![]() ![]()
![]() I just started running this AP, and I also wanted to start reading about the lore of Golarion more broadly. I figured the best use of my time would be to start with lore pertaining to the current AP I am running. Any recommendations on books or sections of books to start with? Maybe that cover Alkenstar, the mana wastes, surrounding cities/countries, etc? Thanks! ![]()
![]() I don't think it is obviously a mistake, though I agree there are some odd results when thinking about the possible outcomes. I want to read it piecewise. So first a creature starts it's turn in the affected area, it must make an acrobatics check to balance. It doesn't say spend an action, so I'd say this check to balance is free. Here is the first problem though, the balancing action involves movement, but the first part is happening before a creature spends any actions. So this becomes gray, but I think this is how I'd run it and is the intention. On a critical failure, the creature falls and loses it's turn. The rest of the outcomes are wonky because the creature hasn't spent an actions yet and may not choose to move. So I'd say on a failure the creature loses an action, but can generally spend the other two actions as they please. Though if they enter another square of the affected area they must take the balance action per the "or enters a square in the area". On a success, no action is spent, and I'd say for the creature first movement action the area around the creature is difficult terrain, and on a critical success no action is spent and terrain is treated as normal for their first movement. This assumes the creature wants to move. If they succeed, and don't want to o move, great, they get 3 actions. I think if the creates uses a whole stride, and wants to take a second movement into an affected square they trigger the "or enters a square in the area" a second time. Now what happens when a creature enters the area. I think this is a little easier to parse. Once they hit the area they can spend an action to balance and apply the results as normal. I think the part about taking a step only applies to the "or enters a square in the area" part. So if a creature wants to step instead of stride, they can avoid using the balance action. ![]()
![]() graystone wrote:
That is fair. It is used inconsistently, which proves problematic. I am sure we could go through many examples, but for the specific example you bring up, I think the clarify is the specific way it is phrased. Granting access, seems to reference the Access system. Though it should probably be written "granting Access". That being said, I'd rather look at the text as is and apply the formatting rules, and then decide if I think there is a problem. For the adding spells to spell books at first level, I think the capitalized access is correct, while Ancestral Weaponry feat might be done incorrectly. ![]()
![]() I disagree that the "or from other arcane spells you gain access to." refers to the access system as it is not capitalized. Remember that "The names of specific statistics, skills, feats, actions, and some other mechanical elements in Pathfinder are capitalized." Emphasize mine. If they mean Access system, I'd expect access to be capitalized. The way I read "other arcane spells you gain access to" should likely refer to common arcane spells in other books. Of course the GM can limit this as they see fit, but if they allow classes from other books, I would anticipate that common arcane spells from said book are also allowed. ![]()
![]() Ravingdork wrote:
This is how I feel it should be done. It is basically two actions. I won't get picky about the order of glide/start fall or start fall/glide. One action to get off the the Leshy off its "platform" (cliff, balcony, treebranch, etc) and one to glide. Or if they want to flavor it has assuming the glide position, then stride/leap/step, fine by me. I think in PFS, though I don't run PFS games so take it with a grain of salt, I could see expecting to do what HumbleGamer laid out HumbleGamer wrote:
Basically 2 actions to use the ready activity to ready Leshy glide, then an action to move off the platform, and then the reaction to glide. I think burning 3 reactions and a reaction feels like a lot, so why at home I have no problems allowing a player to getting off the a platform and glide using 2 actions total. Though I do think I wouldn't allow it to be used as a reaction as written. As it is written to be an action, there seems to be some intentionality required. Though if a Leshy fell over 500 feet and found themselves still falling at the start of their turn, a single action to start gliding. The Raven Black wrote:
This is what I was trying to get at. I think no matter what you get your remaining actions. It is just a matter of what order you resolve the fall and remaining actions. And I'd leave it up to a GM because it isn't explicitly written anywhere. Personally I agree I wouldn't let a player hang out midair and complete their actions, then fall, but if it was something they could do while falling, I'd entertain it. Most players probably want to fall a short distance, complete the fall, and then take their reactions, and I don't have a problem with this either. ![]()
![]() I can see why that sentence is frustrating, but I would just focus on this part "...you can’t use one when it’s not your turn, even if you use the Ready activity." You can't use a press as a ready activity because press explicitly says so. Regardless of the reason given in the first part of the sentence. ![]()
![]() Why do you say immediately? Is that written anywhere? Falling says "You fall about 500 feet in the first round of falling" - emphasize on round. We know a round is defined as "A round is a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act. A round represents approximately 6 seconds in game time." To me this indicates that falling may not be instantaneously. Ravingdork wrote:
If we want to bring cartoon logic into this, the two extremes are, 1) as you mentioned, someone hovering midair completing whatever they want to do and then falling or 2) someone falls 500 ft (over 6 seconds) and everyone watching with bated breath hoping that they either use a reaction to grab an edge or the spell-casters cast feather fall, then the onlookers resume whatever they were doing. When in reality (dangerous for a fantasy game, I know) they are falling over a period of time while the world moves around them. So given it is not explicit written in the rules, I don't see a problem letting a Leshy use their feat during a fall when they have an action to do so. Rules are unclear and that is the most fun. Lightning Raven wrote:
I do think it is a good idea to look at the sudden leap feat or even the jump spell to try and infer what the intentions are. I concur that they lean in the direction of resolve fall first and foremost. Nevertheless, nothing is explicitly written so I think it lands in the GM fiat territory. Though I agree that the action on this should reconsidered. The first option is the feat should be a reaction when falling or an action when already gliding. This would probably be the easiest. Or perhaps it was set to an action to specifically only to be used on the Leshy's turn and not as reaction to something outside their control. ![]()
![]() I gave a quick search and didn't find anything. When do you resolve the fall and take subsequent damage? On your turn if you leap off something, you could move 10 or 15 feet horizontally. If there is not a surface after those distances, you would begin to fall? So do you fall, resolve the fall and damage, and get your remaining action or can you resolve your remaining actions, then resolve falling? If you can do the latter, it seems easy enough to use the feat. |