Oradin double down on Extra LoH / Channel?


Rules Questions


Just a quick question:

If one would play an oradin, Life Oracle (Pei Zin) + Paladin (Hospitaler), with the channel revelation one would have two separate pools of LoH and Channel Energy.

If one would now take the feats extra LoH and/or extra Channel would you increase both pools (Oracle and paladin) or just one? None of the class features say they stack with similar abilities, oracle LoH explicitly states it only counts as the paladin feature for feats, effects and spells that affect LoH and not that it stacks with said paladin feature?

This would basically mean you would increase your total LoH/Channel pool by 4 instead of 2 with one feat, or am I mistaken?


The most generous interpretation I can think of is that you get the stated number of extra uses and can apply them to either pool when used. More stringently you might need to specify what the feat is applied to when it is chosen.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

A couple months ago, I was looking through Advanced Class Guide when I noticed the Feats That Grant Extra Uses sidebar on page 159 and that stuck in my head for some reason.

Java Man is correct. The stated number of extra uses is the total number of extra uses regardless of how many classes provide pools of the relevant feature. In your oradin example, Extra Lay on Hands gives you two additional uses, so you could apply them both to the oracle pool & none to the paladin pool (or vice versa) or one extra use to each pool.

The sidebar also mentions that you can change how the extra uses are split each day. Continuing your oradin example, one day your split might be all on the paladin pool, the next day all on the oracle pool, and the day after that one extra use to each pool.

Shadow Lodge

Feats that grant extra uses of class abilities, like Extra Channel or Extra Rage, effectively grant the affected ability a pool of additional uses each day. If you have levels in multiple classes that have the same ability (or abilities that are counted as others for the purposes of meeting feat prerequisites, like the skald's raging song counting as bardic performance), this single pool applies to all those abilities together, and doesn't grant extra uses to each one separately. You may spend this pool of uses each day on any of these abilities in whatever manner you choose.

For example, if you have levels in both barbarian and bloodrager and you take the Extra Rage feat, you gain 6 extra rounds that you can either use to rage or bloodrage or split between the two. The feat does not give both an extra 6 rounds of rage and 6 rounds of bloodrage—it gives you exactly 6 rounds each day that you can use for either one of these abilities. One day, you might use 4 of these rounds for rage and 2 on bloodrage; the next day, you might use 3 on each.


Ah, seems I totally missed that.
Thanks for clarifying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oradin double down on Extra LoH / Channel? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.