| Azran |
readied actions interrupt immeadiately before the condition that triggered them. Guy with reach weapon announces attack, readied action interrupts, sunder provokes. So it would look like this:
1 reach guy gets his AoO
2 sunder
3 attack sequence of reach guy if possible
I don't know if you can sunder against reach by strict RAW but i would allow it. If the opponent threatens only 10' you could take a 5' step as part of the sunder attempt. That not only allows to close in but helps with the AoO if the opponent doesn't threaten his adjacent squares.
| Lifat |
Nothing in the rules seem to indicate that you can't sunder a reach weapon. When you ready an action to do a sunder attempt on a reach weapon, then your action either triggers just before the action that would trigger your action OR your readied action interrupts the other characters action(s). Technically speaking as you can't attack something outside your threatened areas the readied action would occur as soon as the reach weapon enters your threatened area (meaning your sunder interrupts the swing of the attack). Then it does get iffy because the reach guy gets an immediate attack of opportunity that takes place before the attack he is in the process of making and before the sunder attempt takes effect. Weird I know, but that is how it works by RAW.
Jacob Saltband
|
Nothing in the rules seem to indicate that you can't sunder a reach weapon. When you ready an action to do a sunder attempt on a reach weapon, then your action either triggers just before the action that would trigger your action OR your readied action interrupts the other characters action(s). Technically speaking as you can't attack something outside your threatened areas the readied action would occur as soon as the reach weapon enters your threatened area (meaning your sunder interrupts the swing of the attack). Then it does get iffy because the reach guy gets an immediate attack of opportunity that takes place before the attack he is in the process of making and before the sunder attempt takes effect. Weird I know, but that is how it works by RAW.
Thats why I asked for ohters opinion because by RAW it works one way while seems like it should work differently.
| Speaker for the Dead |
I think the character would have to have the Strike Back Feat. It kind of flies in the face of common sense but since the feat exists, it sounds like you can't do anything to affect limbs or weapons of foes that attack you using reach.
| Lifat |
Well... Don't know where that feat is from. The feat certainly is a strong indicator that you can't do it. But the feat doesn't say how it is supposed to work under normal conditions, so I guess you'd be within your right to call it a useless feat that enables you to do something you already could. But I don't think a lot of people would think twice whether or not you ruled for or against.
| Cevah |
I think the character would have to have the Strike Back Feat. It kind of flies in the face of common sense but since the feat exists, it sounds like you can't do anything to affect limbs or weapons of foes that attack you using reach.
You can strike at foes that attack you using their superior reach, by targeting their limbs or weapons as they come at you.
Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +11.
Benefit: You can ready an action to make a melee attack against any foe that attacks you in melee, even if the foe is outside of your reach.
This lets you attack someone out of your reach. The OP is asking about attacking the weapon used to hit you. Not the same thing.
Well... Don't know where that feat is from.
CRB p135
/cevah
LazarX
|
Person is being attacked by a reach weapon so decides to ready an action to sunder the reach weapon when he's attacked by it. The person doesnt have improved sunder.
I know this is a big corner case but was wondering how this should play out.
It plays out in the following order.
The original attack is lauched.
The readied action is started.. the sunder attempt.
The Sunder triggers an AOO, which means the sunderer gets attacked.
If the would-be sunderer is still alive he gets to make his sunder attack.
If the weapon is destroyed, the original attack ends.
If the weapon is merely broken, the original attack may now be rolled against the sunderer with the appropriate penalties in place.
The smart thing for the sunderer to have done would have been to have readied himself to readied a 5 foot adjustment, which would have put him inside the reach weapon. IF that's legal, which I'm not fully sure of.
| Cevah |
Lifat wrote:Thats why I asked for ohters opinion because by RAW it works one way while seems like it should work differently.Nothing in the rules seem to indicate that you can't sunder a reach weapon. When you ready an action to do a sunder attempt on a reach weapon, then your action either triggers just before the action that would trigger your action OR your readied action interrupts the other characters action(s). Technically speaking as you can't attack something outside your threatened areas the readied action would occur as soon as the reach weapon enters your threatened area (meaning your sunder interrupts the swing of the attack). Then it does get iffy because the reach guy gets an immediate attack of opportunity that takes place before the attack he is in the process of making and before the sunder attempt takes effect. Weird I know, but that is how it works by RAW.
Welcome to the world of combat simulation. Since it is a simplified simulation, you get these things happening.
/cevah
| Lifat |
Jacob Saltband wrote:Person is being attacked by a reach weapon so decides to ready an action to sunder the reach weapon when he's attacked by it. The person doesnt have improved sunder.
I know this is a big corner case but was wondering how this should play out.
It plays out in the following order.
The original attack is lauched.
The readied action is started.. the sunder attempt.
The Sunder triggers an AOO, which means the sunderer gets attacked.
If the would-be sunderer is still alive he gets to make his sunder attack.
If the weapon is destroyed, the original attack ends.
If the weapon is merely broken, the original attack may now be rolled against the sunderer with the appropriate penalties in place.
The smart thing for the sunderer to have done would have been to have readied himself to readied a 5 foot adjustment, which would have put him inside the reach weapon. IF that's legal, which I'm not fully sure of.
Absolutely correct! Incidentally you are allowed to take a 5ft step as part of your readied action assuming you didn't move on your turn.
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.
Quote is from page 203 of CRB 6th edition.
| Speaker for the Dead |
Strike Back (Combat) wrote:You can strike at foes that attack you using their superior reach, by targeting their limbs or weapons as they come at you.
Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +11.
Benefit: You can ready an action to make a melee attack against any foe that attacks you in melee, even if the foe is outside of your reach.
This lets you attack someone out of your reach. The OP is asking about attacking the weapon used to hit you. Not the same thing.
The OP was asking about readying an action to sunder a reach weapon.
The Strike Back feat doesn't allow you to attack someone out of your reach, it allows you to "strike at foes that attack you using their superior reach, by targeting their limbs or weapons as they come at you."
To me that sounds like exactly the same thing as he was asking.
| Cevah |
Cevah wrote:Strike Back (Combat) wrote:You can strike at foes that attack you using their superior reach, by targeting their limbs or weapons as they come at you.
Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +11.
Benefit: You can ready an action to make a melee attack against any foe that attacks you in melee, even if the foe is outside of your reach.
This lets you attack someone out of your reach. The OP is asking about attacking the weapon used to hit you. Not the same thing.
The OP was asking about readying an action to sunder a reach weapon.
The Strike Back feat doesn't allow you to attack someone out of your reach, it allows you to "strike at foes that attack you using their superior reach, by targeting their limbs or weapons as they come at you."
To me that sounds like exactly the same thing as he was asking.
You are referring to the fluff, not the actual benefit line. "...make a melee attack against any foe...,even if the foe is outside of your reach." If the feat only lets you do what seems already allowed by the rules, why take it? I think it is closer to the Lunge feat.
/cevah
| Speaker for the Dead |
You are referring to the fluff, not the actual benefit line. "...make a melee attack against any foe...,even if the foe is outside of your reach." If the feat only lets you do what seems already allowed by the rules, why take it? I think it is closer to the Lunge feat./cevah
I don't think the rules allow you to attack a target that is outside your reach.
Lunge does allow you to extend your reach so why would they create another feat that duplicates it? Especially when the prerequisite to take it is almost twice as high.
Lunge extends your reach by 5' but Strike Back allows you to attack creatures with any amount of reach when they attack you.
| Cevah |
Cevah wrote:I don't think the rules allow you to attack a target that is outside your reach.
You are referring to the fluff, not the actual benefit line. "...make a melee attack against any foe...,even if the foe is outside of your reach." If the feat only lets you do what seems already allowed by the rules, why take it? I think it is closer to the Lunge feat./cevah
Specific overrules general. The feat grants the ability.
Lunge does allow you to extend your reach so why would they create another feat that duplicates it? Especially when the prerequisite to take it is almost twice as high.
Lunge extends your reach by 5' but Strike Back allows you to attack creatures with any amount of reach when they attack you.
Lunge imposes a -2 AC penalty to gain reach. Strike Back does not. As to higher BAB requirement, I think hitting a foe outside your normal reach is a good reason.
/cevah
| Komoda |
Cevah, I don't understand your argument.
If the attacker is 10' away (outside of your reach) you can't attack him with Strike Back whenever you want.
You can only ready an action to attack him once when he attacks you. This may mean that the attacker is 40' away. A gargantuan creature with a polearm can attack you from that far.
Lunge only extends your reach by 5'. It would not be enough to attack that gargantuan creature.
As to the OP:
Defender readies action.
Attacker declares action.
Defender 5' steps in and declares sunder. (Can't reach so must move)
Attacker gets AoO based on sunder attempt, if possible. (Not getting into hands and armor spikes vs. unarmed strikes here)
Defender attempts sunder if able.
Attacker finish attack routines if able.
| Clectabled |
Jacob Saltband wrote:Person is being attacked by a reach weapon so decides to ready an action to sunder the reach weapon when he's attacked by it. The person doesnt have improved sunder.
I know this is a big corner case but was wondering how this should play out.
It plays out in the following order.
The original attack is lauched.
The readied action is started.. the sunder attempt.
The Sunder triggers an AOO, which means the sunderer gets attacked.
If the would-be sunderer is still alive he gets to make his sunder attack.
If the weapon is destroyed, the original attack ends.
If the weapon is merely broken, the original attack may now be rolled against the sunderer with the appropriate penalties in place.
The smart thing for the sunderer to have done would have been to have readied himself to readied a 5 foot adjustment, which would have put him inside the reach weapon. IF that's legal, which I'm not fully sure of.
Not sure in this case the attacker would get the AOO in response to the Sunder. A whip does not threaten any square at 15' (it does threaten 10' with improved Whip Mastery) and you only get AOO on targets you threaten.
However it should be pretty obvious that person trying to get a sunder attack is reading to attack the whip and the smart thing to do is not attack with the whip. (Effectively negating it's attack for that round, almost as good as a daze)
| Komoda |
I don't know if it is fair to say it is just a part of the abstraction. Just because you can reach the strongest, fastest moving part of a weapon for a split second does not mean that you should normally get to make your best attack to sunder it at that exact point in time.
Especially if it is a 20' pole arm being swung by a giant!