Would a Counterspell reaction need to come before the Saving Throws?


Rules Discussion


When a Bad Mage casts a Fireball spell, can Good Wizard use Counterspell after seeing the results of their allies' Saving Throws?

Or does it have to be before the ST dice are rolled?


You're in the rules forum for the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

The trigger for counterspell is "a creature casts a spell that you have prepared" not "a creature rolls a saving throw against a spell that you have prepared."

So no, you don't get to wait until the details are fully determined before deciding "wait, let's go back and have that not have happened."


thenobledrake wrote:

The trigger for counterspell is "a creature casts a spell that you have prepared" not "a creature rolls a saving throw against a spell that you have prepared."

So no, you don't get to wait until the details are fully determined before deciding "wait, let's go back and have that not have happened."

Gotcha, that makes sense. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Would a Counterspell reaction need to come before the Saving Throws? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion