On Magus Devoted Blade


Rules Questions


Hey guys,

I'm playing a Magus in a campaign currently and am interested in picking the Devoted Blade arcana. As written,

Benefit: Whenever the magus enhances his weapon using his arcane pool, he may spend 1 additional point from his arcane pool to add either the anarchic, axiomatic, holy, or unholy special ability to the list of available options. A magus may only add one of these abilities if it matches his own alignment.

Does this count as an additional bonus on top of the bonus you add normally with the arcane pool? Or does the +2 bonus from holy, axiomatic, etc. count as part of the bonus limit from your arcane pool? Ie at level 13;

Choice A:
Spend 1 Arcane Point,
==>
Add +4 worth of whatever bonus

Spend 1 additional point
===>
Add Devoted Blade bonus (+2)

or

Choice B:
Spend 1 Arcane Point
===>
Add +2 worth of whatever bonus

Spend 1 Additional Point
===>
Add Devoted Blade bonus (+2)

Thanks!


It is basically choice B. Devoted Blade doesn't add Holy, etc. to your weapon, it merely adds the options to your list of allowed special abilities. You still have to spend +2 from your total +4 enhancement to add the ability to your weapon.

So a 13th level, Good Magus could use Devoted Blade and spend two points to enhance his weapon. One point adds Holy to his list, while the second is used to add +4 worth of enhancements to his weapon.

So he could make an ordinary sword into a +2 Holy sword, a +1 Flaming Holy sword, etc., but he can't make it into a +4 Holy sword.

Ghost Blade acts similarly. Bane Blade is different in that the expenditure of an extra point actually adds the Bane special ability to the weapon on top of your normal enhancements rather than merely adding it to your list of options.

Liberty's Edge

Level 12 magus.+

Spend 2 arcane points when you activate you magus ability.

1 point add to the existing list holy/unholy/axiomatic/anarchic aboility to the list of available choices.

The other point let you choose 3 points of abilities let's say +1 and Unholy.

Depending on your level it is a relatively costly ability, as your magus pay 1 arcana to learn it and the pay 1 arcane point to be able to add the choice to the list.

At first reading is easy to misread and think that paying the extra +1 will simply add the ability to the weapon or that taking the arcana will simply add the option to the list.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / On Magus Devoted Blade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions