
Ximen Bao |

Greater Retrieval Prism let's you recall any object in your posession as a free action, but the normal Retrieval Prism doesn't have that restriction. You designate one object when you affix it to your armor and then can recall it as a free action, the only restrictions being the object is 1 bulk or less, you have a free hand, and the object is on the same plane.
I feel like the base Retrieval Prism was intended to have the 'in your possession' language, but I don't see anything in the errata about it.

YuriP |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Because the normal Retrieval Prism is really designed to work even when the attuned item aren't with you. The last paragraph also completes this intention that you can call the item no matter the distance but have to be in the same plane:
The retrieval prism can't retrieve an item that's not on your plane, including one that's in an extradimensional space like a bag of holding. If you haven't expended the talisman, you can attune it to a different item by Affixing the Talisman again.
The greater version removes the need of you specify one item to talisman work but add the requirement that the item is with you.

Trip.H |

Might as well resurrect this thread instead of creating a new one.
Full base text:
This triangular prism showing swirling black patterns inside constantly moves around on your armor, no matter where you affix it. As part of the process of Affixing this Talisman, you attune it to a single item of 1 Bulk or less. When you activate this talisman, the attuned item immediately teleports into your hand.
The retrieval prism can't retrieve an item that's not on your plane, including one that's in an extradimensional space like a bag of holding. If you haven't expended the talisman, you can attune it to a different item by Affixing the Talisman again.
Greater text:
You don't need to attune the prism. It can retrieve any item in your possession of 1 Bulk or less, chosen when you activate the prism.
The base version retrieving an item at home is fine. This seems outright dev intended.
IMO, the wording of the greater version is specifically tailored within this context.
If they wanted, the greater version could have said "any item on your person" or "item attended by you" but it did not.
.
To me the text of "retrieve any item in your possession" as a modifier from the base ~"any item pre-attuned" is to further expand the "any item on your shelf" use of the base prism. To be an outright upgrade, not side-grade.
Meaning, "your possession" is talking about ownership, not location.
The base version's need to "own" the item is presumed as part of the attunement process, but becomes the limiting factor for the greater version, and therefore needs to be plainly stated. Otherwise, it could retrieve (steal) any item you know of. That's why the greater version includes that clause, imo. I don't think this was ever intended to be an extra limitation that the base version lacked.
.
This would result in a prospect where, if you occupy your one armor talisman slot, you can invoke the consumable to retrieve any 1 or less item off your supply shelf back at home/camp. Instead of the base "any item, but that specific one you pre-selected."
.
.
For textual support:
The only other place I know of where "possession" is used like this is the spell Bandit's Doom, which also seems to be talking about ownership.
You ward the target item against those who would steal it. When a creature attempts to take the target into its possession,
If this text was intended to mean the more physical act of taking an item, as with the retrial prism text, the word choice is very strange / odd.
With that intent, one could simply drop that whole clause;
"When a creature attempts to take the target item." and end it there.
And we know how word-count motivated pf2 is to keep stuff as short as it needs to be. Which further supports the idea that the text needs that extra phrase to specify its function.
A guest passing the platinum kettle to the host wouldn't trigger the spell imo, and that same understanding is relevant here for the prism.
.
.
All that's a long-winded way of saying, "hey I think that this item has been misread, and while costly, is genuinely more useful than at first glance."
Because yeah, even after playing 3 alchemists / spellcasters, I've never used either version of this item. (But have used the Gloves of Storing & Retrieval Belt)
If I could genuinely option-select grab an item out of my storage (such as any scroll + tookit off a shelf), I *might* consider wearing one instead of just attaching a spellheart for the cantrip.