Grasping Spirits Spell range


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What is the range for the drag effect of the Grasping Spirits Spell feat (WoI 23)?

Can I drag someone who is not within the spell's range? For example, can I use it on a spell with 30-foot range, to drag someone 90 feet away into the spell's expanded range?

EDIT: Reworded for additional clarity.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:

What is the range for the drag effect of the Grasping Spirits Spell feat (WoI 23)?

Can I drag someone who is not within the spell's standard range? For example, can I use it on a spell with 30-foot range, to drag someone 60 feet away into the spell's range?

Grasping Spell does two things:

- It increases the range of your next spell that targets one creature by 30 feet (or to 30 feet if it was a touch spell, as normal).
- You can pull the target of that spell up to 30 feet towards you, Fortitude Save negates.

If your spell has a 30 foot range, it would increase to 60 feet (per the first effect) and you could then pull them closer, which would leave them 30 feet from you if you decide to pull them the whole way.

If a creature is outside your spell's range even with grasping spell's extra 30 feet, then the creature isn't a valid target and the extra effect from Grasping Spell wouldn't apply, since it's an effect added onto the spell and the spells can't affect creatures outside their range.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Grasping Spirits Spell range All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.