Is there a rule (archetypes and bloodlines)


Rules Questions


First let me put out some disclaimers

1) It looks like I asked about this a couple of years ago, however until I searched for it, I had forgotten

2) this stems in part from a facebook debate I was in. I do not feel the answer is different from back then

3) really looking for something "official" instead of assumed/inferred, would be helpful if you tell me wither you consider your comments to be RAI or RAW

4) This is really what I consider "Fine tip point" issues, 90% of the time it won't matter one way or another, but that 10% it might

Root Question: When an Archtype changes a bloodline ability, is the new ability a bloodline ability.

An example, a Seeker replaces his 3rd level power, then gets a robe of arcane heritage (+4 levels for powers), would he be able to use the 3rd level power (assuming he could not already :) )

Seeker archtype: https://www.aonprd.com/ArchetypeDisplay.aspx?FixedName=Sorcerer%20Seeker


The FAQ you’re looking for isn’t Sorcerer-specific. It’s addressed under the Race and Class section of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook FAQ:

FAQ wrote:
If the archetype ability says it works like the standard ability, it counts as that ability. If the archetype's ability requires you to make a specific choice for the standard ability, it counts as that ability. Otherwise, the archetype ability doesn't count as the standard ability.

No such thing occurs with the Seeker’s third level ability. That said, I think this would come down to a conversation between GM and player, to see if their RAI reading of this ability pointed more toward innate power than mere lore that came at the cost of developing one’s bloodline powers.


Phoebus Alexandros wrote:

The FAQ you’re looking for isn’t Sorcerer-specific. It’s addressed under the Race and Class section of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook FAQ:

FAQ wrote:
If the archetype ability says it works like the standard ability, it counts as that ability. If the archetype's ability requires you to make a specific choice for the standard ability, it counts as that ability. Otherwise, the archetype ability doesn't count as the standard ability.
No such thing occurs with the Seeker’s third level ability. That said, I think this would come down to a conversation between GM and player, to see if their RAI reading of this ability pointed more toward innate power than mere lore that came at the cost of developing one’s bloodline powers.

THANK YOU!!!!!!

Did not look in that one because I figured that APG introduced the idea, so couldn't be in the main book...me stupid...
Don't read to much into it, it was just an example to illustrate my point :)


Glad to have helped!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is there a rule (archetypes and bloodlines) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions