Penalty on Opportune Backstab


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm hoping this will be a short thread, but I noticed something on HeroLab and I'm trying to figure out if it's something dumb that HeroLab is doing, or if it's a rule that I missed. I think either are equally likely.

On Herolab, under each of my 10th lvl Rogue's individual weapon entries, there is a note:

"Situational bonuses and penalties:
Opportune Backstab:
-2 penalty on triggered attack when using Opportune Backstab"

What is this about? Reading Opportune Backstab is reads:

"Trigger: A creature within your melee reach is hit by a melee attack from one of your allies.
When your enemy is hit by your ally, you capitalize upon the distraction. Make a Strike against the triggering creature."

That's it. So, I'm wondering where HeroLab is getting that note about the -2 to hit with Opportune Backstab. P2E is very good about making a rule in one place and then never referencing it again, like we're all going to remember every situational rule every time, so that seems equally likely as HeroLab just having a weird bug, but I'd appreciate if anybody knows if there's something I'm missing.

Thanks!

Shadow Lodge

Dagesk Kingdomworthy wrote:

I'm hoping this will be a short thread, but I noticed something on HeroLab and I'm trying to figure out if it's something dumb that HeroLab is doing, or if it's a rule that I missed. I think either are equally likely.

On Herolab, under each of my 10th lvl Rogue's individual weapon entries, there is a note:

"Situational bonuses and penalties:
Opportune Backstab:
-2 penalty on triggered attack when using Opportune Backstab"

What is this about? Reading Opportune Backstab is reads:

"Trigger: A creature within your melee reach is hit by a melee attack from one of your allies.
When your enemy is hit by your ally, you capitalize upon the distraction. Make a Strike against the triggering creature."

That's it. So, I'm wondering where HeroLab is getting that note about the -2 to hit with Opportune Backstab. P2E is very good about making a rule in one place and then never referencing it again, like we're all going to remember every situational rule every time, so that seems equally likely as HeroLab just having a weird bug, but I'd appreciate if anybody knows if there's something I'm missing.

Thanks!

Seems like a Herolab error to me...

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just need to travel back in time:

Playtest CRB, Page 123 wrote:

OPPORTUNE BACKSTAB FEAT 8

Trigger A creature within your melee reach is hit by a melee attack from one of your allies.

Make a Strike against the triggering creature and take a –2 penalty to the attack roll. You can’t deal sneak attack damage with this Strike unless your ally’s attack was part of a reaction.


Nefreet wrote:

Just need to travel back in time:

Playtest CRB, Page 123 wrote:

OPPORTUNE BACKSTAB FEAT 8

Trigger A creature within your melee reach is hit by a melee attack from one of your allies.

Make a Strike against the triggering creature and take a –2 penalty to the attack roll. You can’t deal sneak attack damage with this Strike unless your ally’s attack was part of a reaction.

Yeah, the playtest had -2 on most if not all of its Strikes that came from Reactions (w/ a later ability to remove it for AoOs, I think?).

Surprised Hero Labs hasn't caught dusty error by now.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you! At least I know where this comes from and I'm not crazy. Also good to know I can Opportune Backstab with impunity :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Penalty on Opportune Backstab All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.