Kensai opportune parry + Iaijutsu question


Rules Questions


A 7th level Kensai has Iaijutsu which says:

Iaijutsu wrote:
"A kensai may make attacks of opportunity when flat-footed, and may draw his favored weapon as a free action as part of taking an attack of opportunity."

If the Kensai also has the Flamboyant Arcana: Opportune Parry and Riposte, which says:

Opportune Parry and Riposte wrote:
"At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack."

Does this mean the Kensai can parry attacks during the surprise round with weapon initially sheathed by expending an attack of opportunity?


I'm gonna say yes, but I fully expect someone to disagree with me.

HOWEVER - You can't make AoOs if you're flat-footed, so you need Combat Reflexes or Uncanny Dodge or something if you want to make AoOs before you act in combat.


I would say yes if I was GM but as a matter of RAW “expend a use of an attack of opportunity” is not necessarily the same thing as “taking an attack of opportunity” as you are parrying an attack and not making an attack.

Liberty's Edge

As Trokarr said, you are expanding an AoO, not making one. RAW you can't.

That said, as you are using the Advanced Class Guide, the kensai has way less power than most classes in that book, so giving him a bit more power isn't a problem.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kensai opportune parry + Iaijutsu question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions