| Waldham |
Hello, I have a question about Magus archetype.
1/Is it possible to obtain the benefit of an Arcane cascade from sparkling targe hydrid study with a magus archetype ?
When you're in Arcane Cascade stance with your shield raised, your circumstance bonus to AC from your shield also applies to your saves against spells and other magical effects. In addition, damage you take as a result of a spell or magical effect while you're in Arcane Cascade can trigger your Shield Block reaction, even if the damage isn't physical. When blocking damage in this way, increase your shield's Hardness by an amount equal to the extra damage from Arcane Cascade (typically 1, but 2 if you have weapon specialization, or 3 if you have greater weapon specialization). These benefits apply whether you're using an actual shield, the shield spell, or something else that works like a shield (such as a raised tome if you have the Raise a Tome feat).
2/Is it possible to enter in an arcana cascade if the character cast a spell from a different class (non magus) ?
Thanks for your future answer.
| beowulf99 |
1: No, as Magus Archetype does not give you access to Arcane Cascade. No Cascade, no Cascade benefit for Sparkling Targe.
Edit: You actually don't have a hybrid study as an Archetype Magus. The only interaction the Magus Archetype has with hybrid studies is the hybrid study spell feat, which just gives a hybrid study focus spell, and no other benefits of the study.
2:
Requirements You used your most recent action to Cast a Spell or make a Spellstrike.
Arcane Cascade does not require the spell cast to be a Magus Spell, so any spell should do.
| breithauptclan |
1) As beowulf99 mentioned, the Magus archetype doesn't give the Arcane Cascade class feature.
2) A full class Magus character that does have Arcane Cascade can use the ability after any spell that they cast. This includes Cantrips, focus spells, spells from archetypes that they may have, and even innate spells.
It is debatable whether Cast a Spell activation of magic items would qualify - I am not certain if there is intended to be a distinction between using the Cast a Spell activity directly or via the Cast a Spell item activation.
| beowulf99 |
It is debatable whether Cast a Spell activation of magic items would qualify - I am not certain if there is intended to be a distinction between using the Cast a Spell activity directly or via the Cast a Spell item activation.
This is debatable indeed. I personally would rule it to include any time you use the Cast a Spell activity as part of casting a spell, like in the case of Scrolls, which is both an activation and the Cast a Spell activity. Otherwise using Cascade with scroll heavy Magus is just a bit more difficult. Not super hard, since Shield is always an option, but still a bit more difficult.