Field of Roots


Rules Discussion


Two questions on the Plant Eidolon's Field of Roots:

Quote:
Your eidolon extends its roots underground to entangle and possibly damage all foes nearby. All enemies within your eidolon's reach take damage of the same type and amount as your eidolon's most damaging Strike, depending on their Reflex saves. Any ongoing effects of the save last until the enemy either Escapes or leaves your eidolon's reach. After using Field of Roots, your eidolon is immobilized until it takes a single action, which has the manipulate trait, to detach from the ground; this also ends any remaining effects on enemies from Field of Roots.

1. Does the eidolon have to uproot to use Field of Roots again after it used Field of Roots to root previously?

2. Does area affected by Field of Roots count as containing plants for effects like Entangle?

After having read it more carefully, I don't think there's anything stopping you from using Field of Roots back to back while still rooted as long as you don't mind not being able to move. The ability also doesn't create an actual field of roots; the roots just aim at each enemy. The first time I read it I thought the complete opposite for each so I just needed to be sure.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

the ability also fails to say what the reflex DC is based on.
Eidolons have generic rules for when they gain spells, but not for abilities.

Although, given that both other offensive abilities that exist in Eidolons (dragon breath and demon visions) specify that it's against your own DC, i would assume that it works the same way and it's just an omission.

That said, they should probably correct the language to match the other abilities, aka "basic reflex vs your Spell DC"


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I wonder if the crit failure effect stacks. If an enemy crit fails three times, are they taking three instances of damage at the end of each round?


shroudb wrote:
the ability also fails to say what the reflex DC is based on.

Nice one, I didn't notice that. Your spell DC does seem to be the standard. Psychopomp eidolon also has an ability that uses it like the dragon and demon.

Ravingdork wrote:
I wonder if the crit failure effect stacks. If an enemy crit fails three times, are they taking three instances of damage at the end of each round?

Usually there's a claus that addresses stacking damage like that, huh? The same goes for the failure effect too but less practical without immobilized. Maybe that's why it only deals half damage on failure and full damge on crit failure?


Looking at the Escape action, the reflex save could possibly be the eidolon’s Athletics DC as well. That would be less consistent with other eidolon feats and abilities though.

For the eidolon, the only consequence of using field of roots is it being immobilized. Using it again just causes it to be immobilized again which overwrites itseld as per redundant condition rules.

Same goes for the crit fail immobilized effect although I don’t know what that means for stacking the end of turn damage. I’m not familiar with ongoing damage that isn’t sustained or persistent so I’m curious how that works too.


Since immobilized from the crit fail overwrite each other, my first instinct was the damage is overwritten too, but I think the condition and damage are independent of each other in this scenario so the damage from each instance continue to coexist. Does that sound right?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Field of Roots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion