Combat Patrol and Maneuvers?


Rules Questions


I'm trying to build a Foehammer Fighter for a future campaign, and so far it hasn't been fun.
But I might have found something interesting.
Combat Patrol sets up an area that provokes attacks of opportunity when enemies pass through it, and you have to move to intercept them.
Cutting it short, since I have to move to attack them, can I bull rush them as my attack of opportunity?

The Exchange

Short answer: no.

When taking an attack of opportunity, you can only perform a combat maneuver that could be attempted "in place of a melee attack." A bull rush requires a standard action or a charge to use.

(There may be some feat that allows you to bull rush as an AoO or bull rush after a successful AoO in specific circumstances. Nothing comes to mind immediately, but that doesn't mean there aren't any.)


Belafon wrote:

Short answer: no.

When taking an attack of opportunity, you can only perform a combat maneuver that could be attempted "in place of a melee attack." A bull rush requires a standard action or a charge to use.

(There may be some feat that allows you to bull rush as an AoO or bull rush after a successful AoO in specific circumstances. Nothing comes to mind immediately, but that doesn't mean there aren't any.)

I think you can use Shield Slam to Bull Rush someone in that case, and I might be misreading you there, but are you saying I don't need to move to do a Bull Rush?

The Exchange

Spermy The Cat wrote:
Belafon wrote:

Short answer: no.

When taking an attack of opportunity, you can only perform a combat maneuver that could be attempted "in place of a melee attack." A bull rush requires a standard action or a charge to use.

(There may be some feat that allows you to bull rush as an AoO or bull rush after a successful AoO in specific circumstances. Nothing comes to mind immediately, but that doesn't mean there aren't any.)

I think you can use Shield Slam to Bull Rush someone in that case,

Yup, there you go. Figured there was probably something.

Quote:
and I might be misreading you there, but are you saying I don't need to move to do a Bull Rush?

You don’t normally “need” to move to do a bull rush. You can bull rush someone standing next to you. You don’t need a running start or anything. And you don’t have to move with the target (that is optional). If you are asking about Combat Patrol in particular you would need to use the movement that feat allows to position yourself adjacent to them so you can make the shield slam. And you wouldn’t be able to follow them after the shield slam. Since it’s not your turn you can’t take a 5-foot step or “spend a move action.” But again, that’s optional anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Combat Patrol and Maneuvers? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions