| Ravingdork |
If I have a flaming weapon, my weapon has the fire trait. If I make a strike with said weapon, does my attack have the fire trait as well? If so, what does this mean for how it interacts with abilities, effects, and immunities/resistances/weaknesses? If not, why not?
Keirine, Human Rogue
|
Okay, as I understand it if you have a Flaming Longsword, your damage would be X slashing, Y Fire. Resistances and Weaknesses would be tallied seperately, so a creature with Physical Resistance 2 and Fire Weakness 10, your damage would be X-2, Y+10. I'm unclear what happens if the Physical Resistance drops your damage to zero, although I am inclined to rule that it wouldn't cancel out the fire damage. You still hit the creature, so the fire damage still goes through.
| HammerJack |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
The part of your damage that is fure damage is the only part that interacts with weakness, vulnerability or immunity to fire. The Strike action does not gain the Fire trait, so if you end up underwater, for example, you'll find your fire damage not helping you, instead of finding that you can no longer stab at all because of the rule against using fire trait actions underwater.
| HammerJack |
Not without more time to search than I have right now, because this isn't a "CRB page X says it isn't" case. It's a "one passage that was later errataed out of the CRB said yes things have gone back and forth on this and it was eventually answered as no but I did not save a link" case.
| NielsenE |
It was a change between the 1st and 2nd printing, but I don't think its listed in the errata.
In the first printing the book said:
Damage Types and Traits
When an attack deals a type of damage, the attack action
gains that trait. For example, the Strikes and attack
actions you use wielding a sword when its flaming rune is
active gain the fire trait, since the rune gives the weapon
the ability to deal fire damage.
While the second printing deleted that entire paragraph, w/o calling it out in the errata,
There is, of course, argument over if its an intentional change given the lack of mention in the errata; however most people seem to be happier without the inheriting/trickle down of traits since it makes the flaming sword underwater aspect, or the runed weapons v golem aspects more playable.
| HammerJack |
| 6 people marked this as a favorite. |
The Lost Omens Ancestry Guide clarifications on the FAQ page have this:
What actions qualify for the requirements of the resonant weapon trait's Conduct Energy action?
You can only use Conduct Energy with actions that have one of the required energy traits. Using an action other than a spell that causes damage with the listed trait does not necessarily qualify unless the action also has the trait.
For example, if you used the ifrit's Scorching Disarm action, you could channel fire energy into your weapon via Conduct Energy, as Scorching Disarm itself has the fire trait.
However, if you made a Strike with a flaming weapon, the Strike action does not have the fire trait, so you couldn't use Conduct Energy.