Artifacts and Anti-Magic Field


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Well I see that artifacts are the most powerfull magic item in any campaing but....Can an artifact works in an antimagic field?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
[url=http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/antimagicField.html#antimagic-field wrote:
Antimagic Field[/url]]Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.


Tri is right on, as usual.

In one of my groups, they have an Artifact weapon and just learned the joy of AMF and that fighter going OFF on enemy spell chuckers.

I mean, he's a level 19 Fighter trained to cut things DOWN. Once he's on you and you have none of that fancy pantsy magic... yeah, pain. Lots of pain, for one round that is.


Yep, and this includes minor artifacts as well. I had a Cleric X/Wizard 1 in one game with a staff of the magi who loved to cast antimagic field, and then blast things with the staff (or summon, or whirlwind).

For the record, I did not give him the staff.

Dark Archive

Ok, just for clarification. You can cast spells with the staff in an antimagic field?

I think it works perfectly when a huge red wyrm cast his frightfull antimagic field triying to destroy you,, crush you, bite you and eat you!

Dark Archive

Gabriel Albasombria wrote:

Ok, just for clarification. You can cast spells with the staff in an antimagic field?

This is an interesting question, because the moron who casts antimagic field to then blast things with spells is in serious danger (beware with angry DMs) ;)

The description about antimagic field states: "Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this"

I think that after the spells are casted, no longer are part of an artifact... because, you know, fireballs in an antimagic field? I´m not sure... The spell resistance and the retributive strike yes, but spells not.

Dark Archive

Its a disturbing question, yes. I have a moron master who send an Amazing Red Wyrm against us with a funny antimagic field, with an artifact you probably could defend yourself with that kind of item.

Queen Ileosa had a runic pool that shares freedom of movement with her. In my opinion you can use spells in the antimagic field but, for example if i play with an eldritch knight will be a lame thing casting spells like a coward when you can hadle your great elven sword agains the bad guy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Artifacts and Anti-Magic Field All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.