Can the Pangolin Curl, then Support?


Rules Discussion

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

https://2e.aonprd.com/AnimalCompanions.aspx?ID=28

Not sure what's fluff and what's crunch. It can't make unarmed attacks, but the support benefit indicates it uses its plates.

Does it do some sort of Sonic the Hedgehog spin? Or is it unable to support?


Support wrote:
If the animal uses the Support action, the only other actions it can use on this turn are basic move actions to get into position to take advantage of the Support benefits; if it has already used any other action this turn, it can’t Support you.


The part about using plates is descriptive, it doesn't take any additional action.

You direct you companion to use it's support ability. The support ability causes enemies that you hit (that are also in reach of your companion) to take bleed damage. Mechanically that's all that happens.

Descriptively, you tell your companion to help you out and when you hit someone it's distract them enough for your companion to cut them with the plates of it's body and make them bleed. But this doesn't take any additional actions, and in fact your companion is so focused on watching for the openings, they can't take any actions beside the support action and moving to get into position.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Suppose they Curl up on a prior round, can they Support the next round?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think you would need to stop using curl to start using your support.

It's an odd situation because most companion special abilities don't persist from one round to the next, and require you to spend an action to keep benefitting. However, curl also basically says you can't do anything except use curl. At least that's how I interpret it.

So even though support isn't explicitly banned by using defensive curl, I wouldn't allow it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can the Pangolin Curl, then Support? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.