Magus Sparkling Targe


Rules Discussion


Hello !

I have a question on a Magus level 10 if we played it well. The build is with Bastion Dedication, in arcane stance and with these feats :

- Reactive Shield (via Bastion dedication)
- Dazzling Block (level 10 Magus feat)
- Disarming Block (Level 8 Bastion feat)
- Quick Shield Block (Level 10 Bastion feat)

If i am hit by an enemy with a weapon i can raise my shield in reaction against his attack. Then with Quick Shield Block i block the damage cause i have a second reaction then i can use the two feats Disarming Block (Free reaction) and Dazzling Block (free reaction).

Everything is good or no ? It seems strong but all the Trigger aren't the same...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The only questionable thing that I am seeing is if the triggers are different enough to be considered mechanically different.

Reactive Shield wrote:
An enemy hits you with a melee Strike.
Shield Block wrote:
you would take damage from a physical attack.

Some tables will rule it that those are different enough and let you spend one reaction on the success roll of the attack to raise your shield, and another reaction on taking damage to shield block.

Other tables will rule that succeeding at the attack roll and dealing damage are both part of the same in-game action of attacking and that you can only react to that once. You could raise your shield if it wasn't raised and then shield block a second attack later that round, or you could shield block it if you already have your shield raised - but not both reactions.

So if your table has decided to run it the first way - that the triggers are mechanically different - then you are good to go. Have fun.

As for the rest of it:

Disarming Block is a free action with a trigger. You can do that action any time the trigger happens. So it doesn't cost you a reaction and Shield Block is definitely a different trigger than the attack that triggered Shield Block.

And Dazzling Block is not even a free action. It is simply an upgrade that happens any time you use Shield Block while in Arcane Cascade.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Wouldn't the getting hit happen first allowing reactive shield to trigger?
Then if the attack is still a hit causing physical damage shield block is triggered allowing some damage soak by the shield

Could these two things really be considered the same trigger?
The reason I think it cannot be the same trigger is because reactive shield needs to see someone roll a hit first and kinda "rewinds" the hit making it a miss and that all happens before damage dice are rolled which is the trigger for shield block.


Bluemagetim wrote:

Could these two things really be considered the same trigger?

The reason I think it cannot be the same trigger is because reactive shield needs to see someone roll a hit first and kinda "rewinds" the hit making it a miss and that all happens before damage dice are rolled which is the trigger for shield block.

It isn't required that Reactive Shield turns the hit into a miss like it is for Guardian's Deflection. So you could use Reactive Shield and not rewind anything.

And yes, it is certainly possible to interpret the timing and triggers the way you are describing.

But it is also possible to interpret 'hit with an attack' and 'dealt damage by an attack' as being slightly different wording of the same event and therefore only being allowed to be reacted to once.

Showing and explaining why your interpretation is valid does not mean that other interpretations are not valid. If you want to prove that your interpretation is unambiguously the only way to run the game, then you have to disprove all other possible rulings.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I think of it a bit differently.
Is it on me to show the other interpretations as being not valid when an argument for it hasn't been presented?
Wouldn't be on someone advocating for the other interpretation to show it is valid first?
Otherwise i am just chasing arguments that haven't been made.

Edit: Point taken on the rewind not always happening.


Bluemagetim wrote:

Is it on me to show the other interpretations as being not valid when an argument for it hasn't been presented?

Wouldn't be on someone advocating for the other interpretation to show it is valid first?

Fair enough.

If two triggers are similar, but not identical, the GM determines whether you can use one action in response to each or whether they’re effectively the same thing.

If 'making a successful attack' is considered the event, then "An enemy hits you with a melee Strike" and "you would take damage from a physical attack" are similar descriptions of the same event.

Obviously if Reactive Shield raises your AC to the point where the attack misses, then you don't need to spend the reaction to use the Shield Block action. But that isn't really the question here.


Bluemagetim wrote:

I think of it a bit differently.

Is it on me to show the other interpretations as being not valid when an argument for it hasn't been presented?
Wouldn't be on someone advocating for the other interpretation to show it is valid first?
Otherwise i am just chasing arguments that haven't been made.

Two interpretations can both be valid.

No one has to show something is/is not valid in order for another interpretation to be valid.

People are going to think differently about it, and that's OK in Pathfinder. The rules are there so people can play games and have fun. As long as your GM is consistent in their rulings, either interpretation works.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Finoan wrote:
Bluemagetim wrote:

Is it on me to show the other interpretations as being not valid when an argument for it hasn't been presented?

Wouldn't be on someone advocating for the other interpretation to show it is valid first?

Fair enough.

If two triggers are similar, but not identical, the GM determines whether you can use one action in response to each or whether they’re effectively the same thing.

If 'making a successful attack' is considered the event, then "An enemy hits you with a melee Strike" and "you would take damage from a physical attack" are similar descriptions of the same event.

Obviously if Reactive Shield raises your AC to the point where the attack misses, then you don't need to spend the reaction to use the Shield Block action. But that isn't really the question here.

Lol. Thank you. point appreciated.

That quote seems to give license to do things either way.
I guess I would just go with how the two attacks and damage are separated in the rules.
An attack is a type of check described on page 402. So the trigger of a successful attack would come up when following the steps of that type of check.
Damage is described on page 406 and is a distinct in that it is not considered a check and has its own steps to resolve.
So I wouldn't think they are similar at all even though they are generally sequential and in real life probably rolled at the same time


For me, the fact that there are scenarios in which one of the triggers is satified but the other is not is enough to prove that they cannot possibly be the same.

Simultaneity is not mentioned by the rules as a criterion for whether you can use a triggered action, only identity of triggers is. So whether you consider both to be satisfied in the exact same moment doesn't really matter.

But, as with all rules questions regarding more obscure topics, it's good to expect some table variation and be flexible and communicative.


Finoan wrote:
If two triggers are similar, but not identical, the GM determines whether you can use one action in response to each or whether they’re effectively the same thing.
If 'making a successful attack' is considered the event, then "An enemy hits you with a melee Strike" and "you would take damage from a physical attack" are similar descriptions of the same event.

I don't think so. Because you can be hit and take no damage due to some damage soaking like resistance or more exotic effect. In this case I see a lot of reason to consider them different triggers.

[Not even talking about things like attacks could be not melee (1st and 2nd example), melee Strike could be not physical]


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First Trigger: An enemy hits you with a melee Strike. Reactive Shield may be used as a Reaction to Raise a Shield.

Second Trigger: While you have your shield raised, you would take damage from a physical attack. The damage roll happens AFTER the melee Strike roll, so it is a new Trigger, thus your extra Reaction for Quick Shield Block may be used.

Dazzling Block is an upgrade to your Shield Block so that happens immediately after the Second Trigger and the conclusion of the Shield Block.

Third Trigger: You Shield Block a melee Strike made with a held weapon. You may now attempt a Disarm as a Free Action after you have used your Shield Block Reaction, right after the Dazzling Block occurs.

This all assumes you are in Arcane Cascade, your AC didn't exceed the Strike roll after Raising a Shield (negating the Trigger for Shield Block), and the enemy is wielding a weapon. I would definitely run it by your DM so you dont surprise anyone, but yes you should be able to use all 4 of Reactive Shield, Quick Shield Block, Dazzling Block, and Disarming Block in response to a Melee Strike.


carleneroe wrote:
spam removed

This one is a much more sophisticated spam bot. It knows how to use synonyms.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Magus Sparkling Targe All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.