| gesalt |
Simple question I hope.
Can you cast from a wand or other item as part of casting contingency?
If so, can you do so if you need to trick the wand in question or does contingency's 10 minute cast time preclude it?
Similarly, if you have a wand of contingency can you trick and use it despite the 10 minute cast time?
| Lucerious |
The spell Contingency itself is the 10 minute cast not the spell being the contingent part. With that, it seems to be a nonissue casting the spell being attached coming from a wand or staff.
I also don’t see any rule issue that precludes using the Trick Magic Item feat for the contingent spell.
However, casting the spell Contingency itself may not be allowable since Trick Magic Item is an action performed before the casting of the spell. Since a success allows using the device for the remainder of the turn, it doesn’t seem one can use it to cast a 10 minute spell.
| breithauptclan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Simple question I hope.
Nope. Sorry.
Can you cast from a wand or other item as part of casting contingency?
This depends entirely on if the GM rules that Cast a Spell item activation is the same as you casting a spell.
If so, can you do so if you need to trick the wand in question or does contingency's 10 minute cast time preclude it?
Since one of the requirements of the spell being combined with Contingency is that the spell takes no more than three actions to cast normally, you should be able to use Trick Magic Item to activate the wand and cast it as part of the casting of Contingency. Assuming that this is allowed at all.
Similarly, if you have a wand of contingency can you trick and use it despite the 10 minute cast time?
Probably not. Because Trick Magic Item itself only lasts until the end of the round that you use it at. It could maybe be considered a custom exploration activity to repeatedly use Trick Magic Item, but combining that with the spellcasting would make it at least a 2-action improvised activity - which could cause fatigue or be disallowed from being done for 10 minutes.
Cordell Kintner
|
Yes on all counts.
Casting a Spell off an item is basically the same as Casting it from a spell slot or innate spell. For those who think it's different, please tell that to the Magus class.
You don't have to constantly Cast a Spell over and over if you want it as your contingency spell, you only Cast it once, and that's when you make the Trick Magic Item check. You will lose the Contingency spell if you fail though, you can't just keep trying, so make sure you can actually cast it reliably.
Same for wands with a greater cast time, you only need to make the Trick check once, then you can cast it regardless of how long the actual casting takes, since you've already started the casting (Don't bother with the rounds stuff the action talks about, that's only for encounters)
| breithauptclan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Casting a Spell off an item is basically the same as Casting it from a spell slot or innate spell. For those who think it's different, please tell that to the Magus class.
Is there some errata that I am not aware of? Because last time I checked there were people who did make the argument that Spellstrike didn't work via casting from items unless you have Striker's Scroll.
I don't agree. I fall into the category that Cast a Spell from an item is equivalent to casting a spell directly from spell slots or innate spells or focus spells. But I have seen the argument and I don't think it has been completely disproven.
Cordell Kintner
|
Ok it's not Magus, but Alchemists. Striking with a Bomb is activating an item, and Quick Bomber says to draw a bomb and Strike with it, so if you can't Activate an Item as part of an activity that asks for that specific activation, Quick Bomb just wouldn't work.
Anyway, the other two points I made I would like to amend (even though I can still edit it)
2. You can't use another action in the middle of Casting a Spell, so you won't be able to use the Trick Magic Item action.
3. Also, since Trick Magic Item only lets you activate an item until the end of your turn, you won't have enough time to cast a long spell like this.
I don't think it should work that way, but that's how the rules are at this time.
| gesalt |
Cordell Kintner wrote:2. You can't use another action in the middle of Casting a Spell, so you won't be able to use the Trick Magic Item action.Now that one I can also see as a reason to not allow it.
Though as a GM, I would allow it anyway.
My thought with question two was that you could trick, start casting contingency and cast from the tricked item before the trick expires to side step not being able to trick while casting contingency. I imagine that doesn't quite work either?