Does and aquatic elf count as elf for FCB?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does and aquatic elf count as elf for FCB? I'm pretty sure it does not, but I remember reading that half elves can take human FCB, so I figured I would toss the idea out. Maybe somebody knows of a rule that would help me out.

The Exchange

Yes, thought it's not quite as clear-cut as it is for half-elfs. The relevant racial traits are worded a bit differently.

Inner Sea Races wrote:
Aquatic: Aquatic elves are humanoids with the aquatic and elf subtypes. They can breathe water.
CRB wrote:
Elf Blood: Half-elves count as both elves and humans for any effect related to race.

Although I don't think it is ever explicitly stated anywhere, having the "XYZ subtype" includes "you count as an XYZ for any effects specific to an XYZ." (Note that there are also ways to count as a member of a race without explicitly gaining the subtype, such as the human Racial Heritage feat.)


It'd be worth an FAQ, if we still got those. There are FCB that are unique to aquatic elves. But then there are FCB unique to half-elves, and yet they can still take the elf FCB.

My guess would be "Probably Yes", but that's more based on precedent than any rules text.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does and aquatic elf count as elf for FCB? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.