| Zulthrack |
Player Core 2, Pages 91 & 92
So I have made a post about this before but with the slight word changes in the Remaster I once again call it into question.
In the description of Destructive Vengeance it says:
".....You increase the amount of damage you take by 1d6, and you deal 1d6 spirit damage to the triggering enemy......"
For this portion my question is: do you role just 1d6 and use that result for both instances of damage or do you role a separate 1d6 for each instance of damage?
Relentless Reaction (9th Level)
"An enemy damaged by the initial reaction's damage also takes persistent spirit damage equal to your Charisma modifier. (This applies only to the damage the reaction itself deals, not the damage you deal with subsequent Strikes.)"
I put this in to be thorough.
Exalted Reaction (11th Level)
"Each enemy in your champion's aura other than the triggering creature takes half the damage you deal to the triggering enemy"
My question for this is: Would creatures in the champion's aura that are damaged by the Exalted Reaction also take persistent spirit damage from the Relentless Reaction?
If you do decide to help me could you please explain why you would rule one way or another and how you interpret the way the abilities are written to come to your conclusions?
| Baarogue |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
1. I would roll separate dice because it says 1d6 twice instead of using language such as "and you deal the same amount in spirit damage to the triggering enemy"
2. I would not apply the Relentless Reaction damage to the enemies damaged by the Exalted Reaction due to this wording in the Relentless Reaction: "An enemy damaged by the initial reaction’s damage"
The damage dealt by the Exalted Reaction is calculated from the "initial reaction's damage" but it is not itself that damage
This also tracks when compared to all the other champion reactions. None of the others have a Relentless Reaction that combines with its Exalted Reaction