A weapon embedded in an opponent and an authorized rune


Rules Discussion


Hello, I have a question about an authorized rune on a weapon embedded in an opponent.

1/If a character is grabbed by an impaling thrust, does the authorized rune trigger if the opponent attempts an Escape ?

2/With an anchor spear, does the authorized rune trigger if the opponent attempts an Escape ? (Is it possible to add an authorized rune ?)

3/Is it possible with a weapon with a grapple trait ?

4/Are there other means to embedded a weapon in a creature ? (feats, items ...)

Thanks for your future answer.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Authorized refers to wielding the weapon. Being grabbed or impaled is not wielding.


To Escape or interact action, the opponent must grasp the weapon, no ?

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Waldham wrote:
To Escape or interact action, the opponent must grasp the weapon, no ?

Still not wielding


Dr. Frank Funkelstein wrote:
Waldham wrote:
To Escape or interact action, the opponent must grasp the weapon, no ?
Still not wielding

Y'know, if Jackie Chan was stuck through with a spear in an action movie, he'd start swinging his body around to take out bad guys with it.

Hmm. Maybe require a disarm action on the part of the 'stuck' person to wrest control of it from the original wielder, before they can wield it?


Easl wrote:
Maybe require a disarm action on the part of the 'stuck' person to wrest control of it from the original wielder, before they can wield it?

Not the problem though. In the original nobody even wants to actually wield the weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / A weapon embedded in an opponent and an authorized rune All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.