Sea Dragon

Agodeshalf's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 267 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.



1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

One hell of a way for a dragon to restart. The Ancient dragon becomes a young adult with spell casting, bab, saves, and hit points for an ancient dragon but in a young adult's body. I wonder would the dragon see improvements at it's new body actually aged? Picking up all of the improvements granted by age to dragons.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I was discussing with my GM about this and was wondering how others interpret it.

I'm playing a shaman and his hexes pretty clearly state: Using a hex is a standard action that doesn’t provoke an attack of opportunity unless otherwise noted.

His contention is that if an SU ability states in it's description that it "acts like <spell>" then it picks up all the trappings of being a spell, AoO, spell resistance, components (V,S and/or M), etc. That the phrase "acts like <spell>" is the "unless otherwise noted" exception.

I can see how you could make that leap, but why call it a SU ability then and not a spell-like ability which is what you've accomplished by doing that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

The 500 feet is approx. the distance a body will travel in normal gravity in 6 seconds starting from an initial velocity of 0. Thus if you want to cast a spell that is a standard action, you need 500 feet of falling distance to get it off at all. Now why you can do only an immediate action, and not a swift one is a bit odd. Why not quickened spells


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Actually, I thought Calm Emotion was a remedy for psychic casters hit with spells that have the emotion or fear descriptors. You use it to regain control of your emotions as it removes those effects.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

You can't ready an action outside of combat, since "ready an action" is one of the actions you can take *in* combat. When combat begins, all combatants roll for initiative. Then surprise is resolved. The only way that the demilich gets to interrupt the first attack is if it is first in the initiative order.

Say the order is
player A
player B
Demi Lich
player C

A goes, attacking flat footed demilich, and pisses off the demilich. It still doesn't go yet as it isn't it's turn. B goes attacking flat footed lich, and then the demilich gets to go, and can attack C flat footed. or A or B normally.

Only if the Demilich goes first in the initiative order, could it in principle ready an action to attack the first person. Then it would interrupt who ever attacked it. Or it could just pass, but then they would all get to attack it until it's next turn which seems wrong.

Would you allow the mage to stand behind the fighter who is bashing down the door to take a readied action to fire magic missile at the first target he sees behind the door. Allowing him to have an attack outside of initiative order and surprise? You can't determine surprise without initiative order and appropriate awareness checks. Readied actions need to be done *in* combat, as part of the combat sequence. But maybe I've just read it wrong.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I would think that it would go as follows:

Step 1. Everyone roll initiative including DemiLich
Step 2. Determine awareness - the party is aware of the demilich, and the demilich is aware of the party. It is simply choosing not to act, until they do something stupid. No surprise round.
Step 3. If the demilich goes before anyone attacks, it takes the ready action to attack the first person that disturbs it. Otherwise combat proceed normally. The demilich will be flatfooted until it has had it's first round in the initiative order.

So of your choices, I'd say 4.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Thanks for the response, Blahpers. I guess this isn't nearly as controversial as I thought. Or maybe everyone is tired of arguing about it. Or couldn't be bothered :(

As far as the troll entry is concerned though it really just states that starvation, and drowning can kill a troll. It is hard to extrapolate a general rule from just that entry. Other than it seems to refute the "cannot die" text in regenerate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

So this came up in our group last night, and a search found several threads with no obvious conclusion. I didn't check to see dates on them but rather than resurrect an old thread, I figured I ask again and maybe now there is some consensus. *wishful thinking*

It boils do to two basic questions:
1) Can a creature with regeneration be killed by a death effect that doesn't deal hit point damage? and
2) If a creature with regeneration takes constitution ability damage and has it's constitution dropped to 0, does it kill the creature

As I read it, since regeneration can only repair hit point damage, it is subject to death effects as normal so long as that death effect isn't accomplished by hit point damage.

With regards to the second question, the rules state that a creature must have a constitution score for regeneration to work. To me that means that if you drop the con to 0, then they die.

Has this been resolved? Or is it yet another case of long standing arguments never to be resolved by Paizo.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I think the only things that has been proven are that
a) Feats that can be taken multiple times with effect, are listed as such,
b) The description of what the special text will call out makes mention of the fact that it will list the ability to take a feat multiple times, and
c) that it is mentioned because it *can* happen that a player *may* end up with a feat multiple times that they typically don't stack.

I am fairly certain that c) was added not to imply that a PC might choose any feat multiple times, but that as a side effect of class, bloodlines, archetypes, etc. choices, he/she can get a feat multiple times, i.e brawler/monk and unarmed strike. It seems odd, and a waste of text space to have feats call out that they can be taken multiple times, unless it was an exception not the rule.

Of course, you can say that it'd just duplicate text, or that it just is stating that it stacks, but I don't think that is the case.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Much as I like the answers how does that square with

Magic - Special Abilities - Spell-Like Abilities wrote:


Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.

If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability’s effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is gained.

Seems to be different from the monster rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Vidmaster7 wrote:

Hmm no luck finding those 2 temporal ones on the prd what book are they from?

Threefold is awesome however!

Go to Archive of Nethys, it has them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I think you only find tramplesharks in Sharknados. They get mightily pissed flying around in circles.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Wouldn't Legendary Proportions do the trick?

It gets you at least one size category. Yes, it is a transformation spell but it is not marked as a polymorph spell. And would subsequent castings stack?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

In our last gaming session we got into a lengthy discussion/argument on demiplanes, so I went looking for any rules on them, and either my searches are just failing or there really is very little on the topic. In particular, a few people stated as RAW that if you were in a demiplane and did something that would violate one of the established traits of that plane that you would be ejected from it. The motivation was that one of the party members is trapped in a demiplane, which was designed to be a prison.

My questions are 1) is this in fact true and where can I find such a rule, and 2) if it is true what does that really mean.

So say the plane has normal time, is it sufficient to cast haste? or if it is dead magic, and you have an artifact that does something does that violate the rules of the plane and you get ejected?

Any pointers to rules of how demiplanes function would be appreciated.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

1. Convince your GM that casting [evil] spells doesn't really effect your alignment
2. Convince your GM that casting [evil] spells alignment effects depend on the circumstances. Why did you do it? What are you doing with the animated undead? etc/
3. For every [evil] spell you cast, cast a [good] spell to balance you out

But seriously, to me while everyone wants to project the real world of moral ambiguity into the fantasy one, at the end of the day Pathfinder is a world of absolutes. The real world shades of gray have no place. Evil isn't subjective, it is always evil.

So using a evil spell for good ends is still an evil act. You take responsibility for it, and grab an atonement if you're truly repentant. Otherwise your drift toward the evil alignment. I think setting some number of castings as a bit silly. And how much you more towards an evil alignment should be a function of why but it remains an evil act.

But many disagree with that stance, and see that acts in and of themselves aren't evil and whether or not it is evil is subjective. Murder isn't evil if it is justified, or they were a "bad" person. But Pathfinder defined Animate Undead as evil. Always.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

And further do you need to have line of effect to every inch of the 10x10 space? If that is the case, how can you cast the spell under someone since that person's feet are on the ground blocking line of effect. Just like the door is on the ground. *If* the doorway is 10' wide such that the frame of the door does not interfere with the spell, I see no reason why you couldn't cast the spell. What if there is a gap under the door?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Can you use the Quicken Spell metamagic feat with the Spell Perfection feat?

In another thread, it was stated that by RAW one can't use Quicken Spell with Spell Perfection because in the description:

Pick one spell which you have the ability to cast. Whenever you cast that spell you may apply any one metamagic feat you have to that spell without affecting its level or casting time, as long as the total modified level of the spell does not use a spell slot above 9th level. In addition, if you have other feats which allow you to apply a set numerical bonus to any aspect of this spell (such as Spell Focus, Spell Penetration, Weapon Focus [ray], and so on), double the bonus granted by that feat when applied to this spell.

To me, it seems that the clear intent was that a spontaneous caster could get a metamagic enhancement without increasing the casting time to a full round, and all casters get the benefit of not raising the spell slot used. It doesn't make sense to say that because Quicken alters the casting time it can't be used in conjunction with spell perfection as this metamagic feat is IMHO one of the best uses of spell perfection. A free use of a +4 metamagic feat, yes please.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

In a slight detour into strange side questions, if you use the ectoplasmic metamagic feat on the fireball, does the bead become incorporeal?

And as a psychic bloodline sorcerer, none of your spells have somatic components, and you have eschew materials so can you still not do the whole point out the murder hole without an attack roll.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

To me the problem is clearly one of editing. I would love to see the standardization of language usage. If a capability is optional, use the wording of *may* or *can*. In the absence of such keywords, the capability is always active. This is made harder by the inclusion of derivative material, or adding new capabilities that were previously unknown. Previously there was only arcane and divine magic. Adding psychic magic, without a complete sweep of what the impact to the whole rule set is, can introduce ambiguity. Even something as simple as separation of fluff text verses rule text can be difficult if the wording isn't clear. But all of these are expensive, time consuming, and as such unlikely to happen.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Kazaan wrote:
You can "turn off" Toughness, but not in the manner people are thinking. Toughness allows you to gain +3 extra HP to start, as well as +1 extra per level at 4th level and up (effectively +1 HP per level). Turning off toughness won't take away those HP any more than turning off the light after you're done in the kitchen meant you were retroactively preparing your sandwich in the dark. Turning off Toughness would mean that, when you level up, you retain the ability to not take the bonus HP if you choose not to (it's a poor decision, but it's yours to make). But after you've taken the bonus HP, it's there to stay. So no, dominating a creature won't allow you to reduce their HP by turning off their Toughness feat, but I can perfectly well see how you should be able to retain the ability to not use a particular feat in a given situation. In order for a feat to be "locked on", it would require an explicit statement to that effect, likely by explicitly stating "You must <whatever the feat does>."

But that's the exact opposite of what it seems the intent was. Power attack clear states "You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls" vs Toughness which states "You gain +3 hit points. For every Hit Die you possess beyond 3, you gain an additional +1 hit point." It doesn't say you may gain, or you can gain. Just you gain. To me, if a feat is a choice, then the description needs to provide that information. Otherwise it's always on per RAW. But like others, the bottom line is that you can rule either way and as such it's just up to GM discretion.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Can you remotely intimidate via telepathy?