Can the "Control Summoned Creature" spell be used to take over an eidolon?


Rules Questions


Here's the spell: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/c/control-summoned-creature

On the pro side: an eidolon is a summoned creature, ennit. Also, the spell allows a Will save. And when an eidolon is immune to an effect that normally targets summoned creatures -- most notably, the "Protection from Chaos/Evil/Good/Law" spells -- the rules for eidolons specifically say so. In this case, they don't. So it should apply.

On the con side: this is a 3rd/4th level spell that gives a 7th level spellcaster a better-than-even chance of taking over a 14th level eidolon. (Assuming the eidolon has a good Will save but no bonuses, and the caster has an 18 stat but no other bonuses.) While situational, that's incredibly powerful in the right circumstances. It's not just save-or-suck, but save or become my summoned creature, utterly obedient to me and readily turned against your master. That seems overpowered, and also a rather terrifying Achilles heel for summoners. Not that I object to nerfing summoners. But having your most powerful class feature turned against you by a single spell seems kinda lame.

Is there a ruling on this?

Doug M.

Grand Lodge

the summoner can banish the eidolon to its home plane via a standard action.
while you may lose control on its action, you keep control on its existence.

it's as bad/good as domination on the warrior... use your own protection from X spells :)


Or he can regain control with an opposed spellcraft check. Which he in your example most likely will win cause of higher skill.


Vrishika, not sure you can dismiss the eidolon when it's not under your control. Since all summon spells are dismissible a workaround like this would make the spell fairly useless to begin with.


Doesn't matter most of the time anyway - the Eidolon is not a "summoned creature" under normal circumstances. This terminology applies only to creatures created by a spell with the word "summon" in the title. Eidolons are normally not summoned.

However, if the spell "Summon Eidolon" is used, then it counts as a summoned creature for the duration of that spell, and this trick works.


Chris, the Eidolon class feature states that it taps into the same power as the Summon Monster class feature, so why does it not count as summoned?


Chris Kenney wrote:
Doesn't matter most of the time anyway - the Eidolon is not a "summoned creature" under normal circumstances.

"Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures, except that they are not sent back to their home plane until reduced to a number of negative hit points equal to or greater than their Constitution score. In addition, due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures."


The Augment Summoning feat only works with a eidolon if it was brought into play with Summon Eidolon and not the ritual.

This tells me that summoning and ritual summoning are different.

I will also point out the last line of the Control Summoned Creature spell,

"If the summoning spell ends before this spell ends, the remaining duration of this spell is lost."

Which gives the impression that the summoning was through a spell and not the ritual which has been shown to work differently then a summon spell by the augment summoning feat.

So... I don't believe it would work. Simply on the basis that Augment Summoning is widely considered not to work with the ritual, but is through the spell, which makes me think that the compulsions that bind a summoned creature do not apply towards the eidolon.

Could be wrong though. But hey, at least they get that +4 bonus for will saves at sixth level.


The controll summoned creature spell would work when the eidolon is summ9ned via summon eidolon. ( also the only time its affected by augmented summoning)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can the "Control Summoned Creature" spell be used to take over an eidolon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.