
![]() |

Hey, had this come up in a game.
If you take a move action to move, can you drop a strapped shield, a sword, and draw another weapon all in the same move action.
-Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.
Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.
and
-Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move. Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.
Is readying a shield different to "strapping" it on for the AC bonus. The ready action seems to imply that you are indeed strapping it on.
Now, I'm also curious if the above scenario (dropping shield and drawing weapon) as part of the same move would allow you to also draw and ready a shield in the same move. If this is the case, it makes TWF with a sword and shield better. However, the draw/sheathe weapon rules seems to imply this should not be the case.

MrCharisma |

Huh, I never even read that part about readying/dropping a shield as a free action when moving. I knew it for weapons, but not shields.
Since I can't think of any other examples of "readying" a shield in PF1 I'm going to assume strapping it on your arm is what they mean.
I think the move action draw is limited to 1 weapon/shield by default, but since TWF lets you draw 2 weapons in the same time it would normally take to draw 1 you should be able to draw a weapon and shield as part of a move action.
As to how that interacts with readying/dropping your shield, I don't know =P ... I guess since they're all free actions with separate triggers it should work, but ...
... actually scrap it, I'm pretty sure I could drop a shield and draw 2 weapons while hustling as a "move action" and I have almost zero combat experience (I did karate for a year or 2 when I was little).
TLDR: I'd allow it, and even though it feels like the rules don't want this to work, as far as I can it does.

![]() |

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move.
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move.
Drawing a shield or a weapon that way requires "a regular move", not "using a move action". "Regular move" isn't defined by the rules, but I have always read that as requiring you to use the move action to move, not to do a different move action.
That interpretation seems to be confirmed by the charge rules, where how much you move matters:
If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.
You can use a swift action to draw a quickdraw shield, but again it requires combining it with a "regular move".
Description
This light steel shield is specially crafted with a series of straps to allow a character proficient in shields to ready or stow it on her back quickly and easily. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move.
There is another limitation. The hyphenated 3 on both actions says:
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can combine one of these actions with a regular move.
Dropping a shield is one of those actions, so if you drop the shield you are limited to that free action, you can't draw the weapon.
Two weapon combat allows you to draw 2 weapons with one free action, but doesn't allow you to drop the shield.RAW, the hyphenated part will not allow drop a shield a draw a weapon as part of a single regular move.
The rules are a bit of a mess, I wouldn't allow you to get 3 very similar free actions while moving, but your GM can allow it.
Again, it requires a regular move.

AwesomenessDog |

I believe the difference there is that a light/heavy shield can't be just dropped as a free action normally (regardless of moving/BAB), as there are straps holding it to you, but you can let go of the handle at the end of a heavy shield (to use the hand for other things as a free action and ready it again by regrabbing as a free action while moving with BAB 1+) while the light shield/buckler doesn't take your hand's ability to grasp anyway.