Cleric Domain damaging powers


Rules Questions


If this has already been asked, please point me in the right direction.

When taking a Cleric Domain that has a damaging/healing Power (i.e. 1d6 + 1 per 2 levels), does the amount of dice go up along with the +1 or just the +1?

I've had this discussion with a few other groups and they all did it differently.

Thanks.

Dark Archive

the d6 never changes
only the static number increases

so 1d6+1, 1d6+2, 1d6+3, etc


Yeah, what Name Voilation said. It's not explicitly written down anywhere, only kinda implicitly by general math rules and by examples. Ray of Enfeeblement for example has the same progression, but makes it clear what is multiplied.

Also not hard evidence, but 1d6+1 has the same average as 1d8, and unless there's a reason to increase the minimum value (e.g. the supposed-to-be-reliable Magic Missile) such abilities would use larger dice rather than adding +1, if the whole part was supposed to be multiplied.

Dark Archive

ex: Lightning Arc (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash an arc of electricity targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. This arc of electricity deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

not "1d6 points of electricity damage for every two cleric levels you posses + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess."

Liberty's Edge

Name Violation wrote:

ex: Lightning Arc (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash an arc of electricity targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. This arc of electricity deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

not "1d6 points of electricity damage for every two cleric levels you posses + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess."

Nor "1d6+1 points of electricity damage for every two cleric levels you possess". That would have been the standard format if both numbers were multiplied.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric Domain damaging powers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.