Concentration Checks


Rules Questions


I’m playing a Gnome Summoner, currently 2nd level.

Do I need to make concentration check for the spell
like ability that is a standard action? Is that provoking
An attack of opportunity if I’m not in hand to hand range,
but perhaps an enemy with a ranged attack?

Just wondering… seems like the casting time is pretty fast.


Spell-like abilities (SLAs) require a concentration check under the same conditions that casting a spell requires a concentration check. eg, if you want to cast defensively to avoid provoking an AoO, if you take damage during casting, or if you being tossed about by high winds while flying, etc.
Here is a list of some things that could result in a concentration check being required

Using an SLA will provoke attacks of opportunity, but under normal circumstances characters using ranged weapons do not threaten, and thus cannot take AoOs against you. There are some exceptions, like if the enemy character has the snap shot feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Concentration Checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions