
Dubious Scholar |
The Jezail is a fairly unique gun, being 1h with the Fatal Aim trait, which allows it to be used in two hands to add fatal (and also adds some restrictions to the one-handed use, but).
But I have some questions arising from that and how it interacts with the various gunslinger abilities that call out one-handed weapons.
To start, Ten Paces clearly allows you to draw a Jezail, but would it allow you to draw it into the two-handed grip?
Can you use Pistol Twirl while wielding a Jezail in two hands?

Dragorine |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

They way I see it is you can draw the Jezail with ten paces but only in the 1h grip. Then you'd have to spend an action to 2h grip it like one would do for a weapon with two handed trait(dwarven axe/bastard sword).
I'd say the same thing for pistol twirl. You'd spend a free action to drop to 1h grip than you can use the feat but you'd be stuck in 1h grip until you spent an action to grip 2h.
Anyway that's my 2 cents.

Poit |

When you use an Interact action to draw an item, however many hands you used for the Interact action is the number of hands you're holding the item with after the Interact action. Ten Paces does not limit the Interact action to one hand, so you can choose to do so with both hands. That is, unless something else modifies the number of hands that you can use - if you draw your jezail from sleeves of storage, you would only be wielding it with one hand, since that item specifies that you use a single hand to draw things from it.
I don't see any reason to disallow Pistol Twirl from working with a jezail wielded in two hands. The rules for wielding a one-handed weapon in two hands do not say that the weapon is considered a two-handed weapon when wielded in two hands. If you're wielding a bastard sword in two hands, a shifting rune on the sword will let you shift it into a different one-handed weapon, but not a two-handed weapon. And if you have the Knockdown feat, wielding that bastard sword in two hands isn't going to let you ignore Trip's free hand requirement because wielding a one-handed weapon in two hands doesn't transform it into a two-handed weapon.
Of course, if your GM believes that the intent of Ten Paces and Pistol Twirl are for the weapons to be wielded with one hand, then go with that.