Upgrading magic items that are not weapon or armor slots


Pathfinder Society


I have a quick question about magic items, in particular, items that scale up, such as a Cloak of Resistance, Bracers of Armor, Ring of Protection, etc.

Are you able to directly upgrade them by purchasing the difference in price, e.g. Bracers of Armor +1 => Bracers of Armor +2 costs 3000g, or do you have to sell the lower quality one for half price and then buy the new, upgraded one?

I am fairly certain that for Weapons and armor, you can just upgrade without selling and re-buying, but I wasn't sure about wondrous items, rings and the like.

Sovereign Court 5/5

Shigamori wrote:

I have a quick question about magic items, in particular, items that scale up, such as a Cloak of Resistance, Bracers of Armor, Ring of Protection, etc.

Are you able to directly upgrade them by purchasing the difference in price, e.g. Bracers of Armor +1 => Bracers of Armor +2 costs 3000g, or do you have to sell the lower quality one for half price and then buy the new, upgraded one?

I am fairly certain that for Weapons and armor, you can just upgrade without selling and re-buying, but I wasn't sure about wondrous items, rings and the like.

The General answer is that anything that scales up can be upgraded in Society play. Belts, Cloaks, etc. can all be upgraded. If you have a question about a specific item you can do a search, over the last couple of years I'll bet that all of the specific items have been covered here.

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

You can bump an amulet of mighty fists or ring of protection to a higher enhancement bonus by paying the difference between the original and upgraded costs as long as you have the total PA high enough to purchase the final item outright. You may not add secondary abilities such as adding powers of an amulet of natural armor to an amulet of mighty fists, as doing so falls within the realm of magic item crafting.


Ok, thanks for the response. I was mostly just looking at going from bracers of armor +1 to +2 or something similar (after I pick up a Monk's Robe, heh)

Shadow Lodge 4/5 ****

Mark Moreland wrote:
You can bump an amulet of mighty fists or ring of protection to a higher enhancement bonus by paying the difference between the original and upgraded costs as long as you have the total PA high enough to purchase the final item outright. You may not add secondary abilities such as adding powers of an amulet of natural armor to an amulet of mighty fists, as doing so falls within the realm of magic item crafting.

I'm not sure how an Amulet of Natural Armor is any different from a Ring of Protection.

Also since as per your statement here you can't add Flaming to an existing amulet of Mighty Fists, I presume that also applies to a sword making it impossible to add flaming to a +1 sword. (Making the process cost ~1650 more as the +1 sword must be sold instead of upgraded)

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
AxeMurder0 wrote:
I'm not sure how an Amulet of Natural Armor is any different from a Ring of Protection.

Other than occupying different slots and providing different types of bonuses, not much. I guess I don't see why you're comparing the two. The enhancement bonus to each may be increased in the same manner.

AxeMurder0 wrote:
Also since as per your statement here you can't add Flaming to an existing amulet of Mighty Fists, I presume that also applies to a sword making it impossible to add flaming to a +1 sword. (Making the process cost ~1650 more as the +1 sword must be sold instead of upgraded)

You can add flaming or any other special property to an amulet of mighty fists, as doing so is the same as adding an additional +1 enhancement bonus. What you can not do is make a single item have more than one effect, such as provide an enhancement bonus to natural armor as well as an enhancement bonus to unarmed attacks.

To use a different example, you can not take an existing ring of protection +1 and make it also a ring of spell storing. You can not add a +1 resistance bonus to a cloak of the manta ray.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 ****

Oh, I misread your initial post to say amulet of mighty fists or amulet of natural armor.

Glad to see things line up with the way I thought they did.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Mark Moreland wrote:
You can bump an amulet of mighty fists or ring of protection to a higher enhancement bonus by paying the difference between the original and upgraded costs as long as you have the total PA high enough to purchase the final item outright. You may not add secondary abilities such as adding powers of an amulet of natural armor to an amulet of mighty fists, as doing so falls within the realm of magic item crafting.

So I can't Upgrade a belt of incredible dexterity to a belt of physical might?


So I can't Upgrade a belt of incredible dexterity to a belt of physical might?

Yes, that is legal, but adding extra abilities to it that aren't a direct upgrade, such as adding armor to it or something, you can't do

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Shigamori wrote:
Yes, that is legal, but adding extra abilities to it that aren't a direct upgrade, such as adding armor to it or something, you can't do

Kind of Is adding another ability, instead of Upgrading the Dex Bonus you are adding a Con or Str bonus...


Dragnmoon wrote:
Shigamori wrote:
Yes, that is legal, but adding extra abilities to it that aren't a direct upgrade, such as adding armor to it or something, you can't do
Kind of Is adding another ability, instead of Upgrading the Dex Bonus you are adding a Con or Str bonus...

It is adding another ability, but it is still an ability score boosting item, rather than something else

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 8 people marked this as a favorite.

Ability enhancing belts and headbands can be upgraded to cover more than one ability score as long as the new item is actually in the rulebook (and not something new that you invent) and the original ability score is still granted. Frex, you can augment a belt of giant strength to a belt of physical physical might as long as it still provides the original enhancement bonus to Strength.

If you want to split hairs about it being a different item, you're welcome to sell the original for half price and then pay full market for the upgrade, though.

1/5

What if you have already sold a magic item for half and bought the upgrade? Do you just suck it up as a learning experience or fix the problem? Granted, I really don't mind paying the higher price as I don't feel like going back and doing the math, just would like to know.

Liberty's Edge 4/5

NeoFax wrote:
What if you have already sold a magic item for half and bought the upgrade? Do you just suck it up as a learning experience or fix the problem? Granted, I really don't mind paying the higher price as I don't feel like going back and doing the math, just would like to know.

1) If it was done on your latest CS, just make the correction, and have a local GM sign off on the changes.

2) If it was done some time/CSes back, you are probably out of luck, but:
3) Check with your local GM group, see if one of them is willing to sign off on the changes to both the sheet where you switch the selling/buying to upgrading, and on all the succeeding CSes, for the corrected gold value.

I actually had an issue I had to correct over the course of several CSes for my first PFS character, as it was not clearly spelled out that you HAD to buy special material arrows in lots of 20, rather than individually.

I wound up checking to make sure I would have the money needed on each sheet to not make any changes other than the arrow correction, and putting the corrections onto my latest CS, with annotations.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A related question, I know has been answered but my search-fu is weak.

How does a wizard upgrade their bonded item to a magical item that fits in the same slot? I can't remember if you pay half, or full.

Weapons are easy, you follow the rules for upgrading weapons.

Grand Lodge

You pay half, as you follow item creation rules when upgrading a bonded item.

Dark Archive 4/5 5/55/55/5 Venture-Agent, Indiana—Lafayette

Tim Statler wrote:

A related question, I know has been answered but my search-fu is weak.

How does a wizard upgrade their bonded item to a magical item that fits in the same slot? I can't remember if you pay half, or full.

Weapons are easy, you follow the rules for upgrading weapons.

There is a section on Arcane Bond in the Society FAQ Section: Society FAQ

2/5

Can you then upgrade a lesser rod to a normal rod, e.g., lesser rod of extedn to a rod of extend? Or a cloak of displacememnt, minor to a cloak of displacement, major?

Grand Lodge 5/5

Callarek wrote:

1) If it was done on your latest CS, just make the correction, and have a local GM sign off on the changes.

2) If it was done some time/CSes back, you are probably out of luck, but:
3) Check with your local GM group, see if one of them is willing to sign off on the changes to both the sheet where you switch the selling/buying to upgrading, and on all the succeeding CSes, for the corrected gold value.

Not to say your absolutely wrong, cause I honestly dont know how Mark/Mike would want this kind of thing handled, but I disagree (personally) with your suggestion here. My basis for it being that if the situation was the other way around (he payed too little, instead of too much), he wouldnt be considered to have lucked out cause it wasnt caught before the next session. No, he would have to go back and fix it.

If we are going to penalize someone for a mistake several CS ago, we should be willing to correct something to their benefit from several CS ago.

But again, I dont know how Mike/Mark would rule it. :/

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Upgrading magic items that are not weapon or armor slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.