
xugarf |

Can a single classed rogue character cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing from a scroll using UMD?
Always thought you could, but in looking back at the text, I question it. Is there something I am missing somewhere? Because by saying "spellcaster", it rules out rogues unless they are simply meaning anyone who casts a spell. But in the usage in the item description, it seems that they are referring to spellcaster classes.
Also, it does seem like a spellcaster can cast any spell that fits into a Ring of Spell Storing from a scroll using UMD, even if others cannot.
AoN Ring of Spell Storing
A ring of spell storing contains up to 5 levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell. The user need not provide any material components or focus to cast the spell, and there is no arcane spell failure chance for wearing armor (because the ring wearer need not gesture). The activation time for the ring is the same as the casting time for the relevant spell, with a minimum of 1 standard action.
For a randomly generated ring, treat it as a scroll to determine what spells are stored in it. If you roll a spell that would put the ring over the five-level limit, ignore that roll; the ring has no more spells in it.
A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than 5. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing.
The ring magically imparts to the wearer the names of all spells currently stored within it.

xugarf |

OK. Thanks. I wasn't sure if the use of "spellcaster" was meant to be restrictive (only spellcasting classes) or if it was just saying "anyone who can cast a spell by whatever means" (SLAs wouldn't count because they are not spells). Because scrolls are mentioned explicitly, it would seem to prohibit other means, such as wands.