably won't see any nudity.
You´are not alone "Zombieneighbours"
There is a goddess of sex and lust, with sacred whores, and there is another pregnant furry-lover evil goddess of monsters, but beware with the cleavage in the artwork...wow...
I´m from Spain, and almost everyday, when I´m going home after work, I see nipples (beaches with girls in topless). And if you turn on the spanish tv, it´s the same. Only in America this thread could exist...;)
If ALL of your players want to play with evil characters (including a necromancer) maybe there is a solution:
Spoiler:
Let the party be the bad guys. The necromancer is a Whispering Way novice follower, who is trying to free the ghosts of Harrowstone, and professor Lorrimor is still alive. They should go into harrowstone, fight with the ghosts or dominate them, to bind their souls.
Prof. Lorrimor discovers your players, and try to stop them. If they kill prof. Lorrimor, the main story persists. Pharasma´s church send one inquisitor after them, to punish the necromancer, or maybe a party of NPCs friends of Lorrimor comes to Ravengro to the funeral, and investigates the crime.
In the second volume, they need to charge the beast of Lepidstad with their crimes... ;)
Ok, just for clarification. You can cast spells with the staff in an antimagic field?
This is an interesting question, because the moron who casts antimagic field to then blast things with spells is in serious danger (beware with angry DMs) ;)
The description about antimagic field states: "Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this"
I think that after the spells are casted, no longer are part of an artifact... because, you know, fireballs in an antimagic field? I´m not sure... The spell resistance and the retributive strike yes, but spells not.
No. They are complete separate conditions. Immunity to one condition does not automatically mean you are immune to another one.
Yes, I think so, but I wasn´t sure
concerro wrote:
The critical confirms, but the dragon still gets a save. The dragon should be able to make the save as long as it does not roll a nat 1. You can also boost the dragon's AC if need by having it buff before combat.
You might want to return the favor or drop the dragon by a CR or two so he can have a caster remove the condition. Disarming the weapon or tripping the fighter on the way in also works. I don't think there are any spells that give immunity to being staggered though.
At level 20 the fighter cannot be disarmed; tripped, yes. Antimagic field will be more funny ;)
No. They are complete separate conditions. Immunity to one condition does not automatically mean you are immune to another one.
Yes, I think so, but I wasn´t sure
concerro wrote:
The critical confirms, but the dragon still gets a save. The dragon should be able to make the save as long as it does not roll a nat 1. You can also boost the dragon's AC if need by having it buff before combat.
Probably he will save, but with staggering critical, if you saves, instead of 1d4 rounds, you´re staggered one round. One round with only one standard against a 20th level party is too much time... ;)
Today, in four hours, the group I´m DMing (all at 20th level) will fight against a red wyrm. The fighter has staggering critical with her falchion (15-20/x3, confirms automatically). Dragons are immune to paralysis, so are they immune to the staggered condition?
Frankly I can't understand having a familiar that is an obvious target..ie any familiar you can't keep in a belt pouch or pack
I don't understand why you would bother with a familiar if you are going to keep it in your pouch. The arcane bond is a better bet than a pocket familiar.
Witches don't get an arcane bond..and losing your familiar is much worse for us than for a wizard sweetie.
So, you could certainly interpret this to say that a flying creature could be summoned or teleported into "empty space." It just gets tricky when and if folks try to use these spell effects as sneaky ways to inflict 20d6 points of damage from falls, or to drop heavy objects onto foes. There are other spells for those kind of effects.
So the rule is against the logical way of thinking because of dammed sneaky munchkins! ;)
Set wrote:
Huh, that's new to me. I always thought you could only summon a creature into an environment that could support them (...)
So did I. A few sessions ago, there were an air battle with dragons and flying wizards over a flying citadel, between the clouds. It would be weird summoning the air alementals 300 feet below the battle...
If Magicius the wizard dies, what happens with his active spells? his mage armor, shield, mirror image blablabla... are dispelled, or remain protecting his dead body? and what about other spells like wall of force?
I didn´t find anything, so sorry if asked before.
As mentioned, effects that don't require concentration on behalf of the wizard would continue for their duration. The only exception I can think of are self-buff spells where the (dead) wizard is no longer a valid target. An effect (on the wizard) that requires a living target or can't affect objects might stop functioning.
If Magicius the wizard dies, what happens with his active spells? his mage armor, shield, mirror image blablabla... are dispelled, or remain protecting his dead body? and what about other spells like wall of force?
Was the wizard's player the same in all situations?
Yes, same campaign too(AoW)
Son of Dad wrote:
On another note: Azaneal you seem to have your hands full with this group :D - Perhaps you need to punish ther munchkinness at some point... but not by saying: "your combo didn't work fully so the dragon's back after 10 min" - That will just start a rules discussion midgame.
Their end is near, in the form of a red great wyrm dracoliche...mwuahahaha! ;)
Well I would go in a different direction then most commentators...
Your players are some sneaky gits and deserve to be rewarded for it. They made a clever combo and made a fight easyer. Theres nothing worse than a GM who's monster always saves, and who always seccond guesses your plans. Players quickly get fed up with this.....
let them have their victory.
If they took out the big boss like this you might have to do something, as it would be anticlimactic, but in this case reward the players for being crafty and move along.
I´m interested in rules this time, because I thought it´s not clear. I´ve nothing against my player´s victory. Now I´m sure that this combo takes away the dragon 10 minutes. Yes, it´s a victory.
But...my players are more than just sneaky... kinda anticlimatic, sometimes. In another fight the wizard put a wall of force against the only door of the room, trapping an enemy liche in the first round with him and the other members of the party. Next round casted antimagic field covering almost all the space in the room (no exit possible because the wall of force remains inside of an antimagic field), and then the fighter grappled the liche. The other "hooligans" kicked and punched the grappled liche. That was like a no-rules tabern fight, with only one side being hitted.
I don´t want to tell how they kill queen Ileosa in CotCT...
While the maze exists, and the dimensional lock is in place where the creature was mazed, if he passed an INT check to escape, he would find the exit, but not be able to leave (he would be forced back into the maze (the path of least resistance), or a sign would appear on the exit saying "only exit. Out of Order")
Which would infuriate the captive to no end, I'm sure.
Then when the maze ceases to be, it would be freed, but would appear outside of the dimensional lock (random closest place capable of holding the creature). Possibly taking damage as per the shunting rules, even though it’s a magical effect and not a solid object.
Again, this is just my opinion, and how I would run it.
I think that I´ll do this.
The red dragon will cast on himself dimensional anchor before attacking (although it can be dispelled), and I´ll give him some scrolls (plane shift). And if he got lost inside the maze, he will use that time to buff himself, instead of trying to exit.
That antimagic field won't cover the entire creature. You do get to pick which 10 ft area is covered though per a developer.
You could also cast dimensional anchor on yourself so the maze can not affect you if the antimagic field is your solution to the maze. It also nullifies your breath weapon and your spells turning you into an oversized fighter. Unless the fight is in close quarters where the party can't play keep away this will not be to your advantage.
PS: Maybe the minion will come back and help his boss since he is not dead.
Antimagi field: Target 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you.
I consider you´re all of... you...your size no matters the size... isn´t it?
You are one evil dude with the booby trapping, but I was thinking the same thing generally.
edit:I see you are aware of the shunting rules.
Why thank you! ^_^
…and yes, I was thinking about the shunting rules as I wrote the above, and how they might interact.
I still hold that the creature trapped in the maze needs to go somewhere once the spell ends, because when the spell ends
maze wrote:
the maze disappears
.
I see this as the spell creating a temporary extra-dimensional space, and I would not allow an 8th level spell to be potentially more potent than a 9th by trapping something forever in the void of nothing, or even if only for the duration of the dimensional lock (days). If the extra-dimensional maze disappears (aka no longer exists) and the spell states that when that happens, the creature within is freed, it needs to go somewhere. If something prevents it from re-entering where it originally left, it would, in my opinion, have to go to the nearest possible place.
Is there RAW stating this is true or false? For this particular circumstance: no. But from the general sense I get from all the rules (including shunting, forced movement, and so forth), I get the feeling that this would be a good way to go about this particular situation.
~P
I understand that logic. And if not, it´s a very powerful combo useful against almost everybody, if you have not friends who can help you to exit.
Next session will be next saturday, but I´m not sure.
So, if the prisoner exits the maze with and INT check, also he will appear? or he should wait until the maze dissapears, ten minutes after? (because the maze still exists)
permancy the dimension lock and the opponent is gone for good!
Yes, the wizard said the same. I said no, but the cleric said he will cast next time forbiddance (sigh). It will be his next step in the next combat... grrgrr...
wraithstrike wrote:
I did notice that dimensional lock also has SR so he has to beat the SR again in order to keep the dragon away. The dragon might want to get a scroll of plane shift to avoid this situation next time, and kill the annoying caster first.
I forgot this. But he´s a 18th level wizard, elf, with spell penetration and greater spell penetration.
A wyrm dragon banned from material plane in 2 rounds because he hasn´t a plane shift spell or scroll... (sigh again)
In the last session, the wizard casted maze to an enemie big boss dragon (no save, beating his SR). The dragon doesn't escape next round, so, the wizard casted Dimensional lock in the area (Duration: Days!)
So, can the dragon return after 10 minutes? In the maze description "the subject reappears where it had been when the maze spell was cast" but in the dimensional lock description says "Once dimensional lock is in place, extradimensional travel into or out of the area is not possible.
And with antimagic field instead of dimensional lock?
Dimensional Lock
Level Cleric 8 , Sorcerer 8 , Wizard 8
Classification Abjuration
Saving throw None
Range Medium
Target 20-ft.-radius emanation centered on a point in space
Components V, S
Dimensional Lock
Casting Time 1 standard action
Duration (Caster Level) days
Spell Resistance Yes
Source Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook p.270
Effect You create a shimmering emerald barrier that completely blocks extradimensional travel.
Description
You create a shimmering emerald barrier that completely blocks extradimensional travel. Forms of movement barred include astral projection , blink, dimension door , ethereal jaunt , etherealness , gate , maze , plane shift , shadow walk , teleport , and similar spell-like abilities. Once dimensional lock is in place, extradimensional travel into or out of the area is not possible.
A dimensional lock does not interfere with the movement of creatures already in ethereal or astral form when the spell is cast, nor does it block extradimensional perception or attack forms. Also, the spell does not prevent summoned creatures from disappearing at the end of a summoning spell.
Maze
Level Sorcerer 8 , Wizard 8
Classification Conjuration (Teleportation)
Saving throw None
Range Close
Target One creature
Components V, S
Casting Time 1 standard action
Duration See text
Spell Resistance Yes
Source Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook p.312
Effect You banish the subject into an extradimensional labyrinth.
Description
You banish the subject into an extradimensional labyrinth. Each round on its turn, it may attempt a DC 20 Intelligence check to escape the labyrinth as a full-round action. If the subject doesn't escape, the maze disappears after 10 minutes, freeing the subject.
On escaping or leaving the maze, the subject reappears where it had been when the maze spell was cast. If this location is filled with a solid object, the subject appears in the nearest open space. Spells and abilities that move a creature within a plane, such as teleport and dimension door , do not help a creature escape a maze spell, although a plane shift spell allows it to exit to whatever plane is designated in that spell. Minotaurs are not affected by this spell.
I don´t see any problem with slavery in Golarion, or playing a wizard who wants a slave (if he treats his slave well, he will be neutral-aligned, not evil). Every wizard can use dominate or charm spells. I think this kind of magic is worst than slavery, because rapes your mind. Enchantment magic is ok, but slavery not? Is the same.
When his turn came around again, he announced that he was having second thoughts. He decided to leave his next action to a d6: 1-3, he continues the attack, 4-6 he lets her go. He rolled high and showed mercy. By then the medusa no longer trusted him anyway, though, and stumbled out a side door...
I was thinking... He decided his next action randomly? Random Mercy/Random Attack? A little bit chaotic...:D
That confused me too, until I went back and read it carefully. It's the wizard PC who cast AMF, which means the force wall would have kept the NPC wizard from being affected.
Prawn wrote:
Ah! I see. Much better. So the PC Wizard would have just wasted his action and nerfed his own spell casting. The Bad Wiz should not have been trapped.
This.
English is not my first language, maybe my explanation wasn´t clear. Sorry.
In the last session, an evil wizard was attacked by the PCs in his sanctasanctorum, which was a small room with only one door. He casted Wall of Force in front of him, trying to block his attackers while he buffs himself. The fighter, with a magic objet, made a dimensional door to the other side, to attack the evil wizard next round. Then, the wizard PC casts antimagic field. The Wall of Force remains inside the antimagic field, ok, but… does the antimagic field area includes the other side of the wall of force, where the evil wizard is? Or it stops its area, blocked by the wall of force, because its area is an emanation?
I ruled that the antimagic field pass through the wall of force. So, the evil wizard was trapped inside his small room, blocked with the wall of force he casted before, and without magic… with a fighter PC wielding a big sword. But I´m not sure about this.
About the fighter issue, I´ll advice her that being so selfish about combat (and not trying to save the world)and equipment, and abandoning your friends is a CN act (maybe a bit CE). Thank you all for your advices.
Not wanting to be beaten to death by a clearly superior opponent is not Evil.
Ok, not Evil...but she could spend a round in full defense, or reagrouping while discussing a valid tactic, because when she run away, she left the only other melee player (a monk) alone. Also she has a magic bow, and an adamantite gauntlet +1. She didn´t talk!. When her turn arrived, she only said: I run x4 far far away. They were four players. If one flees, the remaining three are in more danger. She didn´t say "ey, pals, maybe we should flee"
Also, when later the others were trying to discuss a solution, she said "This titan is impossible to beat, better to go home without fighting again whith him. If you want to fight again with the titan, I will not be there". She achieved this conclussion after two rounds!
When the "heroes" are discussing how to save the world, being selfish is not very good aligned. So I´m saying sh is Neutral.
I´m DMing AoW in Golarion. We´re at "Library of the last resort" (16th level) Here my conversions; I like world-hopping:
- Diamond Lake set in River Kingdoms, near Sodden Lands (so there is a swamp where the lizardfolk are atacking an old tower, builded years ago by colonists from Brevoy)
- Ebon Tryad: Zon Kuthon, Urgathoa and Lamashtu. The labyrinth of Urgathoa was the birthplace of Vecna*, many years ago
- Loris Raknian arena set in Tymon. He is the First Gladiator.
- Free City is Absalom. They go there because Allustan was a teacher in the Arcanomirium. Elligos remains in Absalom. Zyrxog had an obelisk dedicated to Kyuss inside his sanctasanctorum
- I introduce "river to darkness" and "crucible of chaos", in Mwangui, because inside the tomb, in Diamond Lake, they discovered a compass pointing there. The flying citadel from crucible of chaos was a ruin from Dukes of Aaqa, and the Chaos Stone instead was an old obelisk dedicated to Kyuss. A piece of the rod of seven parts is hidden there. Now is their base.
- Alhaster in Cheliax, near Corentyn. There, Prince Zeech, a retired Hellknight, rules a city dedicated to himself.
- Tilagos Island is located inside the Eye of Abendego, so nobody knows about this island.
- The city of giants, probably, will be in the Worldwound.
*In my world Vecna was a priestess of Pharasma. Later she adored Urgathoa. Finally she reached lichdom, laughting at Pharasma and Urgathoa faith. Her history is written in the walls of the Vecna´s labyrinth.
I hate alignments, but are a necessary "evil", because of spells like "protection agains X","holy word"...etc. The cleric was 15th level...a bit excessive?...yes, without doubt.
Edit: This proves once again in my mind abilities are garbage a +5 weapon is much much better than a +1 shocking fiery holy weapon
When your opponent wants to break your equipment, sure.
About the fighter issue, I´ll advice her that being so selfish about combat (and not trying to save the world)and equipment, and abandoning your friends is a CN act (maybe a bit CE). Thank you all for your advices.
Next session I will audit their items, to compare. The wizard can craft magic items, and in their flying citadel (from crucible of chaos) there is a mercane ambassador(bestiary II) who sells (and buys) magic items waiting only one day. My fault be too generous with her buying options.
Cartigan wrote:
The sword was a +6 weapon. If it was a +3 Bane Holy weapon, that's +6 - Bane is +1 and Holy is +2
Off topic: I though that to repair a weapon only counts enhancement bonus. Am I wrong?
...just a small thing to add, if you aren't aware of it:
The destroyed sword can be repaired (and so could the armor, if it was possible to sunder it) by quite a simple spell: "Make Whole" (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/m/make-whole) - knowing this might help limit the cowardness of the player (and maybe thereby help him/her to live better up to being a NG fighter).
Only if your caster level is at least twice that of the item. The sword was a +3 weapon, so, you need a caster of 18th level. About armor, in 3.5 it was no possible, but in pathfinder you can use sunder on held or worn items. I understand that you can sunder armor (and maybe sunder clothes, if you want this kind of roleplaying :-)
complete de-rail, maul of the titans cannot sunder that sword
Complete de-rail answer, the Maul of titans (of this titan)is +3. Fighter´s weapon is +3 too (to sunder only counts enhancement bonus), so, it can be sundered... or I made a mistake?
I care about their alignment (although there´s no paladin, o cleric who could lose their powers in this case)because, for example, there´s an +2 axiomatic sword in the treasure of the titan. If the fighter is chaotic, it will be painful for her. And if she is true neutral, the next holy word could affect her...and so on. It cares.
About spliting wealthness in our group...it´s no my decission, is THEIR decission. Originally they doesn´t want, when choosing between the gained treasure, that anyone pick the most expensive item, only to sell it for money. But now I´m thinkink that it isn´t working.
About cowardice... she had an adamantite armored gauntlet +1, and a +1 sword, and I think that leaving the fight without trying to regroup o discuss tactics (they have a wizard that can teleport, and has a cube of force) was strange. The other players were surprised too.
Cold Napalm wrote:
And you think when the rest of the party split on the resale, that isn't a bit of a clue?!? Yes I can see it happening once at the START as a misunderstanding...but this isn't the start. They have been playing from at least level 12-16.
This. Misundertanding? I don´t think so.
I wrote a mail to the fighter player about this issue, and she said to me that it isn´t the first time SOMEBODY in the party do this. Now I´m fearing that this issue will tear apart a little the inner harmony of the group. Now I´m thinking how to handle this next saturday.
Neutral actions don't make you neutral. Even the most paladinist paladin commits neutral actions all day (brushing his teeth, looking in the mirror, bathing etc)
Alignment actions are about morality and ethics, not hygiene...not the same. I think that if you do neutral actions all the day, you are neutral. ;)
The cleric show remorse, but arguing that no good people can die with the holy word spell, and now they are in Pharasma´s cradle :S
About give a warning...this is the issue. I gave a warning some time ago.