Bear Burning Ashes
|
I'm 95% sure this is doable, but I'm hesitant because it involves enchanting both the weapon end and the shield end of a Klar, and I've never seen such an item in print.
It is possible to purchase a +1 Bashing Keen Klar?
2000gp (to enchant it as a +1 weapon)
6000gp (to enchant it as a keen weapon)
1000gp (to enchant it as a +1 shield)
3000gp (to enchant it as a bashing shield)
Also, just to get other opinions, the Bashing enchantment states that "only light and heavy shields can have this ability", but in the description of the Klar it states that it "counts as" a light shield. That shouldn't be a problem, either, right?
| Mauril |
The problem I see is that the two don't exactly stack well. The klar is treated as a spiked light shield. Shield spikes make the shield deal damage one category larger than normal. Bashing makes it deal two categories larger than normal. These two do not stack, as both refer back to the original size of the shield. So, I can see no problem with applying both enhancements, but the problems come with using both of them. To further complicate this, a klar deals damage as a light shield two categories larger than normal, rather than just one (for being spiked).
I could have sworn there was an FAQ at one point on the interaction between enchanted shield spikes and a bashing shield, but I cannot seem to find it anywhere. To my recollection, which could very well be faulty, enhancements on the spikes are independent of enhancements on the shield, and therefore don't apply together. I remember this making sense from a balance perspective, but not a simulationist one. I believe this is hashed over in one of the many "dual-wielding shields" threads that dominated the forums for a time.
| Kazaan |
Yes, "counts as" means that, for any rules elements that require a light shield, the Klar "counts as" a light shield. Only if it specifies one particular rules element do you narrow the field. For example, when using a double weapon for TWF, it "counts as" using a one-handed and light weapon "for determining TWF penalties". That's a specific "counts as" so it would not count as having a light weapon for weapon finesse, piranha strike, or any other requirement of using a light weapon, save that you take -2/-2 penalties with the TWF feat. Or if an ability made you "count as" Undead for the purpose of how channeled energy affected you, that doesn't mean you detect as Undead for a Detect Undead spell or that you're a valid target for spells which must target Undead.