
The Arbiter |

The 'gladiators' take their places, one tall, and one short. The seats in the crowd are near empty, and an announcer's voice, carrying over from a more popular combat pit, echoes in the still air. Whatever the level of enthusiasm, however, and whatever their stature, the two figures standing in the hard-packed sand are here to fight, and fight they must.
Feel free to give any further description of your characters that would be visible, and then your initiative. Remember, the first round is a surprise round, which means a single standard or move action, as well as any free actions. Kyrian, you are in square A10, Doc, you're in L10.

Kyrian Ryskol |

Two Questions: Do we have our weapons drawn to start? It's a minor issue probably, but you know. And, not sure, but are swift and/or immediate actions available during the surprise round? At first glance in the combat section, I'm thinking no, but want to make sure.
Initiative: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (14) + 5 = 19
Kyrian blinks as he walks into the arena. As the noise from the crowd echoes, his tail lashes behind him agitatedly. He eyes Doc, across the arena, and takes a deep breath. Gritting his teeth, he shakes his head and readies himself for battle.

The Arbiter |

You may begin with any items you wish in your hands. The surprise round rules state that you may take an immediate or swift action, but it's your only action for the round if you do so.
There is a crackling in the air, and you feel bands of force lift themselves from the spaces in between you. A tinny voice cuts through the air, it's source unseen, but it's message quite clear.
FIGHT!

Kyrian Ryskol |

Running a sharp black nail across the blade of his sword, Kyrian advances warily, then breaks into a sprint, cutting across the distance of the arena and bearing down on the gnome with his sword.
Attack: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (20) + 6 = 26
Damage: 1d6 + 2 ⇒ (3) + 2 = 5
Well! Uh, that's a possible crit, I guess? Should I see about confirming it?
.
I guess I may as well now, in case it's needed.
Crit Confirmation: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (18) + 6 = 24
Crit Damage: 1d6 + 2 ⇒ (4) + 2 = 6

Nomfiddle McAbowitzfiddykins |

As Kyrian approaches within just a few strides of the gnome, the little gun-wielder makes another gesture, sprouting some nonsensical gibberish. Throwing a hand out with his two center fingers spread wide, he blows along the top of his arm, and a rainbow of color sprays out to wash over Kyrian's face.
Edit: just for ease of play, and since it's pretty obvious a spell's gone off, I'm going to let you know, Kyrian, you need to make a DC 15 Will save.

Kyrian Ryskol |

Dunno if you need to put the DC up (since we are trying to be quiet about our capabilities, I think).
Jeez! I'm rolling surprisingly well >_> 22 on the save.
.
To keep this moving a bit (not sure if Jehova's online or how much we should continue on our own? That's probably something to find out), if that did negate the spell, I assume the rest of my action more or less continues, in which case... you might be taking a fair amount of damage. Would a 24 hit your AC?

Kyrian Ryskol |

Kyrian draws back as his foe falls to the ground, seeming surprised by the strength of his own blow.
Taking a breath, he walks forward, and raises his sword, holding it up a few seconds. "Sorry..." he mutters quietly, closing his eyes, then drives it down.
And that would be a coup de grace, essentially.

The Arbiter |

This battle is concluded, with Kyrian Ryskol the victor!
The crowd does not seem surprised, and the applause is meager, but victory is victory.
Congratulations, and yes, those were good rolls. I fell asleep around 6 pm, so good job with the fight despite a lack of GM. For the most part, saves are okay to communicate between players, since as long as the targeted player is honest with their result (they don't need to let the opponent know their modifier, just their final save), things progress fairly smoothly. I believe for the most part, in-combat will saves are fairly noticeable to the character targeted by them, (especially color spray). I would say that letting your opponent know the exact DC isn't necessary, just that they need to make a save, and if they fail, the effects of the spell. If I'm online I can do things like say 'Kyrian, you fall unconscious in the sand', but I don't think there were any moments here where you really needed me, so that's cool. Since I'll be checking over everything, and if it's wrong either rewind or disqualify people, I feel everyone can be trusted to be honest :P