Cantrip Deck and Divine Lance damage for a non-caster


Rules Discussion


So a Fighter picked a Cantrip Full pack.

Using the Cantrip Deck (Full Pack). I know the deck: "..casts that cantrip as a 1st-level spell, with a DC of 15 and a spell attack modifier of +5"

Now if he used the deck to cast Divine Lance. Which states: "On a hit, the target takes damage of the chosen alignment type equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier."

What would the damage be for divine lance? 1d4+_?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Santobon wrote:

So a Fighter picked a Cantrip Full pack.

Using the Cantrip Deck (Full Pack). I know the deck: "..casts that cantrip as a 1st-level spell, with a DC of 15 and a spell attack modifier of +5"

Now if he used the deck to cast Divine Lance. Which states: "On a hit, the target takes damage of the chosen alignment type equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier."

What would the damage be for divine lance? 1d4+_?

It's a level 1 item, so that's +1 for level, +2 for proficiency for a +3; that leaves +2 unaccounted for so I'd say +2 for a spellcasting ability modifier.

And note, this doesn't change if you are a caster as Activation isn't Cast a Spell but Envision so it uses the same rules no matter who uses it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cantrip Deck and Divine Lance damage for a non-caster All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion