Can a Soldier using an Area weapon strike using it with Primary Target?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hey all! Been trying to clarify something.

Starfinder Player Core reads:

"Area (burst, cone, line): Weapons with this trait can only fire using the Area Fire action."

I assume that's supposed to mean the weapon cannot normally be used to make Strikes. However, Primary Target:

"PRIMARY TARGET
You can focus fire on a single target when unleashing the full devastation of your powerful area weaponry. Before you make an area attack with a weapon (such as from the Area Fire or Auto-Fire actions), you can make a ranged Strike as a free action with the same weapon against a single creature in the area, who’s selected as your primary target."

suggests that when you use the Area Fire action, you can use the same weapon to make a strike as well. Do soldiers ignore the rule on area weapons preventing them from firing except by Area Fire? If so, is that written down somewhere that I'm missing?

Thank you!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

One of the basic rules is "specific rules overrule general rules." Primary target is giving you a specific exception to include the strike. Without Primary target or a similar exception, you can't do it, per the general Area trait rule.


I think Xenocrat means, for example, Soldier Feat 4: Punishing Salvo, allows you to do a follow up strike ignoring Unwieldy Trait.

Sovereign Court

Generally if something says you CAN do something, you can, another example which makes this CLEARLY obvious is the Whirling Strike.

It MAKES your weapon unwieldy and says you can use primary target with it in the same feat.

Just like abilities might let you hide when that's normally not possible.

Player Core Chapter 8 wrote:


Specific Overrides General
A core principle of Starfinder is that specific rules override
general ones. If two rules conflict, the more specific
one takes precedence. If there’s still ambiguity, the GM
determines which rule to use. For example, the rules state
that when attacking a concealed creature, you must attempt
a DC 5 flat check to determine if you hit. Flat checks don’t
benefit from modifiers, bonuses, or penalties, but an ability
that’s specifically designed to overcome concealment
might override and alter this. While some special rules
may also state the normal rules to provide context, you
should always default to the general rules presented in this
chapter, even if effects don’t specifically say to.

The problem with this "rule" is that it can get confusing on what is specific in situations in which say a magic weapon and class ability conflict, however in this scenario you are talking about a class feature (specific to one class) vs the general rules (apply to everything) so the hierarchy is clear.

Silver Crusade

No, what it's saying there is that if you hit your primary target with a free strike (free action), then when you perform Area-Fire or Auto-Fire, if that specific target succeeds on the basic reflex save, it's considered a failure, just that. It's not a conventional extra attack. At least that's what I understand.

"On a hit, if your primary target rolls a success against your Area Fire or Auto-Fire action, they get a failure instead."


Kerrel wrote:
No, what it's saying there is that if you hit your primary target with a free strike (free action), then when you perform Area-Fire or Auto-Fire, if that specific target succeeds on the basic reflex save, it's considered a failure, just that. It's not a conventional extra attack. At least that's what I understand.

If it says that you make a Strike, then you make a Strike. With everything involved in a Strike.

How that works for an Area Fire weapon, I can't say.

But if all they wanted for Primary Target with Area Fire weapons was a ranged attack roll and not a Strike, then they should say that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It says to make a strike, so you do all the usual strike things. If there was no damage involved, it would just ask for an attack roll. (see the commander and rogue's Reactive Interference feat for an example)

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Can a Soldier using an Area weapon strike using it with Primary Target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions