Can Animist get Reach Spell?


Rules Discussion

Lantern Lodge

As the title says can Animist get the Reach Spell feat?

I have a human Animist and I was going to take Natural Ambition to get Reach Spell, but (according to Nethys) is hasn't been expanded to include Animist. Is this correct or did I miss it somewhere? I did the Grasping Spirits Spell.

Follow-up, my Animist is a Liturgist, can I use Natural Ambition to take the Spirit Familiar feat?

Thanks.

Grand Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Animist has a unique spellshape feat called grasping spirit spell which covers the use cases of reach spell. It's unfortunately a level 2 feat so you can't take it with natural ambition

You can take spirit familiar with natural ambition though.


Grasping Spirits Spell is similar in that it can increase a spell's reach by 30 feet. That is about where the similarities end.

Reach Spell works on any spell with a range including a range of touch. You may not need to increase the range of Fireball, but it does qualify.

Grasping Spirits Spell only works on spells that target one enemy creature. Fireball doesn't qualify. Also, the additional effect of trying to pull the target closer to you does not appear to be optional. You may end up dragging your allies out of position as a result of using it on them, or dragging dangerous enemies towards you when you don't really want to.

The non-optional drag effect can be good or bad, depending on circumstances. You could use it to drag an unconscious ally out of danger by using it while casting Stabilize on them, for example.

But it is certainly a difference that Reach Spell doesn't have, as is the much smaller list of spells that Grasping Reach is compatible with.

Grand Archive

Ten minute cooldown on it too. Its use with touch spells is probably the best use case as with typical reach spells I'd argue.

Liberty's Edge

Animist can get it through multiclassing.

Grand Lodge

Finoan wrote:
Also, the additional effect of trying to pull the target closer to you does not appear to be optional.

Technically, but you choose the distance. 0 is "up to 30" and is a valid choice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can Animist get Reach Spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.