Do corpses count as objects for the sake of spells like dimension door in P2e?


Rules Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

As it says. There is a question of whether or not a player can teleport away from an enemy with another player's corpse using dimension door through an item. Right now the group is split between saying "Yes, a corpse can be teleported with because dead things are no longer creatures" and "No, it is still a creature, the spell will fail."

Personally, I believe that if a cape made of hide or a roast chicken are considered objects, the corpse should be as well. I can't find an official ruling on this in P2e, but it seems like 1st edition leaned towards corpses being objects in instances of spells like deadman's contingency. Any help is appreciated.

Liberty's Edge

I see nothing in the RAW saying that a corpse is a creature.

And it sounds far better for everyone to teleport with the PC's corpse rather than leave it behind anyway.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

When fully dead, yes - a corpse is an object, not a creature.

But not when only Unconscious and Dying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Do corpses count as objects for the sake of spells like dimension door in P2e? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.