Two-Weapon Fighting and combat maneuvers / aid


Rules Questions


If i have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, can i make two combat maneuvers or one and a aid person?
Thank you!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

If you do CM that can use weapons, yes.

Aid another? That is a standard action, so you can't full attack and Aid.


To expand on that, with TWF you get to make two melee attacks. The disarm, sunder, and trip maneuvers can always be substituted for a melee attack. Other maneuvers can't be, absent some special ability saying otherwise (as always).


Ok thank you!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Fuzzy, to be very clear. TWF allows you to make a second attack with a weapon. So that second attack must be a weapon. To convert it to a Combat Maneuver, it must be a weapon that can be used with a Combat Maneuver.


What weapon can't be used with disarm, sunder, and trip?


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
What weapon can't be used with disarm, sunder, and trip?

Ranged weapons?


I did say "melee attacks" in my first post.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
What weapon can't be used with disarm, sunder, and trip?

The only reason I'm pointing it out, is it isn't clear to me. I'm aware most, if not all, melee weapons can be used to disarm, sunder, and trip. Some are ill suited for the task, others are better. But the OP may not understand our shared internal knowledge.


So just for some further clarification...
Many combat maneuvers are their own standard action, and thus would prevent you from TWF. Sunder, disarm, and trip can be performed in place of a melee attack. So you could TWF, and replace all the attacks with some combination of sunders, trips, and disarm attempts.

Aid another is usually a standard action of it own (without feats to improve it) and thus also can't be combined with TWF.

Grand Lodge

Also note that some feats can improve the action cost of the associated combat maneuver, so that, at higher levels, those maneuvers can be substituted, as well.

So, at higher levels, with a weapon with the Trip keyword, and the correct set of feats, you can add reposition and drag to the list.

And, I think, dirty tricks has that same feat, but using a weapon to perform a dirty trick requires GM adjudication.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two-Weapon Fighting and combat maneuvers / aid All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions